We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peaks of Otter Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Powhatan, Virginia
1 review
“relaxing getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Beautiful area. Rooms are clean with comfortable beds. Great view from all rooms. Restaurant was ok, but food on buffet was not of the quality I expected for the price. The staff were all very friendly and made me feel welcome.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms look better. downstairs more convenient
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at Peaks of Otter Lodge. I will be sure to pass the message along to our Food and Beverage Manager about the comments pertaining to the restaurant. We are very fortunate to have the friendly staff that we do! Thanks again and we look forward to having you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    278
    54
    21
    6
See reviews for
223
497
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Maurertown, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed in the beautiful lodge, took a trip to Peaks of Otter Winery, and enjoyed the marvelous food from the Lodge's restaurant. No phones, no worries, but in case there is an emergency you can find one with assistance from the lovely staff members.

Room Tip: Go during the week
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel really promotes environment conserving products
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Britanee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
"A vacation for your brain and body" is what we aim to hear from all of our guest. The tranquility of Peaks of Otter is priceless. It is definitely a place where you can get away from all the hustle and bustle of a city. We look forward to having you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Peaks of Otter Lodge is a beautiful every-room-with-a-view destination location.
Expect to be unplugged from cell and wireless unless you want to drive a bit down the road.
Staff is friendly and accommodating.
Encourage online bookings to phone the actual lodge to confirm and clarify reservations.
I expect to make this a repeat-destination-location :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Yes we are so fortunate to have the friendly staff that we do! I will be sure to pass along the message to let them know what a great job they are doing. Yes the online booking is a great way to see all the different packages that are available and to view pictures of the lodge if you have never stayed with us before. We look forward to having you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The facility is set on a pond which was very nice. The main lodge where you check in is very nice, too. The rooms are in motel-style buildings and need updating. Furnishings are very basic like a low budget motel. If you are looking for a real country lodge, this is not the place. You should bring your own food because the restaurant is overpriced and poor qulaity, although they do not provide a refrigerator in the room. On the plus side the room was clean and they are pet friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at Peaks of Otter Lodge. We are working to update the rooms, please check back with us in the near future to hear about what renovations have been completed. The 3 ADA accessible rooms in the main lodge do have refrigerators so please know that you can always book one of those if you need the refrigerator. Again, thanks for taking the time to write about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

After years of having neither TVs nor phones in the rooms, the new concessionaire has installed flat-screen TVs. Being "disconnected" helped me decompress on the first night of my annual Southern Appalachian trips, but I have to admit that I did watch the TV! An especially nice additions is the Keurig coffeemakers in the rooms; I no longer have to bring my own. What haven't changed are the beauty and peacefulness of this place, qualities that bring me back year after year. There are still no individual phones -- and no cell service -- so there's still some degree of disconnection, but with the other updates, can Wi-Fi be far behind?

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper level for a better view of Abbott Lake and more privacy. Lower level roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plet39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Wifi is not far behind at all! We completed upgrading our system last week for the connection to extend throughout all the buildings. Glad to hear you enjoyed the Keurig coffee maker. Nothing beats a fresh cup of coffee when your out in the mountains. Thanks for taking the time to write about your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Nice, romantic setting, however, stinkbugs everywhere. We had about 10-15 stinkbugs in our room and is was pretty disturbing! I can't believe that the hotel is unable to keep them out of the rooms! The management of the hotel gave us a discount, which we really appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
We are currently working with the National Park Service and our local pest control companies to find a product that will eliminate stink bugs. We have tried so many different products, but nothing has worked. I apologize for the inconveince. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I gather the Lodge is undergoing renovations, which it definitely needs. It has the feel of a somewhat run-down 1950s motel, not a classic national park lodge. I should stress the all the staff we met were very friendly and helpful, so I'd give them an "A" for that. But the rooms themselves were only so-so, and if you are on the bottom units, be prepared to hear everything going on in the room above you!

The food was fine, though somewhat institutional. Hiking and other outdoor opportunities abound, so if you are looking for a good base for exploring this part of the parkway, the lodge is a good option. But don't come with high expectations for the lodge itself. Let's hope the renovations make a difference - particularly in making the rooms a bit quieter.

Room Tip: Definitely pay for a room on the second floor!
See more room tips
Green Features: I was impressed by the the lodge's commitment to sustainability - they clearly are thinking about this.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience while visiting Peaks of Otter Lodge. We are very fortunate the having the dedicated staff that we do and I will be sure to pass along the message of what a great job they are doing. Please check back before your next visit to see what renovations we have completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
13.0 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
22.0 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
24.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
20.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peaks of Otter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaks of Otter Lodge

Property: Peaks of Otter Lodge
Address: 85554 Blue Ridge Pkwy, Bedford, VA 24523-6067
Region: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Peaks of Otter Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peaks of Otter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing