We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Visit-Must Do!”

Smithfield Plantation
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
“An Amazing Visit-Must Do!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We and our 3 children (ages 13, 8, and 7 visited while vacationing in the area. Could not have been more pleased with the visit. The staff is extremely friendly. The head interpreter, April Danner, is an amazing tour guide! She has grown up in the Blacksburg area, and as an Historian by education, she pours her heart and soul into the Smithfield Plantation. She seems to be willing to spend as much time as required to answer any and all questions. She is great with the kids; quizzing them on various objects throughout the house and answering all their questions. We visited on a Friday and were the only people in her group. Not sure what the weekend tours would be like. Try to visit during the weekdays for an incredible one-on-one experience!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank G00chfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    21
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Washington, KY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smithfield Plantation is a Treasure!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

After attending Civil War Weekend at Virginia Tech, my friend and I were happy to learn that Smithfield Plantation was open for the season. We visited on a cold, snowy day but the welcome was warm! April Danner, our interpreter, is wonderful. She is very knowledgeable and took lots of time to answer our questions. She told us lots of interesting stories and made us want to learn more about the Preston family. I will certainly return to Smithfield when I return to Blacksburg!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DixieMKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick Tour of Historical Site”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Smithfield Plantation has plenty of history to satisfy anyone with about an hour to spare while in the area. It was the home of several Virginia governors. The home itself has been lovingly and tastefully restored. In the summer, the gardens are beautiful and there are plants growing in the back that used to be part of the plantation when it functioned as such. The docents know their stuff and give a good tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice historical site on Va Tech campus”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The old home is located within Va Tech's grounds. It is beautiful. They offer guided tours of the home or you can do a self tour. Lots of history, four Virginia governors lived in the house. The grounds are really scenic (not cluttered with businesses or homes. Looking out on the fields remind us of what it must have looked like 200 years ago.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth more than one trip”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Smithfield Plantation is truly a remarkable place with great history. It is hard to think that at that time this family had so many plantations and spread over such a wide area and that its members had so much influence on affairs in Va. It is well worth going out your way to to tour it. And if possible try to get a tour of the family cemetery that is in a corner of the property. Make sure to plan time for the museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank philyoung1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smithfield Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Smithfield Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing