We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for people who like to party; not a quiet getaway”

Low Water Bridge Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bentonville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Low Water Bridge Campground
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The state and national park was full, so we got a spot here for one night. The staff was super nice and the location is good; right by the river where you can wade/swim. The neighbors were NOT quiet at 11pm like the signs say (they also say the quiet hours are strictly enforced), and fireworks were going off even though the signs prohibit this too. We had drunk people walking by our tent in the middle of the night. Primitive camping; the portapotties can be a five minute walk and if you're in a tent you may as well forget the shower or you'll have to drive. The spots by the river seem better to watch the water but the shore isn't super for wading. The canoe drop off point is a one minute walk and it's nice for swimming, but watch the current. You can bring your own firewood; the bug problems that the state parks are worried about don't seem to be a problem here.

Room Tip: Remember where the sun will be in the morning before you set up your tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GypsyTraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

We went there to spend Memorial Weekend because all the National Parks' facilities were full. Apparently during off season periods this campground is supposed to be nice and quiet but this time it was overcrowded. On average I guess 8 persons per site so around 500 people with only 7 bathrooms out of which at least 2 were always out of service, and the rest poorly maintained.
I guess that if you go there during the week it must be nice and quiet and you can enjoy being right beside the river. The owners are very friendly but they shouldn't allow so many people on each site and they also need to build separate showers and restrooms. Don't go there during the holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMAR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Nice spot on south fork of Shenandoah river. Take grandson and friends for a week or so of fishing and swimming every July. 5 sites with 50 amps, water and dump is available. Clean showers and a nice little store. Large tent sites beside river and other sites in field.
Tube & canoe rental with drop off and pick up available. I camped in a 36' motor home and will return.
AT&T cell signal is strong.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Our scout group has been going here for years. We were most recently there in October 2011 for a 3 day weekend. The river is great, a lot of the camping is right on the river, and we did a lot of fishing from the bridge, even though your're not supposed to.
When you enter the park you pass 3 signs saying quit time is 11PM to 7AM. On the Saturday night we were there, the place was rockin' at 10PM; kids riding their bikes with glow in the dark decorations, a few groups had their radois blastin (one all day), our scouts were running around, and quite a few campfires were going. We were down in the group section, I can only assume the individual campgrounds up by the office were quiter. At 10:50PM, things began to calm down, a few requests were made to turn off radios, and by 11:15 most had gone to bed. This was a holiday weekend, and people were out to have fun. If you want quiter places on the weekend, reviews of the Shennandoah Skyline Drive Parks say they strictly enforce a 10PM quite time.
Like the other reviews, the bathrooms were poorly maintained, but we all lived. Being by the river made up for it. Just bring your own toilet paper, like a lot of places.
In short, we had a good time. This is a nice place, we go back every year. However, this isn't a quite contemplative place on the weekends.(I can only assume the place is far less crowded on non holiday weekends).

Room Tip: Get down by the river if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VA_Junkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Low Water Bridge Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Water Bridge Campground

Address: 192 Panhandle Rd, Bentonville, VA 22610-1902
Region: United States > Virginia > Bentonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bentonville
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing