We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant gem near everything!”
Review of Clay Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clay Corner Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Blacksburg B&B and Inns
Highland, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Elegant gem near everything!”
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Location great -- both town and campus within two blocks. Breakfast superb, both food and setting. Very comfortable upscale place without being stuffy. And thank GOD no floral wallpaper! Nice spots to sit outside and a BEAUTIFUL pool! Owner JoAnne was super-helpful -- easy to talk to and once she understood our interests, connected us with people and places that greatly enhanced the visit. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
63
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Clay Corner Inn is the only place we stay when we visit Blacksburg and Virginia Tech! Each room has its own special, themed decor; the breakfasts are homemade and delicious; and Joann and her team are very welcoming and pleasant. We look forward to returning to Clay Corner Inn even after our 2 Hokies graduate!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annesellshomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed there during the weekend of an open house for one of the graduate schools at VT. This is a very nice B&B with a proximity to VT that can't be beat; so good, in fact, that we walked to the open house and back. A few weeks prior to our stay, the innkeeper had called us and let us know that a repeat customer had wanted to stay in the room we reserved and would we mind switching to another room, an upgrade at no extra cost. How could we say no! Best of all, the B&B is extremely pet friendly. We were able to bring our two dogs with us and save on boarding costs. Joanne, the innkeeper, even arranged for dogsitting while we attended the open house! Breakfast was nice, Joanne was super friendly, the room was clean and very comfortable. The only cons I would have (and these are kind of nit-picky) is 1) I thought the cost was just a tad high for an off-season room (not football, back-to-school, or graduation season); and 2) make sure you get briefed on how the TV works. It has a funky way of functioning which can be frustrating at 9 pm and make you feel kind of silly when calling the innkeeper for advice! Other than that, the CCI is HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wikismart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Room is clean and attractive. Wish that the weather had allowed me to use the beautiful pool. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was accomodating and helpful.
Since pets are allowed, ask staff about which room to reserve. I have dog allergies, but was directed to a room that did not cause any allergic reactions.

Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank jyork0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King George, VA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Very friendly staff. Homey and comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, Va
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Clay Corner is a beautiful and cozy way for Hokies and Non- Hokies to enjoy Blacksburg! The hospitality is great and so is the food! I wish I could stay there every time I visit Blacksburg! (It sells out quickly)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vteacher0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Clay Corner Inn is a nice inn made of of a couple of adjoining houses in the center of Blacksburg, on the edge of the Virginia Tech campus. My daughter is starting school there in the fall and Clay Corner will be my go to spot for lodging when we visit. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was so good that my daughter tried to recreate the stuffed french toast we had when we got home. The owner and staff were friendly and helpful. I'm going back to Blacksburg for Parents Weekend but couldn't get a res here; I'm dreading the alternatives in a college town!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerPhoenixville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 10 in Blacksburg
219 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
676 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clay Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Corner Inn

Property: Clay Corner Inn
Address: 401 Clay St SW, Blacksburg, VA 24060-4708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clay Corner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Blacksburgs only Boutique Hotel focused on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting for Business & Pleasure trips.Our prices include: Gourmet hot breakfast & homemade cold buffet, complementary business center and wifi throughout the B&B, swimming pool from April to October, kitchen for guests to cook lunches & dinners, free parking as well as being pet friendly. One block to Virginia Tech and downtown Blacksburg. Comforts of home, amenities of a fine hotel, friendliness of a small inn. A home away from home feel throughout. Owners live on premises who will be there to look after you during your stay. Closest lodging to Virginia Tech stadium, dorms, Coliseum, athletic fields. The only locally owned and operated small business lodging property in town! Simply -- the best lodging in Blacksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clay Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Corner Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing