We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blacksburg's Best”
Review of Clay Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clay Corner Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Blacksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We've stayed at Clay Corner Inn Bed and Breakfast a number of times over the past few years for both business and pleasure, and it is our favorite home away from home! The owners are wonderfully friendly and accommodating, the breakfast is first rate, and the rooms are clean and cozy. We enjoy relaxing in the living rooms, sharing an afternoon cookie, and sitting in the outdoor gardens by the pool. Walking distance to VT, downtown Blacksburg, and the Huckleberry walking/biking trail. Sometimes our pup joins us in one of the pet-friendly rooms, too! We highly recommend this hidden treasure!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Hi Mary and thank you for your kind words, it's always a pleasure having you here and especially knowing you like it so much ! :-) You have now become part of the "Official Clay Corner Inn Family". Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

Clay Corner exceeded all expectations - cosy, welcoming, beautifully decorated and furnished. Had everything you would get in a large hotel i.e. tv, en-suites etc but also wonderful owners who went out of their way to make sure you had everything you needed. Extremely close to VT campus and short stroll to the high street. Breakfast was lovely - freshly prepared and very tasty!Beds were very comfy and we slept extremely well. Can't think of any negative points at all!

Room Tip: Appalachian suite great if travelling with extra child/teenager
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

What nice words you used to describe our Inn and stay. We would like to thank you and your Son for choosing to stay with us and it was great being able to speak the same lingo and having someone completely get what I was saying when talking about the "High Street" instead of the main street ha! ha! I do hope your Son decides upon VT so we get to see you again! Until then let's keep our fingers crossed. Thanks again! Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Clay Corner Inn is a terrific B&B. The owners go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. The location is great- between the VT campus and downtown B-burg- easy walk to both. We loved the delicious breakfasts and Nicky even whipped up some scrambled eggs for our culinarily challenged son! We highly recommend Clay Corner Inn for its ambience, food and the feeling you are visiting friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Hi Debbie, It was a pleasure for us to have you in our "Business/Home". We enjoyed hanging out with you by the fireplace in the evening and having you try my specialty coffee! We had fun watching your daughter run for VT in the Track & Field... you must be very proud and your Son is a delight, I had fun making him his scrambled eggs! Look forward to having you back at the Inn soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The Clay Corner Inn is a wonderful find in Blacksburg. I was looking for a place to take the whole family (Grandparents and Dog) to visit our daughter at Tech and enjoy a nice family weekend ... I found it. Over the weekend we enjoyed walking Huckleberry Trail, playing board games at the kitchen table, and just visiting while sitting around in the living room .. Nicky made it feel like we were home. We all enjoyed the Saturday cookie bar and breakfast each morning. I'm glad my daughter has 3 more years at Tech so I can visit often. If you are looking for a convienent location to Tech and something extra nice for yourself .. please check out the Clay Corner Inn. Thanks Nicky, you helped us make some great family memories.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newly remodeled Huckleberry Room and it is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baileysm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

We are pleased that we were able to create some "great family memories" but it's only because you are such a great family. We totally enjoyed having you here and we'll definitely take care of your Mom & Dad when they return to celebrate their special wedding anniversary. It's nice to hear you liked our newly remodeled Huckleberry Room, as soon as I can get some great photo's of it I'll be posting it on our website. Please say hi to beautiful Bailey from us, she is sooooo cute! Hope to see you again soon and thank you for taking the time to send in such a nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

One night at the Clay Corner Inn is all you need to see why they were voted the best B&B in Blacksburg. We have two daughter’s attending Tech and have stayed at a majority of the accommodations in Blacksburg and are now hooked on the Clay Street Inn. The owners go out of their way to make you feel at home and their breakfasts are out of this world!! Our first visit was to attend the Tech UVA game and with the parking at the Inn leaves you with a short walk to the stadium and no parking hassles. Warn cookies and wine were waiting for us when we returned from the bitter cold! We were so impressed that we gave relatives a two night stay as our Christmas gift to them. We will not stay anywhere else when we visit Blacksburg!! Five stars for the Clay Street Inn. J & TG

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Temple G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Hi Temple,

Thank you for your review so kind of you :) mind you the best review you have given us is that you have re-booked twice since this trip Yeah!!!!! ... I'll have to check to see if you are eligible for your FREE night's stay because you are on our Loyalty Program. Can't wait to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Looked for comfortable, found FABULOUS!!! Immaculately clean, conveniently located and lovingly cared for, the Clay Corner Inn is a great getaway. The owners and innkeepers, Rick and Nicky, made us totally at home. They even called us in advance to let us know alternate routes as roads were blocked due to holiday celebrations on Main Street. Breakfast was amazing with many homemade goodies--all healthful and delicous (*****). They gave us great information about local attractions and restaurants. Wish we had more time to enjoy the area and the special treats the Inn has to offer. Pet friendly in certain rooms--we travel with our dog (he was also very happy at the Inn and the nearby trail and park).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJS3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are so happy that you found everything to your liking. What a way to start your stay with the local town festivities, but that's Blacksburg for you, there is always something going on so a great place to come and visit! Hope to see you here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is an excellent place to stay in the best tradition of B&Bs where you almost become part of the family. This was a business trip so I cannot comment on the price of the rooms which I do not know. It is located next to the Virginia Tech Campus. The room has no microwave, coffee machine etc. but you are allowed to use the kitchen facilities of the house in which you are staying so there is no problem with that (there are several separate houses with 4 rooms in each I believe). I wish I could stay there if I'm back in the area.

I highly recommend staying in the Clay Corner Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you for your review and letting us know that we could cater for your Business Trip and were able to make you feel comfortable and ready for work. It was a pleasure having you in our home and we definitely look forward to seeing you here again on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 10 in Blacksburg
248 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
723 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
1 mi away
Residence Inn Blacksburg-University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clay Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Corner Inn

Address: 401 Clay St SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060-4708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blacksburg
Price Range: £127 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clay Corner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Blacksburgs only Boutique Hotel focused on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting for Business & Pleasure trips.Our prices include: Gourmet hot breakfast & homemade cold buffet, complementary business center and wifi throughout the B&B, swimming pool from April to October, kitchen for guests to cook lunches & dinners, free parking as well as being pet friendly. One block to Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg. Comforts of home, amenities of a fine hotel, friendliness of a small inn. A home away from home feel throughout. Owners live on premises who will be there to look after you during your stay. Closest lodging to Virginia Tech stadium, dorms, Coliseum, athletic fields. The only locally owned and operated small business lodging property in town! Simply -- the best lodging in Blacksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clay Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Corner Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing