We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location and good wine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Veramar Vineyard

Veramar Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Berryville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Founded in 2000, Veramar Vineyard was one of the first successful wineries in the northern Shenandoah Valley. The vineyard is run by James and Della Bogaty, who were original members of the Shenandoah Valley Wine Trail. Justin, their son, is the winemaker. He is a graduate of VMI and has a certificate of oenology from UC Davis. Our wine is internationally-acclaimed, and is made at the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely location and good wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon at Veramar. The views are beautiful, and there are a variety of quiet, comfortable places to sit with a glass of wine or have a small picnic--tables on the stone patio or along the pine hedge, a large swinging bench by the pond, or a white gazebo with a view of the valley. The tasting room is spacious and welcoming, and also has a seating area. The wines were good--especially the rose and whites.
We visited on a Sunday afternoon, and fortunately it wasn't too crowded. We sat at a table shaded by an umbrella, and had a small picnic we brought with us, and then did the wine tasting.
We have been to several vineyards and wineries in this area, and Veramar is probably one of our new favorites.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ReiseLust_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I visited Veramar Vineyards hoping to find a nice wine or two. We ended up walking away with much more than that!

After sampling several wines (most of which were wonderful), we were told that we could purchase a glass or bottle of wine to enjoy on the large patio. We also had the option of purchasing cheese, salami and/or bread, or having someone grill us a portabella mushroom sandwich. (I believe that the grilling is either on Saturdays or Weekends only.) What more could a girl want? My husband and I then proceeded to take our cheese and wine to the patio, and enjoy! This was such a wonderful and relaxing experience! The view of the field behind the winery is beautiful and the staff couldn’t have been nicer. I sent pictures to my friends while we were enjoying our wine and they all asked, “Where is that?”

I told my husband that we will definitely visit Veramar Vineyards again!

As an FYI, anyone who partakes of the sampling or drinking of the wine will be carded. No matter what your age, be sure to bring your ID; you don’t want to leave it behind and miss out on an excellent time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Writer416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wine & Scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stopped here to do a tasting and will go back again. We were not too impressed by the wines, we thought the Chardonnay was good enough to get a bottle to enjoy outside while taking in the scenery. I HIGHLY recommend bringing your own food or picnic, which a lot of people did and they allow outside. The food prices were ridiculous, $4.50 for a warmed cut-up french bread. But we just splurged since we were there celebrating. The view is wonderful and you can walk around the vineyard. They have plenty of seating or open area for kids to run around, which I have to say I was surprised at how many children/families there were. Maybe we will bring our kids next time and another friend or two to share the wine with.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mln76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Out of Africa"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

While Veramar is not located in Africa, its actually something right out of Africa. Imagine sitting in a comfy adirondack chair with a chilled glass of Veramar wine along with some of their cheese they offer while gazing at the fields in the foreground of the Shenandoah River and the hazy Blue Ridge Mountain. Any time now, one would expect grazing giraffes and herds of elephants to enter the picture in the foreground of the Blue Ridge, especially in the midst of summer when the Shenandoah Valley turns golden brown. This is what you will see when visiting Veramar. It is one of our most favorite places to bring guests from out of town. Veramar is one of the most idyllic spots in all of Virginia. If you love the outdoors and enjoy the beauty that nature has to offer, you'll love Veramar. A must see!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This place did not disappoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I went there with a group of friends over the weekend. You can bring your own food and eat outside, which was nice. A few of us did the full tasting and then we say outside for ours chatting with a few bottles of wine. The women who work there are super nice. The vineyard was beautiful and not too far from Washington, DC. This would make a great side trip when planning a visit to the nation's capital. Oh and the wine was delicious!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rochelle4881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Veramar Vineyard also viewed

 
Round Hill, Loudoun County
 

Been to Veramar Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing