We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Va Tech Parents Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clay Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clay Corner Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Blacksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Va Tech Parents Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

You will not find better inn keepers anywhere nor will you find a better breakfast. This is the only place to stay in Blacksburg where you can park your car and walk EVERYWHERE......to your childs dorm, downtown for dinner or a drink, to the farmers market, etc. Nicky, the owner, is the friendliest owner/operator anywhere and we have been thrilled to stay there any chance we can. There is nothing here that will disappoint you!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needagetaway63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Oh dear now we are blushing... thank you for this wonderful review and who said words can't make a difference :) We only returned what you guys gave to us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
62
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at Clay Corner during a recent campus visit to VT for our daughter. The location is perfect for anyone visiting VT. Our accomodations were great as was Nicky's hospitality. The rooms (we had two) were immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfast all three days was also fantastic. We will surely look to stay at Clay Corner whenever we visit Blacksburg in the future

Room Tip: Clay corner is a "can't miss"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My family was looking for a place that could accommodate 3-4 adults and our dog for a short visit. This Inn was that and so much more. When we arrived at the Inn, Nicky and the resident dogs were there to greet us. We all felt very welcome. This is truly a dog friendly place. Also, my family keeps a vegan diet and we were accommodated fully. Not only was there fruit and homemade granola at breakfast but there were delicious muffins prepared without animal products and a hot breakfast entree with a protein (quinoa)! That knocked our socks off. We were impressed and appreciative to receive more than just an endless offering of carbohydrates.

We stayed in the Cascade room, which is a suite of 2 rooms and a bathroom situated off the full kitchen of house #2. We were the only guests that night so we really had the whole house to ourselves. If the house had other guests in the kitchen it could have been a bit noisy since the door to the suite isn't very thick. But the two internal rooms also have doors. Though there are 3 houses, each one is an average sized cape so when there's a full house I expect that it's easy to meet the other guests. In that case, I would worry about my dog barking at some of the "strangers" in the house but that's just my issue, not the Inn's.

The best feature of the Inn is the covered porch where we sat in the evening with a glass of wine and again in the morning even though it was raining. It was nice that the space was covered so that the rain didn't bother us and we were able to have the dog with us as we enjoyed the wonderful breakfast.

We walked into the town for dinner and ate at Gillies, which had a small outdoor dining space and vegan fare on the menu. Nicky was very helpful in recommending several places nearby that could accommodate all our needs.

All in all, a gem of a place. I will be returning for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie00ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The accommodations were lovely and spotless, and Nicky was both helpful and gracious to meet my A.M. pre-run needs. I am a big fan of the Huckleberry Trail, which is located next to the Inn. Loved the property and amenities, including the tables and furniture in the public areas, and the full kitchens in the guest houses. The location could not be beat for acess to campus for meetings/trainings I attended. Wi-fi worked well. It was my first experience staying in a B&B, and I have to say, it will be difficult to match it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenybee-vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Delighted to recommend the Clay Corner Inn to anyone travelling in the Blacksburg area - it's really homely, well kept, has great facilities and great service. Wonderful breakfasts too that I'll miss! Could recommend it more highly!

Room Tip: I am a big fan of the New River Room but I'm quite sure all the rooms are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The public spaces and our room were spotless. Breakfast was delightful. The inn is a series of three houses interconnected by internal walkways. Each room and bath are very private. The public areas have tables, sinks and refrigerators and microwaves. The wi-fi was strong. Close by is an excellent walking trail where we took our two small dogs for a walk. The service was superb. The staff went out of their way to be helpful when we contacted them about an item left behind. Whenever we are back in the area, we will stay at the Clay Corner Inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monomoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brambleton, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We were in town for our 8th grade daughters Honor Roll Band performance at Virginia Tech. While all other hotels/motels were booked, Nicky provided us with fantastic rooms with TONS of cozy amenities for a much better price! If it weren't raining, we could have easily walked within 10 minutes to the Squires Student Union, Drill Field and Burruss Auditorium where most of the performances where. Our rooms were spotlessly clean, our breakfasts were made to order and served in a wonderful sun room, coffee, teas and cookies served up pretty much whenever you'd like. Nicky has plans to begin hooking up with some local farmers/farms to provide more organic, locally grown foods at the Inn. That's a huge attraction for us. We felt so welcome...we truly felt like family guests! If ever we're back in the area, we'll be calling the Clay Corner Inn first, no question.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 9 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#3 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clay Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Corner Inn

Property: Clay Corner Inn
Address: 401 Clay Street SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clay Corner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Blacksburgs only Boutique Hotel focused on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting for Business & Pleasure trips.Our prices include: Gourmet hot breakfast & homemade cold buffet, complementary business center and wifi throughout the B&B, swimming pool from April to October, kitchen for guests to cook lunches & dinners, free parking as well as being pet friendly. One block to Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg. Comforts of home, amenities of a fine hotel, friendliness of a small inn. A home away from home feel throughout. Owners live on premises who will be there to look after you during your stay. Closest lodging to Virginia Tech stadium, dorms, Coliseum, athletic fields. The only locally owned and operated small business lodging property in town! Simply -- the best lodging in Blacksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clay Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Corner Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing