We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Boyce B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our visit to the country B & B. Our rooms were in the newer addition upstairs. The choice of decor is very charming and the bathrooms are fabulous. The steam showers are so wonderful. The bed and linens are superior. I asked the owner Celeste where I could buy the sheets ! They are extremely service minded and take very good care of all of your wishes. We could not have been more pleased. The chef prepared a fabulous dinner for us and the presentation is stunning.! Christian, is a wonderful host and we throughly enjoyed our other servers. Thank you for such a pleasant visit. Rick and Lynn B

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Owner at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words Rick and Lynn. We really enjoyed having you as our guests here in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley at L'Auberge Provencale. Our staff and ourselves try to ensure that all guest experiences are top notch from Chef Josephs cuisine to a friendly smile. Thanks for noticing all the little things. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    64
    36
    15
    10
See reviews for
21
367
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We loved our room (Suite Number 2). And we loved the hospitality. Celeste and her staff took very good care of us. We found big and little touches that make L'Auberge Provencale a true Select Registry property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbaytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 May 2016
Thank you for your review! We invite you back to experience our new bar & lounge featuring herb-infused drinks from our garden, brasserie/bistro fare, over 100 whiskeys and liquors, and local cider and beers on tap!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Beautiful South of France style decor. Excellent helpful service at every stage, by people who believe in the place where they work. An old section (historic) and new section. In new section, can be (steam, if you want) shower or in another room a bath (in which case ASK how to get the shower to work, not obvious).
Excellent and rather creative food: not cheap but not a bad price for this level of cuisine. But ONLY fixed menu (table d'hôte) so you may want to starve yourself earlier in the day if you are above 35 or so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which corresponds to your particular preferences (show, old part etc.) Go mid-week i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJS1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the Inn and we are so happy to hear that you recognized the level of commitment that each of our staff strives to have!
We pride ourselves in making sure each guest is happy and feels the personal attention. We do hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I've stayed at this hotel twice now as a very generous gift from a friend. The main building is historic, but that means that the floors creak, the staircases are warped, there is no A/C, the shower is tiny because the bathroom is a refit of a square room into an L-shaped tight fit, and the beds squeaked. The windows need to remain open in Spring, and that means the road noise is more than you'd expect in a country B&B. It was positively uncomfortable on a rainy, muggy night in March when it was too hot for the romantic fire we stoked and too wet and cold for the windows. The staff was welcoming and friendly both times, much like a family pension in Europe, but they don't go out of the way to be accommodating. When I commented that the room was uncomfortable in March and I wanted some form of A/C for my return in April, I was acknowledged, but it never happened. When I arrived, the windows were all open, but my request was honored as they saw fit. The staff could be a bit too close for a romantic get away.

The chef is a master. The pastries set out as complimentary around High Tea time are fantastic and are fine examples of the master work of a French patisserie chef. The nuts and dried fruits are also wonderful. I didn't like all the dinner offerings, and most are too French and fatty for your health. Indeed, I was a bit ill after I treated my salad-scrubbed body to duck foie gras and other fatty foods, but the art must be respected, for it is shockingly good for where it is offered. I'd stick with French sherbet between courses, but the whey-based lemon-lime palate refresher was delightful. The wine list is impressive, but may be spotty: when I went outside the norm and ordered off the beer page, they did not have my first choice in stock. The grounds are small; and there is nothing to do when it rains but head for your unconditioned room or sit chatting in the sitting room. Dinner is extremely expensive, but the three-course dinner is quite adequate, especially with not too much of the exquisite breads they bring around and the little extra courses they add.

All in all, if your objective is a wine country tour or a romantic get-away, I'd stay at the Aloft in Winchester and drive over for supper.

Room Tip: I stayed both times in the less expensive #5, which looks out onto the "private balcony" o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Room #5 is our smallest and therefor our least expensive room, however it is still a well appointed and beautiful room. We only have 2 rooms on the property that do not have dual heating and airconditioning units and room #5 is one of those rooms. Because it is located in the original portion of the Main House we are not able to install one of those units in that room. Hence the need to use a window unit. We normally install those window units in May, unless weather dictates that we do so earlier ( or later). Winter lingered this year, and we had snow into April here! And to date, we are still experiencing cool nights. At the conclusion of your first stay, we did reccomend another room to you that had one of the dual units installed and you declined. We are very sorry you felt uncomfortable in your room, and we strive to make sure that all of our guests are happy and satisfied with the accomodations. We certainly wish you would have taken our suggestion of another room, and hope that if you choose to visit us in the future you will take advantage of another room or suite.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our chef, we do feel like he was quite a find! He has expanded our menu with creative and imaginitive dishes.
We do hope you will choose to visit us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I recently spent one night there. What impressed me is the service they offer to guests. I cannot comments on food, because during the dinner, one person in my group felt ill, and we had to go back to our room early. They offered to bring dinner to our room, with professionalism. But I did not get to enjoy the food, as we are worried about our friends. The dishes look beautiful though.

I did not realize the Inn is right on a busy road. The noise did not bother me, but I had expected something more secluded and outdoor space to relax. But that is not a negative, just my expectation is different.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 May 2016
Thank you for your review! We invite you back to experience our new bar & lounge featuring herb-infused drinks from our garden, brasserie/bistro fare, over 100 whiskeys and liquors, and local cider and beers on tap!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We had a one night stay, and we dined at the inn to celebrate our wedding night. Upon arriving at the inn, there was no one around to check us in. We had to go to the kitchen to find someone to help us. The host was very kind and accommodating in showing us to the room, once we found him. The food and service at dinner were very good, but we thought it was a bit over-priced compared to similar quality in DC. Also, the inn was aware that we had just gotten married, but we did not feel like we were even seated at one of the nicer tables at the restaurant.

The room of the inn was pretty and nicely appointed, but the heater made loud popping noises throughout the night (we did not use the fireplace). It was so loud that I had to get up in the middle of the night to turn it off, resulting in us waking up a bit chilly. The fabric of the towels was hard, and basic amenities such as bottled water and tissues were missing from the room. Also, the bed sagged quite a bit in the middle. We raised some of the issues at breakfast to the waitress because she was the only one working that morning, but she just took down the information and thanked us. Overall, we thought it was an okay stay, but we were expecting better for the price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
First of all, congratulations on your marriage! Normally the office is staffed until 5pm to check guests in, and after 5pm we direct guests to the Main Inn to be checked in by our Front Staff. I am very sorry that an employee was not easily accessable when you first arrived. We will make sure and address that with our front staff. We do offer 21 tables in our dining room and would hope that all of our seating makes each guest feel "special".
We are concerned with your comment regarding the heating unit. All our units are new Mitsubishi Units that are top of the line and manufactured to be very qiuet. We would never want t guest to feel cold ( or hot) in their room!
I have address your concerns with Housekeeping regarding the amenities in the room not being stocked, and we have come up with a new check list for the staff to make sure this does not happen again.
If you would send us a private message and let us know which room you stayed in, I would like to have the heater seriveed to make sure all is ok with the Unit. We would also like to extend a gift certificate to you to make another reservation and see the positive changes we have made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful evening! The food here is creative, beautiful and absolutely delicious. The service is perfect - attentive and friendly. Extensive wine list. The restaurant is lovely and comfortable.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 May 2016
Thank you for your review! We invite you back to experience our new bar & lounge featuring herb-infused drinks from our garden, brasserie/bistro fare, over 100 whiskeys and liquors, and local cider and beers on tap!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyce
8.8 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
19.1 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast

Property: L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
Address: 13630 Lord Fairfax Highway, Boyce, VA 22620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Boyce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boyce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a romantic Shenandoah bed and breakfast in beautiful White Post, VA. Our bed & breakfast, a Select Registry Property, in Virginia features luxurious rooms and suite with comfy beds, fluffy robes, flat screens and fireplaces. Don't miss out on a once in a lifetime dining experience at one of the best French restaurants in America. Executive Chef Joseph Watters at our Northern Virginia B&B creates culinary works of art utilizing the freshest local ingredients for an unforgettable romantic Virginia getaway. Enjoy too our Second Tier Wine Spectator awarded wine cellar with over 1,000 selections. Utilize our concierge service to tour the local vineyards, arboretums, art galleries and civil war museums in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Provencale Hotel Boyce
l`Auberge Provencale b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing