We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a county gem.”
Review of Bryce Ski Area

State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
281 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“This is a county gem.”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Great little resort tucked back in the mountains near Orkney Springs. Basye has winter sports such as skiing and tubing and summer sports such as grass tubing, zip lining, and more. They have ventured into competitive adventure sports and also offer golf, tennis, and swimming. Lake Laura is lovely and canoeing, kayaking, and swimming are allowed. And there is a trail system that will connect you with some of the national forest trails in the area too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I remember coming as a child and although the natural snow season has not been the best, my kids loved learning about and seeing the snow making process. We had fun watching the kids learn to ski and fall :-). The slopes were just enough to be exciting but not itimidating.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanaNichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun skiing in the South”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

When we arrived in VA (12/30/12), there was natural snow on the ground. The ski area also had man made snow. During the week, most of the snow on the ground had melted but the snow on the slopes was still good enough to have fun on. There are two chair lifts but one of them was not running. And from the looks, I'm not sure I would have wanted to ride it. But the #1 lift was brand new this season and easy to get on & off of. There were 3 runs open the week we were there, one green named Redeye and two blue named Bodlegger & Revenner's Run. They were challenging enough for my novice legs that I didn't need anything else. The ski staff was friendly enough. The restaurant at the base of the mountain was reasonably priced and also had friendly staff, though they were a bit slow to check on you. The Chili was great!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank robeadam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basye, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice little resort”
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Don't come here expecting black diamond trails. It is a fine resort for beginners and intermediates. It is a place you can just turn your kids loose and not worry. They have a new quad which is a line eater.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Resort for Children!”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Smaller resort, with great facilities for children to learn to ski. 5 year took learn to ski lessons and the instructors were fantastic. 8 year old took learn to ski lesson and had a very small class size. Everyone at the resort was very helpful. They even picked us up in the parking lot on a golf cart to start the day!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bryce Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Bryce Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing