We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay,Love the Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clay Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clay Corner Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Blacksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas Park, Virginia
1 review
“Best Place to Stay,Love the Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. When coming to Blacksburg, we have always stayed in a hotel or rented a house. Everything at Clay Corner is wonderful. On arrival you are welcomed by the owners and given info for your stay and where to find places in the area. Breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed our meal outside and found it very relaxing. We came down for orientation so it was great not to be rushed and stressed before the long day. The Inn is very clean and welcoming. My husband and I relaxed by the pool at the end of the day. The gardens are beautiful. Truly home away from home. Will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: We traveled for college orientation, so I chose a room our child could stay in with us for just the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Cheryl, it was a delight to have you and your family with us and we are pleased to learn that we helped lessen the stress from orientation. Our aim is to make you feel that you are in your "Home Away from Home" so thank you for feeling this. We can't wait to see you again when you come back for your Hokie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
62
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Clay Corner consistently wins Trip Advisors highest awards but it's time for an award that recognizes the highest levels of true southern hospitality, all of which you will find in this amazing inn. Spotless, well managed, attention to detail and the needs of their guests, amazing food, relaxing grounds and pool, employees and owners who welcome you in and respect your privacy (all at the same time) and an atmosphere of genuine Virginian hospitality! We count down the days until our visits and our hearts break when we have to leave. After visiting numerous times for both football and move -in days, we finally got a chance for a summer weekend where we enjoyed some Flat Footin' in Floyd and an amazing hike to the Cascades. Nicky and Rick, along with their friendly and endearing staff, continue to take every step possible to provide their guests with a home away from home in the New River Valley! We can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needagetaway63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
And who says money can't get what you want... how much did we pay you again for this amazing review? No seriously, YOU guys are the ones that make this Inn what it is. Every time you book with us we can't wait for the date to come around to greet you at our door again. Thank you for being loyal to us and being the great people you are! See you in the fall for a Hokie game :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the B&B on the way from DC to Nashville, TN and it was a wonderful stop along the way. It is a spacious, comfortable B&B. The owners were very welcoming and accommodating. We needed to be on the road early in the morning so they prepared our breakfast the night before. The breakfast was very tasty. There are nice products in the bathrooms and robes in the bedroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Hi Amy, thank you for you kind review and we are pleased to be able to create the comforting pause in your journey. It was a pleasure having you here and hope to see you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendham, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

This was our second stay at the B&B, and as expected, everything was wonderful. The owners are very accommodating and welcoming and really made an effort to make sure we felt welcome. We were visiting our son, and they offered to have him join us for breakfast. The breakfasts were delicious. Another plus is that there are several common areas, including a lovely deck, to enjoy which is especially nice if you are visiting someone in Blacksburg, as they can come relax with you at the inn. We have stayed at several hotels and B&B's in the Blacksburg area and this is clearly the best place to stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Hi and thank you so much for your kind words, saying that we are the "best place to stay after staying at other places in Blacksburg" really makes us Proud! We really look forward to hosting your family's wedding in October and make it the special occasion you all deserve! Nicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hosts were welcoming and the rooms, decor (inside and out) and space are wonderful! We needed an early breakfast in order to get going on an early morning hike, and they accommodated us by putting everything in our refrigerator the night before. The room was very comfortable with lots of extra touches like games, books, magazines, radio and T.V. with DVD player. The grounds are beautiful, restful and I only wish I would have stayed another day in order to take advantage of the in-ground swimming pool. But the BEST part was the bed sheets! Softest sheets I've ever slept on! So I ordered a set and they are shipping them to my home. I hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Beth, it was a pleasure having you in our Inn and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would also like to thank you for this wonderful review you left on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate everything you wrote and hope to see you soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
403 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a very friendly B&B with great breakfasts and very good location when visiting Virginia Tech. The landlady was also very helpful calling taxi companies on a holiday morning, when the ordered airport transport did not show up.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Katrien, pleased to see you made your flight... it was close :-) Thank you for staying with and being so kind as to write this review. We hope you are enjoying life in Chile and look forward to seeing you again here during your next stay in Blacksburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

If you are going to be spending a night or more in Blacksburg this is the place to stay. The owners are extremely accommodating and friendly. The grounds are very nice and the rooms are beautiful. We only got to spend one night here because for graduation they are book up to years in advance.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRDamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayCornerInn, Owner at Clay Corner Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for others to read about our Inn. We really appreciate it and hope that on your next trip through Blacksburg you'll be able to spend some more time with us :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 9 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#3 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clay Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Corner Inn

Property: Clay Corner Inn
Address: 401 Clay Street SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clay Corner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Blacksburgs only Boutique Hotel focused on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting for Business & Pleasure trips.Our prices include: Gourmet hot breakfast & homemade cold buffet, complementary business center and wifi throughout the B&B, swimming pool from April to October, kitchen for guests to cook lunches & dinners, free parking as well as being pet friendly. One block to Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg. Comforts of home, amenities of a fine hotel, friendliness of a small inn. A home away from home feel throughout. Owners live on premises who will be there to look after you during your stay. Closest lodging to Virginia Tech stadium, dorms, Coliseum, athletic fields. The only locally owned and operated small business lodging property in town! Simply -- the best lodging in Blacksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clay Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Corner Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing