We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Virginia Tech - College Drop Off”
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Main Street Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We love staying here when we come to visit, drop off or pick up our son. Great location. Rooms are clean, beds are very comfortable and the staff is friendly and professional. Highly recommend. Conveniently located on main street. Easy walk to shops, restaurant and campus. No driving needed once you arrive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SouthBeach2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Thank you for choosing Main Street Inn. The key word is LOCATION and ours is great. Once you park your car, you may never need it again. Located in the heat of the historic, cultural arts district, dining, shopping, theater and Virginia Tech is all but a stroll away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed there three times so far and will be staying a fourth by the end of the month. The rooms are extremely clean and bright. The room layout is great. The staff has always been friendly and accommodating. The location to campus and downtown just make staying at the Main Street Inn an all around pleasurable experience.

Anton Tinnesz Marshall, VA

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

THANK YOU...THANK YOU...THANK YOU. You said it all. We love our repeat guests. Being a small hotel, we love getting to know our repeat guests. You become family. Just to let you know, we are working on a loyalty program. We will keep you posted when it gets in place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We always stay here when we visit, drop off, or pick up our daughter at VT. Main Street Inn is located within walking distance to everything, so once we park the car, we don't need it again until it's time to leave. The parking is convenient and feels like a safe/secure place to leave our car. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, the staff is friendly, and there's always snacks and coffee available in the main lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank eschnebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed Main Street Inn, it's great staff, and excellent location. It's nice to be able to park your car and walk everywhere. Parking in Downtown Blacksburg is very limited and can get expensive, so the option of a short stroll to dining, shopping, theater and Virginia Tech is a nice benefit we can offer our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We always try staying here when visiting our son at VT. The Inn is located within walking distance to everything, so once we park the car, we don't need it again until it's time to leave. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, the staff is friendly and there's always snacks and coffee available in the main lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BBTandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldhokie, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Yes, we're all about the snacks. You will aways find biscottis, fresh apples, trail bars, and werther's originals in our lobby. Let's not forget the fresh baked cookies and homemade muffins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My fiancé and I both graduated from Virginia Tech and enjoy visiting occasionally during the year. The Main Street Inn has become the perfect place for a couples getaway! It is convenient to all downtown locations and has very stylish and spacious rooms. The staff is always friendly when we visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Main Street Inn is the only place my wife and I stay when we visit our alma mater. The inn is located downtown so it's very convenient to walk to all of our favorite places. The suite style rooms are well kept and clean. The staff is always friendly and they have snacks, coffee and tea in the lobby. I would recommend the Main Street Inn to everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDBrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

First time staying here while in town for a girls weekend. Such a friendly experience! The staff was so gracious and genuine no matter how many times we went through the lobby The room itself was precious, had a separate sitting room to sit and have coffee without being confined to the bed. Also really enjoyed the space outside of the bathroom to get ready. Loved the cupboard space and hidden microwave- felt less like a hotel room and more like a studio. We were there on the weekend so no construction was going on. Only reason I couldn't give 5 stars is upon check in I found leftover food in the fridge which I simply threw away but the rest of the stay was perfect

Room Tip: Even room # are the ones furthest away from temporary construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
225 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Blacksburg-University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 205 S Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060-4823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range: £89 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Main Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Blacksburg, Main Street Inn is within walking distance to Virginia Tech and all sports facilities. Guests can enjoy dining, music, theater and shopping ... all a short stroll away. Amenities include free WiFi Internet, plasma TVs (2 per suite), refrigerator, microwave and coffee service. When visiting for business or pleasure, the main place to stay is Main Street Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Blacksburg
Main Street Inn Blacksburg, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing