We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Windsor”
Review of Snapdragon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Snapdragon Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Windsor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great choice in Windsor”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We needed a place to stay on short notice due to a death in the family. While the reason for visiting was not pleasant, the accommodations were very good. What stood out beyond everything was the hospitality of Michelle and staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    34
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
182
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I found ourselves 60 miles from nowhere in eastern Vermont and realized it was getting late. We found Snapdragon and gave them a call. We secured the last room they had and dashed their way.
The hostess was friendly and helpful beyond all expectations and knowing it was late, had a couple of menus for late supper options nearby.
The Snapdragon has 8 beautiful rooms in an old brick home they purchased and refitted. They spent two years doing the work and opened in 2010. I can not recommend them highly enough.
If I find myself near Windsor again in need of a room, this will be my first choice for sure.

Room Tip: Avoid the chain hotels. Pick a local B&B for a much improved experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed here after my wife and I were given a one night stay that was purchased on Groupon. Our stay was great. The room was huge, very nicely furnished, and incredibly clean. Had everything you could want or expect at a bed and breakfast. The staff was really friendly and helpful. One thing to note, was that the night we stayed a few freight trains went by on the tracks that run right nearby and were blaring their whistles which woke us. Obviously, this is nothing that the Snapdragon can control and it may have just been a fluke that night (haven't seen any other reviews that mentioned the trains). But overall the place was great and we really enjoyed the stay. The town was also really nice and there's plenty to do. Also not a far drive to other attractions. Would love to stay again and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIchael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We needed a break from New York, a three day trip to Vermont was just what we needed! Traveled by train, which stops at Windsor, a very quant town and a short stroll to the Snapdragon Inn! A very warm welcome to a beautiful Inn. Met with the smell of freshly baked cookies to eat in the well stocked library.
Up the stairs to a tasteful room, very comfortable bed, top of the line toiletries, very relaxing.
A walk around the lake finished a perfect day.
The next day a well planned day recommended by the owners of Snapdragon of the surrounding area after a delicious breakfast with organic berries, eggs and yogurt.
We highly recommend the Inn and will be sure to return. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A stay here while visiting family. What a treasure. An easy walk from the railway station to the inn. A warm welcome. Exceptionally clean an comfortable room- with nice 'extras'. Gorgeous surroundings. Lovely walks around the lake - and preferable to a fitness centre. Hosts were generous with their time and help. A walk up to the diner for dinner was also highlight. A cultural icon - and a tourist attraction to be cherished. Breakfast was perfect. Please keep the bagels. The use of local produce also great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband celebrated our first anniversary with two nights at the Snapdragon Inn and could not have asked for a better trip. From hiking around the gorgeous lake just behind the Inn, to a movie in bed from the vast dvd & blu-ray library, to a delicious daily breakfast with fresh picked fruit and the most delicious, locally made, maple peanut butter you can imagine, we enjoyed every minute at the Inn! The rooms were decorated so beautifully and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The staff was so friendly! We had the chance to speak with one of the owners quite a bit and loved her! We are not the type to hit the same destination twice, we'd rather see new places, but we are definitely looking forward to returning for another getaway at the Snapdragon!

Windsor, VT is a tiny tiny tiny town surrounded by other tiny towns. Between all of these towns there is a ton to do but be prepared to drive 15-30 minutes for just about anything. Also, we had terrible cell phone reception in Windsor but the wifi at the Snapdragon was very fast and eliminated that problem for us. :) My only complaint was that the air conditioning was not powerful enough. It was not unpleasant, but it was also not ideal.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 and it was perfect! The tub is a huge claw foot soaker and the bathroom floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayci O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

my wife and i actually stayed here 2 years ago for our 10th anniversary. we loved everything! the host was great and very helpful. the breakfast was great and very relaxing! we also enjoyed sitting on the back porch at night watching the fireflies and walking along the beautiful lake just behind the property. we're very anxious to go back some day!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
12.0 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
401 reviews
10.7 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
10.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Windsor Mansion Inn
Windsor Mansion Inn
#2 of 4 in Windsor
33 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Common Man Inn
The Common Man Inn
#1 of 1 in Claremont
181 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snapdragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snapdragon Inn

Property: Snapdragon Inn
Address: 26 Main St, Windsor, VT 05089-1308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snapdragon Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The grand and historic former home of famed editor Maxwell Perkins. whose authors and regular visitors to the Inn included F.Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway and Thomas Wolfe, now reborn as a luxury Inn. At the Snapdragon Inn, we celebrate all the beauty and bounty that Vermont and the Upper Valley has to offer, and want to make your stay as relaxing and inspiring as can be. The Snapdragon Inn is about comfort, pure and simple. Whether you are visiting to work, to play, or simply to relax, the Snapdragon Inn is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Snapdragon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snapdragon Hotel Windsor
Snapdragon Inn Vermont/Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing