We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay”
Review of The Crafts Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crafts Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Wilmington B&B and Inns
north haven
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average stay”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The place is kept up and clean but needs updating. Small bathroom, no A/C (window fans available). In a small town with a few nice restaurants. No hair dryer (available on request), no iron. Not quite used to lack of amenities that I guess are considered luxuries in this older inn.
Absolutely hated the bathroom--too small to even turn around in...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgill247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    35
    27
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is not at all bad for a night but the place needs updating. Not very comfy for long stays of more than one or two days. The bathroom is tiny and the sitting area where the sofa bed was a long narrow room in room 205. The place was clean but dark with old carpeting . The location is very convenient. There are no eating facilities at all in the inn. Would not recommend this place for families but ok for a couple.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The crafts Inn is a historic landmark, hotel apartments. I was there in July which is off season as they cater more to the winter skiers. The hotel staff was amiable yet business like. My unit was a attic type apartment with ceilings that angled steeply. The phone wake up service, which is automated did not work even after they claimed it had been repaired. Diane, the most pleasant staff member immediately changed my television after complaining it was not functioning correctly. Overall, if you are interested in summer quietness, this quaint town of Wilmington and Crafts Inn is your kind of place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building, as they are not attic type apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjohn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was an "extra vacation" week with our timeshare exchange so we weren't expecting much which was good. The inn is so lovely from the outside but the rooms were very outdated and small. We had a one bedroom and the bed was only double. The bath was in the kitchen - weird. The office people were helpful and very nice. We discovered a front room which had coffee, rocking chairs, and magazines for guests. Our room overlooked an indoor pool which was closed so it was quiet but in different seasons it could have been noisy.The grounds were lovely and Wilmington is special and quaint. It was a good location to tour Brattleboro and Bennington and drive to many covered bridges. Keene, NH, was close enough to visit relatives twice. After initial disappointment in old furnishings etc, I have to admit the inn grew on me. The restauant Dots across the street was very good for breakfast and lunch. We had a delicious and not expensive lobster dinner at Anchor Restaurant around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haleabrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were looking forward to our stay in Vermont at the Crafts Inn. The building is beautiful and old, in a central location to downtown Wilmington. A small, quaint little town that has overcome devastating flooding after Hurricane Irene.

Our one bedroom unit was outdated in decor, which we expected after reading other reviews on TripAdvisor however it was clean (the carpet could have used a deep cleaning though). The kitchen had plenty of dishes and more kitchen equipment than other time shares we have stayed at (but bring your own sponge). We are lucky we stayed there a week after the New England heat wave since there is no a/c. They provided two box fans which we used daily to cool the room down. Wi-fi worked well albeit a little slow at times.

The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of towels. No hand towels though, only washcloths and bath towels. No toiletries minus dispensers filled with a mystery soap.

Sadly, the noise from the unit above us really hampered our stay. It sounded like a troupe of gymnastics constantly performing and we could hear every footstep. I do understand that there's not too much the Inn could do about misbehaved children but we made it clear the noise was bothering us and the staff was indifferent to it.

If we stay there again I will insist on an upper floor unit.

Wilmington has some cute shops and a lake closely. I'd recommend visiting Bennington and Manchester if you're there and need day trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonMeg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Crafts Inn is a beautiful old building in the heart of Wilmington, VT. We traded in via RCI. We stayed with our 3 year old granddaughter in the two bedroom unit which was extremely clean and well-stocked with kitchenware for our stay.

The staff was friendly and we used the pool every day. They state that it's a heated pool. Well, I guess it's heated by Vermont standards, because it was freezing. Even the hot tub was the temperature of a bathtub.

There is only one extremely slow elevator and the carts for luggage are tiny, not even three feet long. If your room is at the other side of the building then you're in for a long haul.

The biggest caveat for people staying in the summer months is that there is no a/c except in the reception area and office. It was unseasonably warm and humid while we were there and there are two fans to circulate the air, especially in the two bedroom located on the second floor. This should be something management should explore since the fans were woefully inadequate. Sleeping was hard -- we tried to prop the fans in the windows but we still were sweating and sleepless all night.

The town is cute but stay away from the Shaw's -- it's expensive. There are Price Choppers in Bennington and Brattleboro.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We obtained our room here from RCI as a last call vacation. This was our first experience staying in a resort through RCI. I was both disappointed and impressed. I expected more modern amenities and decore. but that's not the purpose of resorts. They are where they are so you can do what is there.

We had a one queen bedroom suite with a full kitchen including an oven. There was a breakfast bar and dinette table. The fact that the bathroom was just off the kitchen put us off a bit. I'm staying in my second resort right now and it has the same arrangement.

The best part for us was the indoor swimming pool and hot tub. We went there every day and in all that time we only ran into two other families or persons.

The worst part for us was the bar across the river which had a party every night it seems until midnight or later.

Most of the time was spent exploring the Vermont countryside in which my wife fell in love. I kept telling her they have any 80 of snow in the winter and we are definitely not snow birds.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mageith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Old Red Mill
#2 of 3 in Wilmington
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
369 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viking Motel
Viking Motel
#3 of 3 in Wilmington
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crafts Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crafts Inn

Property: The Crafts Inn
Address: 10 West Main St, Wilmington, VT 05363
Region: United States > Vermont > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
The Crafts Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing