We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Incredible Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Boyce B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Being in the foodservice business for over 35 years, I have experienced a number of great locations to visit. L'Auberge Provençale is nothing less than one of my top 5 locations if not the top one. From the first moment you meet the staff to the sad goodbyes on your exit, you will be amazed by the customer service and the professional attention to detail. My wife and I decided to stay 2 nights. We had an incredible breakfast the first morning and followed that with one of the best culinary experiences for dinner that I have ever had. If you ever get a chance to experience perfection, please make this your first choice.

Room Tip: With only 14 rooms to choose from, you have a choice of either suites or regular rooms. Either choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastcoastchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thank you for your review! We invite you back to experience our new bar & lounge featuring herb-infused drinks from our garden, brasserie/bistro fare, over 100 whiskeys and liquors, and local cider and beers on tap!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014






We stayed at L'Auberge Provencal for a night from the 8th to the 9th of February and had a wonderful time. The inn itself is very cute, decorated in a charming country French style. We stayed in Suite 11 and thought it was beautiful - very well appointed and comfortable, with a working wood fireplace, which was a lovely amenity to take advantage of on a cold February weekend.

Although the inn itself was very charming, what made the weekend stand out for us was the exquisite meal we had at the inn's restaurant. We were completely blown away by chef Joseph Watters' culinary creativity and inventiveness. The food was exceptional - everything was exquisite. We loved that the patron was invited to "participate" in the meal not only by eating the food, but also by adding the finishing touches to certain dishes. Each dish was presented in an incredibly thoughtful or thought-provoking manner, and the kitchen's attention to detail was evident in the way each course was laid out. In between courses, the chef would send out an amuse bouche and other small plates, which made the meal feel very festive, and which gave us a chance to sample more of the chef's talent. The service was also excellent, and we loved the personalized menus.

We wholeheartedly recommend a stay at L'Auberge Provencal, and particularly recommend dinner at the inn's restaurant - it is not to be missed.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Blanca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thank you for your review! We invite you back to experience our new bar & lounge featuring herb-infused drinks from our garden, brasserie/bistro fare, over 100 whiskeys and liquors, and local cider and beers on tap!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This past weekend my wife treated me to an overnight at L'Auberge Provencale for my birthday. During our marriage we have had the privilege of dining at numerous high end restaurants. Our experience here eclipsed anything we had ever previously enjoyed in regards to the food and its presentation. The new chef, Joseph Watters, studied at Le Cordon Bleu. He seems to be the master of the imaginative coupled with classic cuisine. The person with the traditionalist palate may not appreciate his creativity. On the other hand, if you are open to nuanced flavors and subtle infusions you will delight in what he presents. The servers are very personable yet performance oriented as they present the chef's masterpieces. The quiet and romantic ambiance of the room also added to a most memorable birthday celebration.

Room Tip: We appreciated our fireplace on a February night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thank you for your review! We invite you back to experience our new bar & lounge featuring herb-infused drinks from our garden, brasserie/bistro fare, over 100 whiskeys and liquors, and local cider and beers on tap!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This post is to warn people about the drastic changes to the regular menu. For anyone (like myself) who has enjoyed this establishment for over 20 years, I feel that the menu has gown down hill significantly. Be warned that the website still posts the older menu and this was NOT available at the time of our meal. While the prices are the same $75.00 minimum for dinner for 3 course pre fixe cost per person (and alcohol is outrageously over priced), the menu has taken a turn for the worse. There is no longer an assortment of choices for any of the course selections, and the food was sub par as well. (there is not even a beef or chicken option?) They seem to be going in a "trendy" (lots of items either smoked or steamed at the table with dry ice), and the result while interesting / laughable was poor food in the long run. My wife and I almost walked out when the menu arrived due to such a strict departure from the old norm of the restaurant. If you are looking for something new, this may be a good choice - be sure to see the new menu before going. If you are HOPING for the old 5 star quality and experience you are used to receiving, you may want to reconsider. It pains me greatly to have to say this, because I regarded L'auberge Provençale as the BEST restaurant any where in the area, but I probably will not go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaep1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Owner at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

We have a new and talented young chef, Chef Joseph Watters, who is striving to transform a restaurant that has been in business for 30 years. We have changed the menu concept to a 3 or 4 course menu prifix as well as a 7 course chefs tasting menu. Along with 4 choices in each of the courses, we do send our some chef's suprise offerings, of 3 amuse bouche, an intermezzo, palate refresher, a pre-dessert and after dinner, a selection of petit fours, nestled in a basket of greens from our grounds (and yes the dry ice). We upload our menus everyday, so the old menu is not on our site. We will investigate if the old menu is on other websites we are on, because there is no reason for us to mislead any of our customers.
Things do change and we are sorry they were not to your liking. However, if you ever want to request a special dish, ie, chicken or beef, with notice, the chef will be more than happy to whip up a dish for you. Chef Joseph's goal is to please all of our customers, and hope you try again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I live in the DC area and have been going to L'Auberge for a number of years, about once or twice a year, for weekend get-aways. We always enjoy the service, the atmosphere, and the food, but this visit warrants a special mention, because L'Auberge has a new chef, and our dinner on Sunday evening was great. We had the four-course menu, each choosing different options, and there was not a "miss" among our courses. Celeste and Alain have picked a great new chef for their kitchen, and we are looking forward to our next excuse for a visit!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tmcd97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thank you for your review! We invite you back to experience our new bar & lounge featuring herb-infused drinks from our garden, brasserie/bistro fare, over 100 whiskeys and liquors, and local cider and beers on tap!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I am an avid consumer of reviews – especially when it comes to hotels and restaurants – and even though I always say I’m going to follow up and write one myself one day, I never have. That is, until I stayed at L’Auberge Provencale.
My wife and I were guests for our 10th wedding anniversary and the experience completely surpassed our expectations – from the staff and accommodation to the meal.
Yes, we loved the soft, silken sheets and Turkish towels. But the thing that completely blew us away was the meal prepared by the executive chef: Jospeh Watters, a David Copperfield of food. (We also took his cooking class the next day and highly recommend it.)
We opted to leave the dinner menu in his hands and the resulting 15-course tasting menu was nothing short of mind-blowing. To wit: the Portobello Percolation was created table side (the consommé percolated through herbs, infusing as we watched), as was the PB&C (mousse poached in liquid nitrogen to create a dessert as delicate and light as a meringue) and the mystical basket of petit fours (warm rose water poured onto a bed of moss, berries, fronds, and pine -- atop dry ice -- created a rose-scented mist and the illusion of a scene from Lord of the Rings).
Chef Joseph is inspired by Chef David Humm at Eleven Madison Park in NYC (currently ranked No. 5 in the world) and has ambitious plans to transform the kitchen and menu (he has only been there a few months). When he says he aspires to be the French Laundry of the East Coast, I have no doubt that that is what the restaurant will become under his direction. It’s just a matter of time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gfrank11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Owner at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

What a great time and gastronomic event was had when you visited La Table Provencale, our restaurant here at L'Auberge Provencale! Chef Joseph did pull out the stops, but isn't it fun when the chef has free reign to create an inspiring menu for a couple that really understands and appreciates the fine nuances of cuisine.
It was our pleasure to host you here at the inn, and for the cooking class as well. I am sure now you are the masters of macaroons, after working so hard on them at the class. Chef Joseph was delighted to show you some of his tricks.
The long term goal is to transform, what always has been a successful restaurant and inn, into, yes, a French Laundry of the East. A place where discerning diners can experience the best of our farm to table cuisine with service and ambiance to match.
We so appreciate your kind words of support for our vision.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

First let me say that this was our first visit and neither my wife nor I have any connection to the owners or staff at the inn. We had a wonderful stay at L’Auberge, staying two nights in Suite 11, eating dinner there the first night, and taking a cooking class the next day. Our suite was very comfortable despite the record cold (we enjoyed the whirlpool tub). Our dinner was spectacular, including the whimsical salad, lamb ragout, duck, tuna, and delicious desserts. We particularly enjoyed the amuse bouche – little bit-size treats in between the courses. Not only delicious but imaginatively presented, as was everything. Some comments on the staff: Christian, who was our waiter that evening, made us feel very welcome and was attentive without being obtrusive. Marie brought us our (fantastic) breakfasts each morning, and was a delight to interact with. Finally, the chef, Joseph, was wonderful. He came to our table that first night to make sure everything was to our liking (ditto for breakfast), and his cooking class was the highlight of our stay. We have the highest praise for everyone at the inn – it may sound strange but after just two days they felt like friends.

We also visited nearby Winchester (again, first time) and found it to be a very interesting little town. People reading a review often look for signs that it is truly objective; for example, whether it cites any downside to staying there. Well, L'Auberge is on the pricey side if you stay in a suite and eat dinner there, so it’s probably not for the budget-minded. We knew what it would cost before we got there, of course, and thought we got good value for what we paid. Since there were few rooms occupied during our stay (a freezing Monday and Tuesday), I can’t speak for whether others would get all the special attention we got. But in a word or two; highly recommended!

Room Tip: Check the website photo's to help decide on a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thank you for your review! We invite you back to experience our new bar & lounge featuring herb-infused drinks from our garden, brasserie/bistro fare, over 100 whiskeys and liquors, and local cider and beers on tap!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyce
8.8 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
18.9 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 8 in Middleburg
293 reviews
20 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Ashby Inn
The Ashby Inn
#1 of 1 in Paris
164 reviews
17.2 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
252 reviews
15 mi away
Hillbrook Inn
Hillbrook Inn
#1 of 6 in Charles Town
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast

Address: 13630 Lord Fairfax Hwy, Boyce, VA 22620-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Boyce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boyce
Price Range: £135 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a romantic Shenandoah bed and breakfast in beautiful White Post, VA. Our bed & breakfast, a Select Registry Property, in Virginia features luxurious rooms and suite with comfy beds, fluffy robes, flat screens and fireplaces. Don't miss out on a once in a lifetime dining experience at one of the best French restaurants in America. Executive Chef Joseph Watters at our Northern Virginia B&B creates culinary works of art utilizing the freshest local ingredients for an unforgettable romantic Virginia getaway. Enjoy too our Second Tier Wine Spectator awarded wine cellar with over 1,000 selections. Utilize our concierge service to tour the local vineyards, arboretums, art galleries and civil war museums in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Provencale Hotel Boyce
l`Auberge Provencale b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing