We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you appreciate Great Service and Accomodations.......Stay Here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Roost Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Bedford B&B and Inns
Narvon, Pennsylvania
1 review
“If you appreciate Great Service and Accomodations.......Stay Here!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I do a lot of overnight travel. "The Roost" offers Large, tastefully decorated, well appointed rooms with a beautiful country setting. I attended my daughters graduation at Liberty U and the 30 minute drive to The Roost was a small price to pay for the great accomodations and service. Andy and Sue are great conversationalists who look forward to getting to know you, if you so choose.....................the "Country" breakfast of fried eggs, scalloped potatoes, Lancaster County bacon, fresh fruit, danish, coffee and juice will satisfy the largest of appetites. The only negative for me, was having to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harleysville
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Besides the beautiful environment and delicious food, the hosts were the biggest enjoyment of our time there . We loved getting to know them and left as friends. Looking forward to our next time. Thanks Andy and Sue!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnrah39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Sue and Andrew are wonderful host. Sue's garden is beautiful for early spring. Breakfast was good and filling. After a stressful day, we did not feel like going out for dinner. Andrew was kind enough to go get a pizza for us. They treated us like family.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I loved The roost so much last year we went back again this october. It was worth it. Same great hospitility.Andy and Sue are wonderfull people and oh boy can they cook. We highly recommend staying here to any and all!

Room Tip: we stayed in the Loft both visits but would stay in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We can't say enough wonderful things about our experience at the Roost. From the moment we drove up, we knew we'd stay an extra night if they had room for us....and then it got even better. It has 11 beautiful acres to explore, really delicious (!!!!!) breakfast, friendly and gregarious hosts in Andrew and Sue and a clean room with extra amenities (coffee, biscotti, and water in the room). Beautiful location, lots to see in and around Bedford. We know we will go back......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Beautiful location with terraced steps in back yard to a duck pond, fabulous breakfast, and just a few minutes from the great hiking in the Peaks of Otter area of the Blue Ridge Parkway! Sue and Andrew are incredibly thoughtful, and warm and friendly. This B&B is even better than its great reviews suggest!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison GA
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Quiet, peaceful, beautiful location, great property and people inside and out, and fabulous food... This is our second stay in a bread and breakfast; we definitely hit the jackpot both times.

This is really beautiful countryside; you're going to wish you could move into this small, close knit neighborhood. Took a walk after dinner and ran into one of the neighbors who turned around and walked with us. There is a pond, gardens, and wildlife. Andy's mule ride is suitable for the uncertain. Sue and Andy are wonderful hosts. We chose the Nest and were not disappointed. Make sure to check the cabinet under the Keurig coffee maker in your room; the homemade biscotti is the best biscotti I've ever had. The bed was really comfortable. Private entrance is really nice. If you're picky, the bathroom is a little small but it works perfectly. The bathroom lighting is the best I've seen away from home. Our room included free WiFi and TV. Breakfast in the beautiful sun room is a truly wonderful experience. Today, the menu included fresh coffee of your choice, water, orange juice, dish of fresh fruit, bacon, a perfect omelet, and a baked peach dish that was unbelievably good. Yes, they offer toast but who eats toast when you can have peaches... If we're ever in the area, we'll be back to stay and to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perky51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
5.5 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
947 reviews
18.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
24.6 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
19.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
4.6 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#2 of 4 in Bedford
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roost Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roost Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Roost Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1380 Otterlea Ln, Bedford, VA 24523-5121
Region: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing