We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apples & Festivals”

A.J. Gross & Sons Orchard
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Bedford
Attraction details
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Apples & Festivals”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Mr. Gross and his family offer a wide variety of apples, peaches and other fresh produce in their country store. They also sell canned jams, jellies and relishes. Mr. Gross is usually around, always smiling and willing to give his expert advice on which type of apples you might need for certain recipes.

In the spring, they open their farm to local vendors & musicians for the "Apple Blossom Festival" and in the fall they sponsor the "Apple Harvest Festival". It is a fun time for all!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Apple Blossom Festival in April was a lot of fun”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We attended the 3rd annual Apple Blossom festival. The trees were in bloom and they had music and incredible food available to purchase. They offered wagon rides through the orchard for $3 a person- which was fun. There were tons of vendors offering their wares and then the store was open for business also. The year-round store offers tons of local food items as well as a lot of canned food made there at the orchard and then of course the apples. I plan to go back out there to get gifts for birthdays, etc. Everyone was very nice- which made it so much fun to be there. The only issue that I had was that we had to park in the orchard because of the quantity of people there and a tree branch that I was directed to pass by in order to park ended up putting 3 deep scratches on the roof of my van from front to back. During non-festival days you could just park in the lot in front of the store- but that was not the case on this day. They had port-a-potties sitting out- so I am not sure what the bathroom facilities will be like on non-festival days. If you decide to attend one of their festivals make sure and bring your money because you are going to want to go home with a lot of local fresh food! We definitely plan on attending the fall festival that they offer. They can be found on facebook and they give updates on what they are offering in the near future. It was a fun day. The food was delicious! We are still talking about it days later!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HotelsRmyLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Get away and ease stress at this farm - it is family run and you're treated like family....we have a very enjoyable experience each time we visit - prices very reasonable and all the food is great!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bobby514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke VA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Gross Family Orchards fun stop”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We rented a nearby cabin and the owner recommended this orchard to visit. He said they were a 4th generation family operation. Apples on hand on August 20 were Gala and Honey Crisp, both outstanding, @$24/half bushel. You could pick your own, but only save $4 that way. They were just beginning to pick Red and Golden Delicious, so can't comment on them. They still had peaches and they were wonderful. Not as sweet as Carolina peaches, but large and very very good. $20/half bushel i think. As another had said, their cider was also great. And in the store, there were several interesting sauces and syrups. A small "craft fair" sets up alongside their front entrance, but we did not check it out. Anyway, it's worth a stop if you are near the Peaks of Otter or Bedford, VA.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank cart54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“An Apple-lutely Cool Orchard”
Reviewed 3 November 2008

While on vacation in Virginia, we decided we wanted to look for cider at some orchards as we headed up to the Peaks of Otter. After trying a different orchard first that had no cider, we decided to find this place which is a bit more off the beaten path. Boy were we glad we did.

They had a bunch of varieties of apples in season and a large supply of apple and fruit products.

As for the cider, they had not only raw and pasteurized apple cider available. But they also had some cherry apple cider that was outstanding. We loaded up a gallon bottles of each for our long road trip home to Texas.

Next time we are in Virginia, we will make an effort to go out of our way to return to Gross' Orchard.

Helpful?
Thank SlyFox_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A.J. Gross & Sons Orchard also viewed

 

Been to A.J. Gross & Sons Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing