We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mountain retreat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Big Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
“Great mountain retreat!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Cedar Post Inn, simply as one night away from home for our anniversary. It was great! Clean, comfortable, quiet and Sally was a wonderful host. Breakfast was excellent, and she provided a great recommendation for dinner- The Millstone Tea Room. Great option for 1 night, but it would have been great to have a longer stay. -Nathan

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nathanqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
63
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Had a lovely 2 night visit to the Cedar Post Inn. Such a lovely house! Sally kindly stayed up for us as we were running a bit late after our day of travelling. Lovely hosts and a great place to explore the Blue Ridge Parkway and Shenandoah Valley as the B&B is very close to one of the entries (make sure to stop at the Information place for trail ideas). Highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenangGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I were looking for quiet B&B with a personal touch/home like experience and we found it. From my first email to our good bye hug my wife and I had a very memorable experience. We have experienced B&B's were the owner/inn keeper doesn't even reside in that building. With Sally and Kevin we experienced southern hospitality which exceeded our best hopes. The time to talk with them, the beautiful B&B, the pretty landscape, excellent breakfast and the friendly outdoor cat made a memorable experience. We look forward to a return trip possibly next spring if possible. We loved the Blue Ridge Parkway which was our main reason for going to this area. Excellent Value !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas777180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I were fortunate to stay at the Cedar Post Inn during a trip along the Blue Ridge Parkway in October 2013. Our room was huge and immaculately clean, as was the bathroom. We had a lovely visit with our hosts Sally and Kevin, and learned about their inn and the area. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and plentiful. We would highly recommend the Cedar Post Inn for travelers with high expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I know that a B and B is a a little fancier than many thru hikers are looking for. But, for any hiker that has the resources to stay a little more upscale while hiking will be so rewarded by stopping at the Cedar Post Inn for the night. Sally and Kevin both went WAY beyond the call of duty to make my visit with them pleasurable, relaxing and inviting. I will be back to this part of VA to hike again and WILL be staying here!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank klazzarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I met my sister and her husband for a two night get together. We immediately felt welcomed and comfortable. We had such fun, delicious food,(even homemade shortbread) beautiful scenery and how we enjoyed the collections and art found at Cedar Post Inn. Sally and Kevin are excellent hosts and they provided input and directions to great eating places and the area's points of interest. Patsy and Doug

Room Tip: Both rooms are attractive and the beds are sooo comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had such a wonderful stay. Kevin and Sally made us feel at home with there kind hospitality, clean and comfortable rooms, and delicious and generous breakfasts. The pictures on the website are only a small look of the beauty that is all around. Their B&B is very nicely situated where you can really enjoy the views of the mountains and wildlife. It also is close to so many attractions near the Blue Rigde Parkway, if you want to take in more beauty and hiking and the historical city of Lynchburg. Lynchburg has an open farmers market on Wednesday and Saturday and Cao Artisan Chocolate can be tasted! During our stay we were celebrating our anniversary and they recommended the Millstone Restaurant, which was a perfect ending to a perfect day! We highly recommend this B&B to any who may be thinking about a stay in this area!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenSep2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Island
8.9 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
938 reviews
10.4 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#12 of 23 in Lynchburg
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Craddock Terry Hotel
Craddock Terry Hotel
#3 of 23 in Lynchburg
855 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
17.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cedar Post Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1346 Reed Creek Rd, Big Island, VA 24526-8511
Region: United States > Virginia > Big Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Big Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A log home located on 65 acres at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mtns. (Blue Ridge Pkwy.) In Bedford County, VA. Hiking, Biking, Picnic table by Bold Creek (native trout), fishing, bird watching, relax on the deck. Full breakfast served each morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing