We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, welcoming B&B”
Review of Clay Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clay Corner Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Blacksburg B&B and Inns
Alexandria, VA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, welcoming B&B”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the B&B on the way from DC to Nashville, TN and it was a wonderful stop along the way. It is a spacious, comfortable B&B. The owners were very welcoming and accommodating. We needed to be on the road early in the morning so they prepared our breakfast the night before. The breakfast was very tasty. There are nice products in the bathrooms and robes in the bedroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Hi Amy, thank you for you kind review and we are pleased to be able to create the comforting pause in your journey. It was a pleasure having you here and hope to see you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
63
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mendham, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This was our second stay at the B&B, and as expected, everything was wonderful. The owners are very accommodating and welcoming and really made an effort to make sure we felt welcome. We were visiting our son, and they offered to have him join us for breakfast. The breakfasts were delicious. Another plus is that there are several common areas, including a lovely deck, to enjoy which is especially nice if you are visiting someone in Blacksburg, as they can come relax with you at the inn. We have stayed at several hotels and B&B's in the Blacksburg area and this is clearly the best place to stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Hi and thank you so much for your kind words, saying that we are the "best place to stay after staying at other places in Blacksburg" really makes us Proud! We really look forward to hosting your family's wedding in October and make it the special occasion you all deserve! Nicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hosts were welcoming and the rooms, decor (inside and out) and space are wonderful! We needed an early breakfast in order to get going on an early morning hike, and they accommodated us by putting everything in our refrigerator the night before. The room was very comfortable with lots of extra touches like games, books, magazines, radio and T.V. with DVD player. The grounds are beautiful, restful and I only wish I would have stayed another day in order to take advantage of the in-ground swimming pool. But the BEST part was the bed sheets! Softest sheets I've ever slept on! So I ordered a set and they are shipping them to my home. I hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Beth, it was a pleasure having you in our Inn and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would also like to thank you for this wonderful review you left on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate everything you wrote and hope to see you soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a very friendly B&B with great breakfasts and very good location when visiting Virginia Tech. The landlady was also very helpful calling taxi companies on a holiday morning, when the ordered airport transport did not show up.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Katrien, pleased to see you made your flight... it was close :-) Thank you for staying with and being so kind as to write this review. We hope you are enjoying life in Chile and look forward to seeing you again here during your next stay in Blacksburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

If you are going to be spending a night or more in Blacksburg this is the place to stay. The owners are extremely accommodating and friendly. The grounds are very nice and the rooms are beautiful. We only got to spend one night here because for graduation they are book up to years in advance.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRDamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for others to read about our Inn. We really appreciate it and hope that on your next trip through Blacksburg you'll be able to spend some more time with us :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have stayed at this B&B 3 weekends now and will continue doing so when we are in the area. The location is 2 blocks from our daughters dorm at VaTech, which is so convenient as she just walks over to great us and is able to have breakfast with us at the inn when we have let the owners know ahead of time. We have had 6 different breakfasts since our first stay and each is just wonderful. They always ask if someone has any special dietary concerns and are quite accomodating as needed. They have single rooms for a couple, but are able to bring in an inflatable twin bed if you have one child with you and they have two room suites, which are very comfortable when your kids are with you. Which ever we have chosen we have been very happy with. There is even a kitchen for the guests to use for either cooking, reheating or just storing leftovers in the refrigerator. The bathrooms are a little quirky and one in particular was quite small, but the service, the food, the comfortable beds and the little extras make up for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamallama09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for using our motto "Home Away from Home" because that's exactly how we'd love our guests to feel about our home. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us that you mention you'll keep coming back, awesome! I have some good news for you.... we have added Roll-A-Way beds with mattresses instead of the inflatable beds, much more comfortable. Can't wait to see you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Not only very warm and friendly, but also very clean, quiet, and well organized. Located only a very short walk from granddaughter's dorm on Virginia Tech campus. Very fast internet connection. We stayed in the Hokie room, which was very clean and cozy, and had access to downstairs living room and kitchen. Parking space was just outside our door.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 666gary666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
I did it, I figured out who you are and remember your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay because we enjoyed having you here. Thank you for your awesome review, guests like yourselves Rock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 10 in Blacksburg
220 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
676 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clay Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Corner Inn

Property: Clay Corner Inn
Address: 401 Clay St SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060-4708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clay Corner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Blacksburgs only Boutique Hotel focused on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting for Business & Pleasure trips.Our prices include: Gourmet hot breakfast & homemade cold buffet, complementary business center and wifi throughout the B&B, swimming pool from April to October, kitchen for guests to cook lunches & dinners, free parking as well as being pet friendly. One block to Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg. Comforts of home, amenities of a fine hotel, friendliness of a small inn. A home away from home feel throughout. Owners live on premises who will be there to look after you during your stay. Closest lodging to Virginia Tech stadium, dorms, Coliseum, athletic fields. The only locally owned and operated small business lodging property in town! Simply -- the best lodging in Blacksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clay Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Corner Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing