We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining in downtown Berryville” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Battletown Inn - CLOSED

The Battletown Inn
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining in downtown Berryville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The Battletown Inn offers an excellent menu - I always enjoy the crab cake salad for lunch. The patio is a fun place to meet friends and enjoy good music!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginiabarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
2 reviews
“Marvelous luncheon experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Had a wondwerful luncheon experience on August 16, 2013. Food and service absolutely first rate. Warm historical ambience. Very highest recommendation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very high quality food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We recently ate dinner at the Battletown Inn while staying ay the Rosmont Mano in Beryville, VA. The building is old and charming. Service was very good. The food was delicious and the quality of the ingredients were similar to good big city restaurant. The chef at this restaurant is very talented.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Farhad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband and I ate here after receiving a recommendation from the innkeepers at Smithfield Farms. We didn't have a reservation, so we ate upstairs and it was a very cozy and seemed like more of a relaxed atmosphere. Generally, the food was good. Again, based on a recommendation we ordered the crispy mac and cheeses as an appetizer and we LOVED it! You never would have guessed that it would be so good, but that sweet jalepeno jelly was great! For entrees, I ordered the scallops with cauliflower puree and it was excellent. I was a little worried when I saw the plate at first because it didn't seem that it would be enough, but the portion turned out to be perfect. My husband ordered the New York Strip and it was just ok. It was a little under cooked and the cut of meat itself was a little fatty. However, it was good enough that he ate most of it!

Regarding service, the waitress was very nice, but it took a while for the food to come out. We waited a good 30 minutes between the time we were done with the appetizer and the time we actually received our entree.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmericaninGermany08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Gracious, Elegant, Sumptuous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Four of us enjoyed a splendid Saturday evening dinner in this lovely, gracious restaurant. This is a comfortably elegant setting with no hint of pretense. Everything on the menu sounds tempting making it difficult to make choices. From appetizers (very generous) to entrees (varied), to accompaniments (outstanding), to dessert (really special), to a decent wine list, this was first rate. We dined leisurely for almost four hours -- just like civilized folk ought! This would be a wonderful choice for any special occasion or just, as in our case, catching up with some dear old friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank artgallerygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Battletown Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing