We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply pasta”

The Villa Italian Bar & Grill
Ranked #9 of 23 Restaurants in Bluefield
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Marion, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply pasta”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Local restaurant with reasonable prices and right-sized portions. Hot garlic bread was delicious. Food tasted good and was served hot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BDS0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bluefield, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We come here a lot for their Pizza, salad, and calzones. The service is normally quick and friendly. the place may be small, but the food is definitely worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TShayJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, TX
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Villa - Best Restaurant in the Bluefield area”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

An Italian restaurant located near WalMart in Bluefield, Virginia. Consistent food quality, good pizza, nice selection of wine and on tap beers. This is the best restaurant in the area. What makes it good is consistent food and service, the service at all the other restaurants in the area stinks....they've never heard of customer service. This includes Applebees and Bob Evans, they are ridiculous...and lousy...so mismanaged.

The other top area restaurant is Texas Steakhouse in Princeton, puts Outback to shame on service and food quality. Chili's does pretty well also.

So to sum up, The Villa is the best restaurant in the area. By the way, the best pizza place in the area is Angelo's, good thin pizza, no atmosphere however. The Villa's pizza is good as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DailyCoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average Food but poor service”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I was in the Princeton, WV area for work and asked at the Hampton Inn about an italian restaurant. It was a Wed. evening and I was told that the best Italian restaurant in Princeton was closed but there was in Bluefield. I decided to drive over because I really wanted some Italian food. The restaurant was in a strip mall but was not hard to find. The decor was dated but it looked clean. The food was good. However, the service was poor. I realize that since I was by myself that the wait staff may think my tip wouldn't be very large. Typically I tip very, very well for good service.

My waitress, Amanda, took my order promptly. Then brought my salad and a little later my entree. I also ordered a glass of the house Chianti, which was good. After dropping off my entree, Amanda never came back to my table to ask how my food was or if I needed anything. I would have ordered another glass of wine had she bothered to ask. I also had to ask another employee to please get me my check since Amanda didn't seem to have time to stop by my table even though she must have walked by it at least a dozen times during the course of my meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dbpNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHARLOTTE
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A gem in a city with few good restaurants.”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We ate at this nice Italian restaurant twice and would have returned for New Year's eve had it (restaurant) not been closed. The service and the food were both good and the waiters took time to chat.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TARHEEL37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Villa Italian Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Villa Italian Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing