We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The PERFECT girls reunion weekend!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clay Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clay Corner Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Blacksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, GA
1 review
“The PERFECT girls reunion weekend!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

Eight of us (VT alumni) spent an amazing summer weekend in Blacksburg, enjoying a three night stay at the Clay Corner Inn. The setting was perfect for our group, with many common areas for us to convene, including the beautiful pool area. The location could not be beat - walking distance to everything! The accomodations were very comforable, breakfast was delicious, and every need was met. Joanne and her staff were wonderful hosts and we can't wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcwmarietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
62
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

The Clay Corner Inn is the ONLY place to stay in Blacksburg. You are a couple of blocks from campus and a couple of blocks from town. Although, it is a bed and breakfast, it is very private and you don't feel like you are staying in a stranger's home. The pool side deck is great to sit and have your morning coffee or a glass of wine with friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marsmom2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

Clean (very clean), tastefully decorated, large size rooms with every comfort. Add to this that the location is very conveniently located just of VT Campus , that they serve a good breakfast and that all of this is available at a very reasonable price. I recommend this place to anyone and we (my wife and myself) will be back every time we visit VT. Guaranteed !

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilbudriese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

As repeat guests at Clay Corner Inn, we were not surprised at how nice this inn is. We were already aware of the great location. The convenience of walking to the downtown area, as well as the VT campus really can't be beat.. We already knew how nice it is to sit by the pool in the evening. We had already experienced the enjoyment of talking with other guests while relaxing on the covered deck/patio. We had previously been treated to such wonderful breakfasts as stuffed french toast and pancakes with orange sauce. Still, we were not prepared for the blintzes. Combined with great coffee and fresh fruit, the cream cheese-stuffed blintz with an orange or raspberry sauce was a knock-out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darthdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

As VT alumni, we make frequent trips to blacksburg. We have stayed in several places, but will only stay at Clay Corner Inn from now on. Prices are reasonable, the staff is super friendly, the room was great, and the breakfast was delicious.

We got a pet-friendly room, and the staff helped us arrange for a sitter while we were out.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hokiesvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Clay Corner Inn is on a quiet street 1 block from the Blacksburg PD and 3 blocks from Main St. You can walk downtown or to campus easily.

Common areas inside the house are small. There is a covered patio and pool in back. Wi-Fi reaches to the patio easily; I do not know whether it reaches the pool.

The American room is larger than most B&B rooms I've been in, The en suite bath is large bathroom, has a long lavatory countertop with 2 sinks. The stall shower is very small stall.

A plated breakfast is served, along with fresh fruit salad, granola, and muffins or similar bread. I'd characterize the food as good but not special, and the portions below average.

Price is relatively high for the quality unless you place a high premium on being close to campus.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RegCheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

This was our second stay at the Clay Corner Inn, both while visiting Virginia Tech. Joanne and Mary are both welcoming and do everything they can to make your stay pleasant while not being intrusive. The inn is adjacent to campus and to park and walk everywhere is wonderful. The porches and pool are so relaxing after a busy day and the rooms, while not large, are very comfortable. The inn is our first choice when we go back to Blacksburg.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runnermom2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 9 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#3 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clay Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Corner Inn

Property: Clay Corner Inn
Address: 401 Clay Street SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clay Corner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Blacksburgs only Boutique Hotel focused on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting for Business & Pleasure trips.Our prices include: Gourmet hot breakfast & homemade cold buffet, complementary business center and wifi throughout the B&B, swimming pool from April to October, kitchen for guests to cook lunches & dinners, free parking as well as being pet friendly. One block to Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg. Comforts of home, amenities of a fine hotel, friendliness of a small inn. A home away from home feel throughout. Owners live on premises who will be there to look after you during your stay. Closest lodging to Virginia Tech stadium, dorms, Coliseum, athletic fields. The only locally owned and operated small business lodging property in town! Simply -- the best lodging in Blacksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clay Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Corner Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing