We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't really want pet owners”
Review of Motel 6 Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Bristol
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't really want pet owners”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were travelling and decided to stop in Bristol to visit family. We had stayed at the hotel once before with our dogs and the experience wasn't a great one but at least we were on the first floor and it was easy to get the dogs in and out. The room and whole hallway smelled like cigarette smoke even though we had asked for non-smoking room. Anyway, I had read that the hotel had been remodeled so I made a reservation. Well, the lady at the front desk was about to give me a 3rd floor room and I asked her if we could get a 1st floor room because we had dogs and would need to let them out. She said I'm sorry but the dog floor is the 3rd floor. I said, you are kidding? She said no and that the new owner decided to do it that way. I couldn't believe it...I walked out to the car and talked to my husband about it and because it was late, we decided to go ahead and stay....bad decision!! We had to go into the front entrance with our dogs and take the elevator to the 3rd floor. I mean come on...if you are going to accept pets and charge a fee for them then I would think that you could make it a little more convenient! This tells me that the new owner would really rather not have pet owners stay at his hotel. And to top things off, the room didn't even have a coffee maker or hair dryer. So, my advice is the find another hotel if you are travelling with your pet/pets.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    66
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
62
39
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ocracoke, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My family and i travel to bristol regularly to visit family and always choose this hotel. The staff is very attentive and helpful. The rooms are clean and roomy. Its centrally located across the street from walmart, restaurants and other shopping. All in all a great little spot to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lakilucid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband is from Bristol Tennessee and we have stayed on the Tenn. side in some horrible hotels. This time a friend told us that everything decent was out on exit 7 VA side(shopping and eateries) so we arrived on 5/8/2014 and seen this one. I was leery at first because it was Motel 6 but after entering the room I was shocked. This motel has been totally renovated and was clean and very quiet. The price was cheap and we stayed 3 nights. The only draw back is that they don't have breakfast but they do have free coffee in the morning but there are so many restaurants around there that you wont mind. When we come down again I'm sure we will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea162700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here one night on my way to TN. The front desk staff couldn't have been nicer! The room was clean and quiet. The bed and pillows were comfortable and I slept great! The location was right off of I81 but far enough that you don't get any of the traffic noise. There are numerous restaurants close by and was able to drive through a nearby Starbucks for my breakfast and morning coffee! Only thing that I would have liked is a hair dryer and ironing board and iron in the room. Overall it was a great stay and plan to stay there again on my way back to TN in May. Can't beat the price for a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here last September and were extremely grateful to be given an upgrade. Our room was very clean and it was convenient for the Festival as the Courtesy Bus stops at the hotel. A big bonus was that several of the musicians were also staying there and we made unexpected contact with some of them who we now hope to see in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluenotebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berryville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at this Motel 6 for many years and have always found it clean, modern and inexpensive. The desk staff has always been friendly and very helpful. It is conveniently located near I81 but is quiet, in a safe area, the parking lot is well lit and there are many restaurant options nearby.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was the one of the cheapest options available to me for a late-February trip, and I was blown away at the value I you get. Clean, simple room - it served its purpose. Only complaint is that the check-in area stinks of old cigarette smoke. Once you get past that, though, you'll be fine. Will definitely stay here again the next time I need to be in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StingerHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 13 in Bristol
417 reviews
4.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Bristol
Econo Lodge Bristol
#7 of 13 in Bristol
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Bristol
149 reviews
7.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bristol

Property: Motel 6 Bristol
Address: 21561 Clear Creek Rd, I-81 Exit #7, Bristol, VA 24202-3547
Region: United States > Virginia > Bristol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Bristol 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Bristol
Bristol Motel Six
Bristol Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing