We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaks of Otter Lodge, Blue Ridge Parkway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Plain but extremely nice motel in really great setting. All rooms have patio or balcony overlooking a beautiful lake. Lots of well-maintained trails lead off from the property and we saw many deer. Restaurant is OK--basic, but food was good. The beautiful setting overwhelms all and the locale is super for a multi-day stay while enjoying the scenery and trails.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
There are newer reviews for Peaks of Otter Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

925 - 931 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Wonderful location on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Grounds and scenery on the sight were spectacular. Separate building for check-in with restaurant serving 3 meals and gift shop with local artisans. Separate 3 guest buildings all with nice lake and mountain view . 1 mile walking trail around lake was nice. My only downfall was choosing a lower walkout basement unit. Should have been on the second floor. Buildings are older but clean. Room was dated but had flat screen TV, and wifi access . Small deck to go outside but had rail across so had to exit from front door and walk around back. This was in the unit under the stairs. The center lower level units had concrete slab patios that you could walk right out to lake. I would try that. No cell service whatsoever and no phone in room. Didn't know that upfront and alittle worried not being able to call home Staff were extremely cordial and helpful. Can't beat the location. Would visit again

Room Tip: 2nd floor first choice or if want to walk directly out to lake from back door choose a center lower...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great place to stay in the mountains. Quiet and beautiful. Great walking path around the lake and an option to walk up or bus up the mountain. We saw otters, deer and hawks. .First floor is a must so that you can walk out to the lake and sit on the porch

Room Tip: first floor to walk out.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I stopped here along our motorcycle trip from ME to SC. We'd experienced thundershowers in Wanesboro, VA and didn't start up the Blue Ridge until 5:30pm. It was a huge relief to learn that we could stay at a lodge along the way, without even having to descend to find a motel. Our check-in experience was a little slow, but well worth the wait. There was also an attached restaurant, although service there was quite slow in the evening. The views down to Lake Abbott from our room and also from the restaurant were awesome, and I would have enjoyed staying longer to do some hiking in the area. We had a first floor room, with back door opening fight onto the lawn overlooking the lake. I definitely recommend this facility to other travelers and look forward to returning there again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you as our guest again!

Sincerest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We're retired but enjoy views, walks, and short hikes from comfortable and clean lodges. Peaks of Otter Lodge offered about everything we enjoy at a reasonable price. The view of Abbott Lake from our balcony was terrific as was the balcony; our room was very clean, comfortable, and well-equipped (though not sumptuous); and we enjoyed both running and walking on the local trails.

The restaurant served among the best "lodge" food we'd experienced in recent times, again with the pleasure of a great view.

We were not successful in cell phone service (which may be a blessing).

The lodge is also very well located for nearby access to trails and terrific views of the peaks.

Room Tip: No comment. We liked our room, but couldn't distinguish it from others.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomtrip44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Peaks of Otter Lodge. We look forward to having you as our guest again!

Sincerest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were in a standard king room after a long day of riding for 89$. It was very clean and had all of the necessary amenities...AC/ Wifi/ and a comfortable bed. All of the rooms had a nice view of the lake. We read the reviews about the dining room requiring business casual attire, but did not have any problem getting seated or served in clean jeans and a t-shirt. Staff was very friendly. Nicest place we stayed on the entire trip and it's very convenient to be able to stay right on the parkway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Peaks of Otter Lodge. Please do not ever hesitate to join us in the dining room in jeans and a t-shirt. We generally say that casual attire is all that is recommended for the dining room.

Sincerest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Conveniently located right off the parkway and nestled in the mountains. Very peaceful and scenic setting! Friendly staff and nice dining experience. Get a first floor balcony room to overlook the lake and be able to walk right out on the lawn. Would love to see the mountainview in the fall.

Room Tip: Lower floor with patio is nice
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Front Office Manager at Peaks of Otter Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Peaks of Otter Lodge. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
13.0 mi away
Natural Bridge Historic Hotel & Conference Center
22.0 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
24.9 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lexington
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
23.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#6 of 40 in Roanoke
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peaks of Otter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaks of Otter Lodge

Address: 85554 Blue Ridge Pkwy, Bedford, VA 24523-6067
Region: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range: £90 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peaks of Otter Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Peaks of Otter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing