We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, clean, and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Blacksburg
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean, and comfortable”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My family and I recently stayed in the Courtyard during a trip to Virginia Tech to see a football game. They allowed a single night stay which was great (instead of the usual 2 night minimum required for football weekends). The hotel isn't right on campus but is very convenient to both Main Street and the 460 bypass which worked out perfectly for our trip. The manager and front desk staff were very welcoming. They let us use the hotel safe to keep our laptops in during the game even though it was before our official check-in time. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the hotel was very well kept up.

My only complaint about our stay was related to breakfast. The buffet breakfast isn't free and they even will do made to order eggs and omelets and on some days have other specials as well. However, my daughter has egg and peanut allergies and when I asked the two staff members at breakfast about ingredients, they had no idea what I was talking about. They spoke very little English and pointed me to the menu. When I tried to explain, they still didn't really seem to understand but told me that the items they serve don't have ingredients listed on the bags (I was particularly interested in the ingredients listed for the English muffins, bagels, and bread which I bet probably do have ingredients listed). Ultimately, this wasn't a deal breaker (unfortunately many places aren't ready to deal with true food allergies), but it is why I couldn't rate the hotel 5 stars.

We would stay here again but would skip the breakfast, especially since it isn't free.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEI2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, 29 June 2015
Dear KEI2001,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay! We appreciate your kind words about our front desk associates and the property's convenient location to Main Street and the 460 bypass. I apologize for the experience you had with the breakfast buffet concerning your daughter's allergies. Since your visit, we have renovated the lobby with the addition of the Courtyard Bistro for breakfast and evening dining service. I can assure you with the new Bistro operations, our staff have completed extensive training to ensure this issue does not come up again. We hope to see you again for your next trip to a Virginia Tech football game.

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    46
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
70
24
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a very nice Courtyard, and a great option in the Blacksburg area. I travel a lot for business and am spoiled by staying in some very high end hotels, so I apologize that I reserve 5-star ratings for top end, expensive hotels that really provide the highest level of service (Ritz Carlton, JW Marriott, Intercontinental, etc.). Of course, that level of service comes with a steep price. As a result, 4-stars is the highest that I will ever rate the family-friendly hotels that provide a more modest level of service (Hampton, Courtyard, Hilton Garden Inn, etc.). That said, this Courtyard deserves the full 4 stars for offering great quality for the price. The hotel is clean, appears to be well run, and has large, comfortable areas for friends and sports teams to hang out in the lobby, watching TV or enjoying a drink. Our room was clean and spacious and everything felt fairly new. Everyone we spoke to at the front desk was friendly and eager to provide advice about local dining options, etc. The staff really set a nice tone for the hotel, and that was reflected in the many guests (it was quite full that weekend with a local swim meet) enjoying the small bar and large TV areas. Extra thanks to Abby at the front desk for being so helpful and pleasant. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Rooms clean, internet worked well. Pool fine. Breakfast tasty, although not included in cost. Room charge was $135 plus tax, breakfast about $8. We stayed in Room 214: air conditioner quiet, mattress and pillows comfortable. Staff friendly and professional. Advice to management: wallpaper in hallways shows torn spots and should be repaired/replaced to maintain appearance. We would return if in area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHappyPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at this location while visiting Virginia Tech this past weekend. This Courtyard is just a few miles from the campus. The staff was very friendly and provided maps of the campus and also provided dining recommendations in the area. The cookies at the front desk were a welcome sight after our long drive. I'd definitely stay here again. Convenient and friendly!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandsnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goochland, Virginia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The overall property is clean and comfortable inside and out with fair rates with a friendly and most helpful staff. The hotel is yet the upgrade to the new bistro cafe concept. My qualm involves two personal observations. The first occurred when I returned to my room in the early afternoon, the day after check-in. The housekeeper's two children (a boy and a girl ages maybe 8 or 9) where with her going in and out of the rooms (3rd floor low numbers) she was cleaning. Now, I have personal belongings in my room to in include my laptop. I'm sure these kids had been in my room as well which is unacceptable. Obviously, the housekeeper had no childcare so she brings her kids to work with her. I doubt any guest would find unauthorized individuals, yet children roaming about their room. The next morning when I was checking out I saw coming to work with her two kids in tow. So, this was on-going. To the hotel management-this practice should not be tolerated and must be immediately discontinued. The second observation was similar. Another child, maybe age 10 or 11, again most likely the child of a hotel staffer, was on one of the hotel computers reserved for hotel guests for over two hours during the afternoon. Again, not acceptable. The hotel management must take immediate and appropriate action with their staff.



Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBlacksburg, General Manager at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Terry B,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback about your stay. We appreciate your kind remarks about our cleanliness and friendly staff. Management was aware of the associate's children being at the property as the family was dealing with the death of a loved one. We understand and agree this would be uncomfortable situation for a guest to encounter and the issue has been addressed. We look forward to your return to Blacksburg in the future.

With Hospitality,

Tom Norman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Staff was friendly but did not know anything about the area. Motel was clean but had a lot of permanent stains. Time to upgrade. For the price I really did expect more. Breakfast was good, but not worth price of $8.80 per person. Many motels that include breakfast in price of the room, have just as good or better food. Drinks had to be ordered from a waitress (who rolled her eyes when my husband asked for juice).
Best thing about this motel was the bed. The mattress was wonderful and I slept well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard Blacksburg, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Jo N,

Thank you for visiting our property and writing a review. We appreciate feedback so we can continue to offer a great product and service. In regards to breakfast, unfortunately, the Courtyard brand does not offer a free breakfast. We will be rennovating our lobby during the forth quarter this year, which will have Starbucks coffee and alternate breakfast offerings.

We hope you will stay with us again!

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel staff was extremely friendly, rooms were very nice and clean, location is perfect as well since it's right by the highway and just down the road from main street. Definitely my hotel of choice when staying in Blacksburg.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattmX5186GK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 9 in Blacksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Blacksburg

Property: Courtyard Blacksburg
Address: 105 Southpark Dr, Blacksburg, VA 24060-6664
Region: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Blacksburg Marriott
Blacksburg Courtyard
Courtyard Blacksburg Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing