We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise, but.....”
Review of 622 North

622 North
Reserve with OpenTable
622 North is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 127 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Willis, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise, but.....”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This restaurant was recommended by friends and by the many reviews on line, some positive some negative, So I thought I might try it out and experience it for myself.
We were told that no reservations were required, even though it was a Friday, we arrived early and the place was almost empty, however it did get a bit crowed as the evening progressed. I told the server that we were celebrating our anniversary and asked for suggestions both on the menu and wine list, she immediately obliged as did the wine manager who suggested a very nice bottle of Cava for our dinner. We ordered appetizers and we ran into the first problem, before we were finish the appetizers, we were served our main course, so we had four plates on our table, my wife and I looked at each other in disbelief, so we began enjoying our main course which was very good by the way. After dinner was over, we were presented with a complimentary piece of lemon cake (delicious) in honor of our anniversary, we were very thankful and before we could order coffee, the waitress brought our check. One would think that the place was full and they needed the tables but no, it was only half full. Needless to say it was a very disappointing end to a fine, although hurried dinner. We will return however, these are small mistakes that can be gradually and carefully corrected, if management is aware of these problems.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rotowillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    58
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Really the best "nice" restaurant in Blacksburg. We have had dinner at 622 five or six times. The food has always been excellent. The wine and beer list is extensive and well priced if you compare it to big city restaurants. Unfortunately to leave 622 after your eat you have to walk through the very smokey bar. Not the smartest design.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigBUCKETList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for a glass of wine, little else”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Place has a realy uppity attitude. The late 40's hostess has a Big attitude, and the prices are up there for the food quality. Excellent selection of wines by the glass.

With limited upscale bars in Blacksburg, this place should probably make it, but don't expect the service and prices to get you what they would in any slightly larger town.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank BillVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good for a college town”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Food was good but seemed a little over priced. Had a crab stuffed mushroom ap. Two small mushrooms for $4. Also had a cheese selection for $10. This was a much better deal. There were three different chesses, dried fruit, walnuts, grapes and bread. It was a plate full and very good. She had a pasta with pancetta alfredo sauce. It was good but the ham was a little fatty. I had couscous stuff trout with pesto sauce and grilled asperagus. The trout was over done and there was very little couscous. There was not a single bone. The grilled asperagus was very good. We ordered a house special chianti. It was so-so. This may be the best attempt at fine dining that Blacksburg has to offer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Runnerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach VA
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The 411 on 622”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

What a great restaurant in Blacksburg. Very unique place with several different levels and rooms. We ate in the wine bar room which had a delightful ambiance although no less than the piano room. The Waite staff was very friendly and attentive and even on a very busy night, we were never lacking for attention. The food was delicious and well prepared and served in an attractive manner. The biggest downside to 622 is the sports bar area where we went to wait for our table. Even being from Virginia, we found it unbelievable that they let people smoke inside in th bar area. The cigarette smoke was thick and we was annoying enough that we went back to the lobby. In spite of the fact that I enjoy an occasional cigar, smoking inside is disgusting. Our bill for 4 with several cocktails and appetizer was a little over $150 which we found reasonable for the quality. As soon as 622 discontinues inside smoking, it will be perfect.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vbdenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 622 North also viewed

 

Been to 622 North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing