We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Tea Time”

Manor House Tea at Rosemont Manor.
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Heavenly Tea Time”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Spent the afternoon with friends and enjoyed the most amazing tea at the Rosemont. Checked in at the beautifully restored carriage house, received a fizzy beverage and heard the fascinating history of the Manor.

The three specialty teas supporting the separate courses of finger sandwiches, scones and desserts were delicious. Rosemont was able to accommodate a special dietary need and fixed gluten free meals for a guest in our party. After the tea, we were able to tour the estate at our leisure. I look forward to spending a weekend at the manor.

Kudos to the Rosemont Team.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank need2vacationnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Manor House Tea at Rosemont Manor., responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you so much for coming to tea at Rosemont and thank you for your kind words! We appreciate you letting us know about dietary restrictions ahead of time so that we can make sure we have plenty of substitutions and accommodations as needed. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to having you come for an overnight stay!

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    4
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tea at Historic Rosemont Manor”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was a delightful place to visit and they served an excellent tea. All three courses were very well prepared and tasty, and the homemade seasonally flavored ice cream was a special treat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyGirl135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Manor House Tea at Rosemont Manor., responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for coming to tea at Historic Rosemont! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all three courses, especially the third course which included Tona's famous homemade ice cream! She changes the flavors seasonally, so be sure to come back and try another one soon.

Warmly,

William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful -- a must see!!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Spent a delightful afternoon at Rosemont Manor enjoying a "Tea & Tour" package. The grounds are incredibly beautiful at any season; the food was delicious and the Manor is impeccably furnished & tastefully decorated. There couldn't be a better place for any event -- whether a simple afternoon tea, bed & breakfast, or wedding. Highly highly recommend you check it out!!!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGauldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Had a great time.”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Went to the tea but didnt spend the night. The food was excellent and the service was even better. The tour was informative & the manor is impressive. Beautiful location for a wedding or other function.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Manor House Tea at Rosemont Manor., responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for coming to tea and thank you for the recommendation! We hope you will join us again for tea at Rosemont sometime soon.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaRN10
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tea at Rosemont Estate”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My mother, sisters and I went to Rosemont this saturday for one of their afternoon teas. We had purchased the deal through livingsocial. We had a WONDERFUL time and fully intend to come back. The afternoon started in the carriage house with a brief talk by the owner about the history of the estate. Interesting facts, nothing too long or drawn out. While listenening we were given a complimentary beverage, very tasty. The only negative I have to say about this entire experience is that there as a little miscommunication about the start time. The email we received stated not to arrive before 12:30, so we arrived around 12:40. The owner mentioned wanting to get started as the tour was supposed to start at 12:30. No big deal, just a simple thing for them to clear up.

The owner took us on a short tour through the house and out to the back deck - discussed the history of the area and some of the significant foliage on the property. Also mentioned many of the famous political and hollywood personalities that have stayed there.

We then sat down for the tea. The settings were beautiful, and our server, Emily, was very friendly and attentive. While they don't leave the pot on the table, she came around frequently to offer refills. We had our own table, but there were other seatings with just two people at a table. As other reviewers had mentioned, I can see that if they have two sets of two people, you may be seated together at a four person table. If you do not want to be seated with people you do not know, you may want to inquire about that when making your reservation.

The food was all delicious and beautiful! The chef came to meet with each table, and asked for our suggestions and comments. I disagree with the reviewer that said the food was store bought. They were clearly handmade and seasonal. The teas served with each round of food were also well thought out and planned. The second round (scones) were served with devonshire cream. While it wasn't 'clotted cream' it was thick and rich and wonderful. The desserts were sweet without being overly sweet, with a variety of different flavors.

There was talk of weddings and letting any brides we knew of to come for a tasting. I didn't find this offensive - I'm sure thats how they make the majority of their money and this was a good opportunity of marketing for them. I actually attended a wedding there 11/12 and it was very very nice.

We all had a wonderful time and definitely plan to return again. We felt like family welcomed into a home. Everyone was kind and gracious, and it was a wonderful experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vaRN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMInnkeeper, Owner at Manor House Tea at Rosemont Manor., responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind and gracious review! We are so pleased that you, your mom, and your sisters enjoyed your visit to Rosemont. Thank you for the feedback about the start time -- we have taken your suggestion to heart and made sure in recent months to clearly communicate to folks to come at 12:30. The tour usually starts by 12:40.

We are also glad to hear that you received excellent service and that Tona's homemade goodies were to your liking.

Do be sure to come and see us again soon! The tea menu changes seasonally and we see many folks coming back several times a year.

Warmly,
William "Biff" Genda
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manor House Tea at Rosemont Manor. also viewed

 

Been to Manor House Tea at Rosemont Manor.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing