We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old favorite”

Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store
Ranked #3 of 126 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Cellar Restaurant and 6-Pak Beer Store is located in downtown Blacksburg Virginia directly across from Va Tech campus. We have been serving Greek and American food since 1963. Our signature dishes include homemade Meat Lasagne, Greek spaghetti, Moussaka, Tiropita, Spanakopita with tzatziki sauce, Pasta Aegean with shrimp, Spinach salad and Greek Salads, Mushroom and Shrimp Raviolis, 6144 different Calzone combinations and The Best Pizza south of Chicago. We also have an expanded Beer shop with over 300 different beers from all over the world.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Old favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Back in the day this was a favorite spot for food and entertainment. Last night my wife and I stopped in for dinner and had a pretty good meal for a great price. We sat at the bar as the place was crowded with all ages from babies to a pretty old couple. Forgot what a good place this was.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank curtreich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    88
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Pizza Spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Cellar Restaurant is a great place to stop in for a pizza or a variety of other dishes. The restaurant is casual, offering 3 types of seating. There is patio seating out front along the road; there is indoor seating of casual tables; there is basement seating which is where most diners order beer. We did not check out the basement, but the patio and indoor dining were perfectly comfortable.

We ordered fries and pizza. The pizza was a different variety than we had tried before, and we enjoyed it. The crust was quite tasty and of a thin, slightly chewy texture.

The service was a bit slow. Honestly, we could have made pizza at home in the time it took to be served, but we were not at all in a hurry and did not mind. I do not know whether we were experiencing typical service speeds or not. The service was, however, perfectly friendly.

The Cellar is right next to Virginia Tech's campus, so it is an easy walk from the school. If you want a local place to drop in for lunch or dinner, it is an easy place to stop.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radford, Virginia
Level Contributor
340 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Delightful surprise! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I heard about this restaurant from some of the students who frequent it and was told it was a great place to eat. There are two sections: the lower is in the basement and serves mainly drinks and then the upstairs serves food and drink. Our waitress Judy was welcoming and did a great job. We tried the onion soup (very good) salmon cakes and Philly cheese steak sandwiches. Both were very ample portions and we ended up only eating half of the food because they were so big! Everything tasted delicious. They have another feature where for $2 the beers that are almost expiring are put in a big ice bucket and the bar man chooses whatever his hand touches and that is your mystery choice. I got a citrus beer that was rather delightful! Prices are reasonable, food is very good and portions plentiful. Service very good. Get there early as once the crowds get there it gets very busy! Everything made fresh so wait was a bit long but worth it.
I want to go back again and try the pizza and the calzones.
A delightful gem!

Helpful?
Thank MartinR4961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesapeake
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lunch Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great College Lunch Break. Stopped in for lunch and loved the atmosphere and had a great lunch. Fast service and good food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klooster5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food & wonderful old-style college atmosphere in the basement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Cellar has top notch personal pizzas, delicious, authentic Philly steak & cheese subs and a slew of great beers!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaColor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store also viewed

 

Been to Cellar Restaurant & 6-Pak Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing