We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drinks and more”

Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store
Ranked #3 of 126 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Cellar Restaurant and 6-Pak Beer Store is located in downtown Blacksburg Virginia directly across from Va Tech campus. We have been serving Greek and American food since 1963. Our signature dishes include homemade Meat Lasagne, Greek spaghetti, Moussaka, Tiropita, Spanakopita with tzatziki sauce, Pasta Aegean with shrimp, Spinach salad and Greek Salads, Mushroom and Shrimp Raviolis, 6144 different Calzone combinations and The Best Pizza south of Chicago. We also have an expanded Beer shop with over 300 different beers from all over the world.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Drinks and more”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I have been to Cellar Restaurant twice in my most recent visits to VT, and both times it was very good.

There is a massive beer selection and the bartenders are great with asking what types of beer you actually like, instead of just offering something they like.

The food selection is great, from sandwiches, to pizza, and entrees. I had the french dip and a steak and cheese on my visits, both were good. Definitely trying the pizza next time!

Looking forward to going back again in January.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    91
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville NC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great college town choice”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I went here with our granddaughter who is at Virginia Tech. The Cellar is called Greek but it has a wide variety of dishes on the menu. We had a starter of toasted pita wedges and tsatsiki (sic ?), a cucumber and sour cream dip, They had the same pita wedges with a spinach dip that looked very good. I enjoyed a so-called "Greek" linguini which was linguini with a dozen or so large shrimp and done with a very tasty and spicy olive oil. Very good and could not finish it. Prices are reasonable, choice of draft beer or wine was good, food is not spectacular but the college town atmosphere makes up for it. Could be a bit noisy but college boys out on Friday night come with the territory.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshevilleNCTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Mixture of Food Types, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Laid back restaurant in the heart of Blacksburg downtown. Some days they have music playing and the basement has a better bar scene. Great outdoor seating and indoor seating for many people. Casual dining but they take a while to bring the food out even when they aren't busy. They have a lot of variety on their menu and it's never hard to find something you like, pizzas here are especially good. Portions are generous. Will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AvidTravler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“College atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a pizza dinner at this place. Food was very good, service adequate. A bit confusing walking in and not seeing a host/hostess to guide us to an open table. We sort of asked at the bar and they indicated that it was very casual "seat yourself" policy. Overall, a good experience though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephens City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A mixed venue....beer, music or food?”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Some of the food is awesome, some is so-so. Hard to pick the best items....but old favorites are very good. Music (including an open mic) makes the food and huge beer selection taste much better. A great place for lunch or light bites....have never eaten downstairs, just always outside or in the bar. Wish they would bring back mussels.
If you are looking for a beer you've never had...this is the place to find it and drink it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank taterhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store also viewed

 

Been to Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing