We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Getaway in Virginia”
Review of Rosemont Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosemont Manor
Ranked #2 of 6 Berryville B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historic Getaway in Virginia”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed at Rosemont Manor the former home of Sen. Harry Byrd...Georgian Estate with beautiful grounds, historic visitor themed suites, friendly attentive staff, and delicious generous meals. The Manor is centrally located to all Cival War sites and historic settings. Easy to get to from Dulles Int'l by car, you can make numerous day trips from Rosemont, or just enjoy the large porches and beautiful setting. Plenty of restaurants and small towns near by, friendly people, and lots of historical significance. We came from California for just 3 days and enjoyed it very much. We would recommend a longer stay to Civil War buffs, and the 2-3 day for relaxation and a good time.

Room Tip: I can personally recommend the Churchill Suite, but looked into all of them and found the Nixon, Ros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, and for coming to see us all the way from California! You have summed up so much of what makes Rosemont special -- the small town atmosphere, rich history, and quiet respite -- yet just a short drive away from Dulles airport and the Metro DC area.

Thanks also for mentioning the proximity to other historical and recreational activities - we are truly blessed to be located so centrally to many tourist gems such as Harper's Ferry, Luray Caverns, Museum of the Shenandoah Valley (just to name a few), as well as numerous wineries and Civil War battlefields.

We wish you all the best and hope that you'll make your way "east" again sometime soon!

Warmly,

Biff Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    38
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
26
138
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We found Rosemont in an email from breadandbreakfast.com. We could only stay 1 night and had the whole place to ourselves. We stayed in the Einstein room. It was beautifully decorated, but too small for even a chair. We weren't in the room long enough for it to matter though. Dinner was takeout from the Battlefield Inn (delicious!) and we ate on the wide porch overlooking the beautiful grounds and watched deer and rabbits. The innkeeper provided plates, silverware and an ice bucket for our bottle of wine that we picked up at a winery on the way to Rosemont. Coffee was ready in the morning at the time we requested. Breakfast was very good and gluten free for my husband. We walked the grounds and talked to a relic hunter who told us that everything found was given to the manor, but we forgot to ask someone later to show us. Coupons to local restaurants
/bakeries/wineries were given to us. There are many wineries nearby with beautiful views. The only thing I could have asked for would have been a free upgrade to a suite since we were the only guests (but we did get the room half off through bedandbreakfast.com so I can't complain!). Also the notebook in the room said there was a "reception" from 5:30-6:30 nightly; we arrived at 6:00 and were warmly greeted, if that's what reception means.

Room Tip: We checked them all out. The suites were very large, but do not have stand-up showers. The standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2emptynesters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for your review and thank you for taking advantage of the exclusive offer through Bedandbreakfast.com. We appreciate your understanding that we were not able to offer a free upgrade for rooms discounted 50%. We encourage all guests who have subscribed to these "Hot Deals" through bedandbreakfast.com to consider booking a Deluxe guest room or a Luxury suite at the discounted rate -- it's a great way to reserve our most spacious rooms at incredibly low pricing.

We are glad you were able to stroll the grounds and meet our pre-approved relic specialist, who has unearthed many great treaures from the Rosemont grounds where the Battle of Berryville was fought in 1864. I'm sorry you didn't get a chance to see some of these items, which include bullets, buttons, and other interesting artifacts. We are working on a permanent display at the manor, but in the meantime, the relics are available for viewing upon request.

Again, thank you for coming to see us at Rosemont and we hope you'll be back again soon!

Warmly,

Biff Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Fantastic old Manor house..on 60 acres of land. Lots of local wildlife and beatiful view from back porch. Staff was very attentive, food delicious and rooms beautiful. Close to Winchester and its Historic downtown. No TVs, just relaxation.

Room Tip: Only some rooms come equipped with a shower....we had to use claw foot tub...not my favorite but sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We are glad to hear you had a relaxing time at Rosemont without the buzz and distraction of television! We are also pleased to hear that you were warmly greeted by the staff and that you enjoyed the food, accommodations, and the spacious grounds as well. Come see us again soon!

Warmly,
Biff Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Beautifully maintained historic house surrounded by 60-acres was well worth the trip for Sunday afternoon tea. The tea menu was excellent and afterwards the owner gave us a tour of the house and shared the story of each room named for historic guests. The wait-staff and events coordinator were also very knowledgeable and helpful. Would definitely make another trip back here for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Berryville is a small, quiet community. Rosemont Manor is the perfect setting for a wedding or othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your Manor House Tea and tour of this historic site and grounds. We hope you will come see us again soon!

Warmly,
Biff Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Not just a wedding destination but an exciting and amazing stay. A long driveway framed by azaleas leads to the mansion. We enjoyed the Churchill suite with its views, large soaking tub and double vanity. No TV but the Ipod dock is a nice treat. The spacious suite is located at the end of a long hallway in a very quiet area of the mansion.
Upon check-in we were presented with coupons for wine tastings, local restaurants and Dan the cookie guy.( don't miss him great cookies).
There is a welcome reception on your night of arrival where you have a chance to meet the staff.
The location of Berryville is ideal for discovering the area. We visited Shepherdstown and Harpers Ferry and many wineries on the way.
Our package included a picnic basket the second day which we enjoyed in a vineyard. For dinner we can highly recommend the "Battletown Inn". The food is awesome and so is the service. There is a nice outdoor patio as well to enjoy lunch on a sunny day.
Breakfast at Rosemont Manor is elegantly served and varies from day to day. It was freshly prepared and was delicious. There are options if you have dietary restrictions.
We had friends visit us during our stay at Rosemont Manor to show of our suite and especially enjoyed the company of Bill North ( general manager) and Biff Genda the owner. We learned to many interesting details of the Manor. A memorable time ! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2muchfun4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad you had an opportunity to make the most of your time in Berryville, and your choice of the Churchill Suite was a great one - it's one of our favorites! Bill and I enjoyed meeting and talking with you, and we certainly hope you'll be back to see us again soon.

Warmly,
Biff Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Manor for two nights. We were immediately brought back to what it must have been like over 200 years ago! A true masterpiece of remodeling and details were put into the B&B! We stayed in the Byrd's Study, the only room with a balcony overlooking the Portico and the magnificent grounds. The communial breakfasts served on fine china were delightful and delicious. The picnic lunches that we were given upon departure were just icing on the cake. The bed was so comfortable and there were no tv's in the room. We actually slept until noon one day! With just an hour's drive from DC, you have the countryside at its finest. In addition, the steaks at Battletown Inn in Berryville were as good as The Capital Grille in Denver, Colorado.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you, Debra, for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you and your daughter had a memorable and relaxing time at Rosemont. The Byrd's Study not only has a magnificent view from its balcony, but it is also ripe with history, having once been the study of Senator Harry F. Byrd, Sr. (The room still bears the names of his children and their heights, etched on the inside of a door within the suite!) We are also glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and picnic lunch -- we pride ourselves on both. Thanks again for your kind words, and we hope that you will be back to see us again soon.

Warmly,
Biff Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just came back from Rosemont; what a wonderful experience. A twelve room bed and breakfast (no children under 12) with a 200 year old history. Large plantation style house that has been beautifully furnished - every room is different. Stayed in the Johnson Suite and enjoyed all the peace and quiet of the estate. Staff was especially wonderful; helpful and accomodating. Grounds beautiful - flowers and bushes blooming everywhere. Could go on and on about this Manor but, you will just have to go there yourself to see how wonderful it is. It only took about 3 1/4 hours to get there from Pa. and it was a beautiful rides. Nearby Shoenadoah National Park and numerous wineries kept us busy while we were there. Will definitely be returning soon.

Room Tip: Did not really see any room that was not a good choice. You can pick your room over the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Rosemont Manor, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you, Nancy, for sharing your experience at Rosemont. We are so glad you made the scenic drive down from Pennsylvania to be with us. You definitely picked a great time of year to be with us as our spring blooms were at their peak -- but of course, we think Rosemont is beautiful any time of year! Thank you especially for saying that people need to "see for themselves how wonderful Rosemont is" -- we often say that to potential guests, brides, and families. We are blessed to have many beautiful and historic things to capture in photographs, but all pale in comparison to the real thing. Thanks again for your kind words, and come see us again soon!

Warmly,
Biff Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berryville
9.3 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
637 reviews
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
9.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
694 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemont Manor

Property: Rosemont Manor
Address: 16 Rosemont Manor Ln, Berryville, VA 22611-3567
Region: United States > Virginia > Berryville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berryville
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Rosemont Manor Hotel Berryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing