We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay right on campus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Rooms are comfortable and layout is nice. It is nice to have a frig in the room. There is a constant "leaking" sound of water associated with the air conditioning that you have to listen to while you are sleeping. There doesn't appear to be a fan/vent in the bathroom making any sounds able to be heard outside the bathroom...makes you very uncomfortable.
The breakfast buffet is amazing. The buffet chef/omelet maker has the right personality that makes you want to enjoy an omelet and goes out of his way to provide you with whatever you need; however the wait staff was a bit pushy and anxious to clear our plates before we were finished.
The meeting facilities are exceptional and the wait staff for the lunch and refreshments are very friendly and accommodating.
The front desk staff as well as shuttle drivers and maintenance crew are exceptionally nice and there to help you with whatever you need.
I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with somewhat of a view and not the parking lot.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 777lsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear 777lsage:

It was great to read about your experience at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm glad our staff was so helpful. I'm sorry you had difficulties with noise from the air conditioning unit in your room. Our Room Attendant should have noted that for correction prior to your arrival.

Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and show you our Hokie Hospitality.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at the Inn during a visit to the college with my upcoming college age son. The location was perfect for our purposes. It was easy to get to. Right on campus (though to be honest, across the street were other hotels). The price was on the same lines as the other nearby hotels. The room and hotel was very clean, comfortable, and pleasant. Beds were comfortable, though pillows were a little soft for my taste. But there were plenty of them. There is a restaurant in the hotel, though I did not try the food. We ventured out. The Inn is right next to the Undergraduate Admissions office, so very convenient for college visits.

My check in was smooth and quick, as was check out.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VA_Brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear VA_Brad:

Thank you for sharing these comments with fellow travelers. We know they like to see what other guests have to say about our hotel.

We appreciate your business and your kind comments. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent the night while helping our recent grad move out of town.

The inn is attractive. Rooms are large and comfortable, but a little dated.

I was surprised by the room to room noise. Maybe they are trying for the 'dorm experience'. You could hear conversations and lots of plumbing noise.

Staff is helpful when engaged, but generally inattentive.

Overall, a nice place in a great location, but not a very good value

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Bob M:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm sorry our staff was not more attentive during your visit. We know how important it is to engage with our guests - and so many of our staff members are students, They can be very helpful when visitors need information about the University and the campus.

Congratulations on your student's graduation. I know that is an exciting time for any family.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope you will return one day to see the results of our improvement efforts.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My son and his finance recently got married in the chapel at Virginia Tech. Family and friends stayed at the Inn. Many of us were there for 3 days. My experience differed from those offered by other reviewers. My room was very nice, not in any way dated. It was large, inviting and very comfortable. The staff offered wonderful service, and went above and beyond in many cases. We also used the Inn for the reception, and it was beautiful. The dinner was delicious and the service was very good. All in all, I was extremely pleased with all aspects of my stay. Thank you for making the wedding weekend even more special.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the third floor,
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BMBF-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear BMBF-3:

Thank you for sharing the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciated the opportunity to host your son's wedding party. I know it was a special experience to have their ceremony on the campus.

If you are back in Blacksburg in the future, I hope we will have the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great customer service, nice lobby (with outdoor seating), meeting rooms and breakfast area. Rooms are pretty big. Right within the Viriginia Tech campus --- close to downtown, several restaurants and cafes in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelnow2011db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Travelnow2011db:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about a recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We were glad to see that you enjoyed your visit. If your travels bring you back to Blacksburg, we hope you will stay with us again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel could not be more convenient to the Virginia Tech campus. If you are staying here to visit the university or take a tour, I would highly recommend it if you can get a decent rate. However, I do not think that the actual hotel lives up to its price or star rating. The room was dated - the bedding was worn and the amenities haven't been replaced in ages. The bed was not even made up completely and mine had a top sheet that was used on top of the mattress that would slide off the bed. The room had two double beds, an old tv, and the carpets did not really seem clean. However, since I was only in the room to sleep and did not spend much time in the hotel, I felt like the price I paid was worth it as I received it on a discount site and you really can't beat the location. I would not pay full price for this hotel and I really think it deserves to be placed down a star category because of how worn it is.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spatlovesbama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Spatlovesbama:

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the condition of your room. I am pleased to tell you that we will be completing a renovation of our guestrooms later this year. We have already begun - last week, we replaced all the beds throughout the building and we have added refrigerators in each room. More changes are coming and we are excited to bring these improvements.

We appreciate your business and hope we will have the opportunity to accommodate you on a future visit.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here during VT orientation. The Inn is quite lovely & very quiet, with large rooms; the location is ideal if you're visiting VT, and the staff were polite and enthusiastic, but as some other reviewers have noted - the rooms are a bit dated. I also wish they'd put in Queen beds, as 2 adults sleeping in a double (we were traveling as a family and needed 2 sep beds) is not always comfortable, esp. with pillow-top mattresses which retain a lot of body heat. We did enjoy the breakfast buffet at Prestons -- real eggs, sausage, lovely fresh fruit, etc. But for $200/night, seems like b'fast could have been included in the rate. The small gym was quite adequate and the equipment worked just fine. Our room was not cleaned until very late in the day - after 4:30 - but that wasn't a big deal for us on our timetable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WishfulThinkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear WishfulThinkerz:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business.

We will be completing a renovation and update of our guestrooms this year, replacing all the soft goods and seating throughout. I am confident our guests will appreciate the upgrades we are bringing to the hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you on a future visit to Virginia Tech.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
688 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
1.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 10 in Blacksburg
223 reviews
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
#4 of 10 in Blacksburg
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061-0001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range: £94 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing