We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic First Meal in Blacksburg”

Sal's Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Food fit for a king, with an atmosphere and service to match!Our continuing legacy of family restaurants. Located in the beautiful First and Main shopping center. With exceptional food and superior service we welcome the opportunity to serve you.Our menu is no exception either. We offer the same traditional favorites that you have come to love. Our pizzas, calzones, and subs are a staple here in Blacksburg where you will also find newly added specials of fresh seafood, Mussels Luciano, and hand made raviolis. Our in-house chef can also accommodate even the pickiest eaters. We have something for everyone! Sal’s in Blacksburg is kid-friendly and our menu is loaded with kid’s favorites. We also offer our no-hassle catering service and a huge take-out menu. When it comes to dining Italian style we have it covered. Nothing compares to a Sal’s experience and we look forward to creating a special experience just for you!!
1 review
“Fantastic First Meal in Blacksburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Visiting Blacksburg as a college team. Came in the night before and Sal's had us set up outside on the patio, with food prepped and ready to go. Food was delicious and service was first class. Couldn't have made a better first impression. So good that we are having second meal following game from Sal's and sharing with friends and family. Highly recommend Sal's when visiting Blacksburg.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLT_WSOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    92
    34
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
366 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My experience at Sals wasn't even with the restaurant itself but when I encountered the owner at an event. He was really unpleasant and it definitely set me up to not enjoy his restaurant.

The place itself is nice but the food isn't that great (especially with all of the great places in Bburg). Coming from the north, where Italian food is everything, this restaurant did not live up to any traditions or standards.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msmith703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“First Rate, From Start to Finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Sal's offers flexibility with a smile. Servers were quick to greet, accommodating and efficient. The menu is extensive and included a "build your own pasta dish". Guests have the option of selecting sauces, noodle types, meats, and vegetables. The kitchen even topped our selection with mozzarella and baked it per our request.

With reasonable prices and large portions, it's easy to see why Sal's receives such high praise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evolvingmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We met friends for dinner at Sal's the last night we were in Blacksburg with our two sons who both attend VT. Our friends were with their family so there were 8 of us. We had to wait for a table, but there was a small bar in the back where we waited. The bartender was very friendly and knew how to mix a drink. The owner/manager kept checking on us and letting us know how much longer it would be before our table was ready. Once it was ready, he showed us to the table and apologized for the wait (which really wasn't very long - no apologies necessary). The food was very, very good, and this is coming from someone who lives in NJ where good Italian restaurants are prevalent. The bread was awesome - crusty on the outside and soft and delicious on the inside. Everyone had something different but everyone remarked at how good the food was. The only downside - it was hard to choose because the menu was so extensive. All in all it was a very good dining experience. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LC_from_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great location, great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I wanted a family restaurant to eat at for my daughters birthday. We have been to sals many times and thought that this was the perfect place to spend it, and it was. When we walked in, the hostess noticed the cake I was carrying and immediately helped me and told me she would place it in the fridge until it was time. After indulging in their house made bread (which our waitress made sure we had enough of) we had a range of pasta dishes. My daughter and I both had seafood dishes which were to die for. The service is always great here and you feel right at home. After our meal our waitress and a group of the staff came by and sang happy birthday for us. Our server was named Jillian and she was a delight. Stop by here if you're ever passing by. Will be back soon for another meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wlchflp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sal's Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing