We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn and people”
Review of Snapdragon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Snapdragon Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Windsor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely inn and people”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the Snapdragon Inn for two days on a New England holiday, just before our youngest began university. We found the large room very cosy and laughed with a few fun DVD's from the inn collection as we curled up after busy days. It was a lovely place and we all enjoyed ourselves immensely. The owners were great and very helpful and friendly to us. The grounds were pleasant and the nearby drives quite pretty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmCanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    34
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
183
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My boyfriend's and my experience was a good one at the Snapdragon Inn. The day we arrived was a little troublesome because it was a Monday, and most of the restaurants and shops in Windsor are closed that day. Although they only server breakfast at the Inn, the housekeeper was very kind in advising us which places were open. The ground floor is absolutely beautiful. Our room was nice, we were placed in Room One, although we were a disappointed we were given a room with no bath, since there were only a few people residing in the Inn and the website gives much attention to the claw-foot baths. However, the room was warm and the sheets and pillows were quite comfortable. We were also able to watch films and read books from the downstairs library. They would have fires as well, which were very warm and comforting. The inn was incredibly quiet while we were there, and I'm pretty sure we were the only ones there on New Year's Day (we stayed for three nights). Breakfast was served every morning, and on the day in which we were the only ones the housekeeper even left it out for us because we woke up late. The food was delicious and absolutely adorable, but there were only a couple hot options like hard-boiled eggs and you could toast bagels or English muffins. The area around Windsor is incredibly sleepy in the winter, though, so we were glad this vacation was mainly about spending time in together on a quiet trip. We did get to go to the Harpoon Brewery for lunch (that was so-so, the service was incredibly slow) and we went to dinner at a nice restaurant called Jesse's in NH. The people at the inn were incredibly welcoming and kind, although the price is a little high, in my opinion. Short stays are probably more economical and wise given what there is to do in the area and the price of things. Overall, we had a great experience!

Room Tip: Try to request a room with a bath right up front if that's what you want. We just assumed we wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 1 night stay. We thought the main level was well decorated and comfortable and the room was spacious and well appointed with flat screen tv, dvd player, large bathroom with heated floor and claw foot tub (we stayed in room 5). But, while the room had all of the modern amenities, it lacked a warmth and charm which I associate with B and Bs. We were disappointed and somewhat surprised that breakfast did not offer any hot options given cost of stay. My husband found the bed a little too firm. I thought it was great. Pillows are goose down (in case you have allergies). The innkeeper/woman who greeted us was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I hear room 9 is really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

What an amazing wedding experience we had at the Snapdragon! From the moment we first spoke by phone with Michelle, the Innkeeper, we knew this was our choice for our wedding venue. Michelle went above and beyond in helping us coordinate from over 1000 miles away, including catering, activities, officiant and baker. We booked all the rooms in the Inn for 3 days and it truly became home to friends and family. The rooms are large, several have inviting clawfoot tubs, the bathroom floor tiles are heated (!) in all rooms. The decor is warm and welcoming. The service is easily the best I've experienced, and I travel 2x a month for work. All of our family and friends who stayed at the Inn commented over and over about Michelle's hospitality, warm homemade cookies and friendly smile. Michelle and Jen (our wedding coordinator) transformed the Inn into a warm, classy, intimate setting for our wedding ceremony and reception. It was truly magical. We are already planning our next trip to the Snapdragon Inn.

Room Tip: Recommend a room with a clawfoot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We would have to say "ditto" to all those reviews before us who commented on the luxurious bed, all the sweet and thoughtful amenities, the wonderfully appointed bathroom with the clawfoot tub (room 7), the overall elegance and taste displayed in this amazing house, the breakfast in a beautiful sunlit room, and of course the lovely outdoor surroundings To add to that, we loved the library with its books about the people who lived there along with famous authors and history of Windsor. We particularly enjoyed talking with the innkeeper who is friendly and very knowlegeable, Treat yourselves to a serene getaway!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coreymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Why should you choose the Snapdragon Inn? For the nice B&B, fot its large rooms. For the confort of the bed. For the great welcome you receive while arriving. For the large restroom of the B&B. For the quiet place. For the lake, the forest, the small mountain surrounding the B&B. For the hicking trails accessible just close to the B&B. For the charming village of Windsor. For the Connecticut River and the longest covered bridge in USA just close by. For the Harpoon Brewery a few miles from the B&B. For all the nice villages all around Windsor. For the spirit of the people leaving in Vermont and for the wonderful Green Mountains.

My wife and I spent 2 nights in November at the Snapdragon Inn and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

What a wonderful little piece of paradise on earth. Elegant historical house, with heated tiles ans occitan product in the bathroom... Great luxury and perfect place to rest.. The host are so friendly and welcoming you with warm chocolate cookies and great continental breakfast with the best homemade and local vermonts products. Just loved it and will deffinitly make it a regular family vacation place

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marienakhle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
10.7 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
10.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windsor Mansion Inn
Windsor Mansion Inn
#2 of 4 in Windsor
37 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Common Man Inn
The Common Man Inn
#1 of 1 in Claremont
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snapdragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snapdragon Inn

Property: Snapdragon Inn
Address: 26 Main St, Windsor, VT 05089-1308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snapdragon Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The grand and historic former home of famed editor Maxwell Perkins. whose authors and regular visitors to the Inn included F.Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway and Thomas Wolfe, now reborn as a luxury Inn. At the Snapdragon Inn, we celebrate all the beauty and bounty that Vermont and the Upper Valley has to offer, and want to make your stay as relaxing and inspiring as can be. The Snapdragon Inn is about comfort, pure and simple. Whether you are visiting to work, to play, or simply to relax, the Snapdragon Inn is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Snapdragon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snapdragon Hotel Windsor
Snapdragon Inn Vermont/Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing