We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very Special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 August 2014

You can't go wrong here, especially if you yearn for a mountain-lake setting that is so beautiful. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff are attentive, and eager to help you feel at home. Even the deer seem comfortable in your presence! Wish we could have stayed longer and done some hiking.....next time.

Room Tip: choose rooms that face the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

881 - 887 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our third visit to a great location on the Blue Ridge Parkway of Virginia. Beautiful mountain-lake setting, quiet with nature at your door-step. Pleasant and helpful staff, interested in making your visit a memorable one!! Breath-taking views of the lake and mountain from the restaurant while you dine of specialities of the Chef. Delightfully "rustic" but comfortable accomodations, as you would expect in a National Park setting.

Room Tip: They all have great views of the mountain peak and lake. Those with walking/step climbing handicaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The surroundings are gorgeous and very relaxing. The food was an excellent value and was delicious. The weather was very foggy but we were able to see the lake and surroundings occasionally. We were able to relax and eat like kings!

Room Tip: The end rooms are the best if you like quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

First you have to be aware that you are stepping back in time to a hotel experience reminiscent of the 1960s. If you are traveling the oarkway, you understand that. So some of the more recent touches in inn design may be missing. But the experience of staying in this traditional destination is reason enough for staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tn-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The lodge is in a beautiful setting and very comfortable, with lovely views. The staff were fantastic, welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area. Great food, we especially appreciated the local sourcing and the fact that much of the food on offer was organic. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Room Tip: Accomodation looking over the lake is particularly pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Beeeeeeutiful place for a resort. Surrounded by mountains and next to a lake, with all rooms viewing the lake. Food was great. A good variety of hikes for all ability levels. Room was dated, but clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Nothing fancy. Just the basics. My husband thought we were in real trouble when we walked in to register and saw the rooms-to-be-remodeled-soon sign. For National Park Service lodging, it was pretty nice.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank TheGoBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
13 mi away
Natural Bridge Historic Hotel & Conference Center
22 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
24.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lexington
210 reviews
24.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
20.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Roanoke, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peaks of Otter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaks of Otter Lodge

Address: 85554 Blue Ridge Pkwy, Bedford, VA 24523-6067
Region: United States > Virginia > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range: £97 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peaks of Otter Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Peaks of Otter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing