We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly service but didn't get the rooms requested” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Bristol
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly service but didn't get the rooms requested”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our family of 7 came to Bristol to stay and take a family member to Barter Theater for her birthday. We reserved the rooms about 3 weeks ahead of time and requested 2 adjoining rooms and a third room near the 2 adjoining, and were told it would not be a problem. When we arrived and checked in, it was a problem. They did not have anything available that we asked for. We were given 2 rooms, across the hall from each other, not adjoining and the 3rd room was all the way on the other side of the building, not even close to the other 2 rooms!
On the positive side, the staff was very polite and friendly when they told us they didn't have the rooms we requested. The rooms were clean and spacious. Beds were comfortable. Had a mini fridge in the rooms. Can't remember if there was a microwave or not. No free coffee in lobby...only Starbucks for purchase. Location is just off I-81 so it is convenient. Family members did not want to eat breakfast at the bistro so we went to a nearby restaurant.
I would come back to this hotel, but would check on my reservation several times prior to arriving to make sure they could accommodate our special reservation request.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lslkj1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    159
    45
    15
    7
See reviews for
138
86
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Spent 3 nights while visiting the Bristol/Abingdon area. Great location, right off I-81. The Bistro in the hotel serves breakfast & dinner. We only had breakfast there 1 morning but the bagel was fresh & reasonably priced. No hotel food high prices here. There are many restaurants just a few steps away from the hotel. We were upgraded to a suite which was very spacious & comfortable. Would definitely stay here again if returning to the area.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in odd numbers are on the highway side so if you're a light sleeper either travel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for your review Yvonne B! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had an opportunity to enjoy one of our fresh options from The Bistro menu. If on your next visit you want to try something new, our thick-cut French toast with fresh strawberries and country syrup is wonderful; one of my favorites! I look forward to your next visit and our next opportunity to serve you.

Hospitably,

C. Davis
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

At front desk, only one employee to check guests in and answer phone. Room was spacious and clean, but surprised to find no fridge or microwave in our room. Pool and whirlpool were small but enough to wear out kids after traveling. No coffee station in lobby. Only available for purchase at bar/bistro.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brn1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review Brn1125! I am happy to hear that your found your room to be spacious and clean. On your next visit, if you will inform us of your preference for a room with a refrigerator and microwave at the time of your reservation, we will be happy to note this request and block you for an available room that will meet your needs. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Hospitably,

C. Davis
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I was relocating across the US from CA to VA and made it as far as Bristol, VA on my 2nd to last day. April guided me into the hotel perfectly when I called for directions off the highway. I also took the time to ask her about local restaurants in the area (Italian) and she gave me an excellent run down of the local restaurant scene. I love the fact that the hotel supports a local charity and bought a chocolate bar to support. The Bistro stayed open late and had a pretty good beer and wine selections. I love wine so it's nice to see a Marriott breakout from the regular wine brands you see in most Marriott's. My compliments to the GM or the FB director on the wine selections. Great gym and a wonderful pool....and excellent staff.

Room Tip: Make sure you book early because it seems like it is a hotel that reaches full capacity fast. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acv1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Courtyard Bristol acv1968! I am happy to hear that enjoyed your stay with us and hope that your relocation was an uneventful one. I am excited to share your review with April and the team and look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Hospitably,

C. Davis
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very nice, newer property, trendy lobby, nice decor. Small lobby bar area, nice wine/beer/liquor selections, reasonably priced.
Staff was very helpful and pleasant.
Room was very nice, clean, well furnished.
However, I would recommend that you specifically ask for a room on the front side of the hotel, away from the interstate. I was on the 5th floor, overlooking the interstate and the road noise was tremendous. I was awoken several times during the night as big rig trucks came barreling past.
Other than that, a fine hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side away from the interstate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your review tc4real! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team to be helpful. On your next visit, please remind us of your room preference and we will ensure this is noted on your reservation. We hope to see you again soon.

Hospitably,

C. Davis
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

A friend and myself stayed here on a recent road trip and the hotel is convenient to I-81 and is modern, clean, and comfortable. It's pretty much what you would expect from a Courtyard. The lobby is spacious and the breakfast area was clean and inviting. We were placed in a room facing the freeway, and the only potential issue was that you can hear some of the traffic on I-81 if your room is facing that side of the hotel. Particularly the tractor trailers. If you are sensitive to the noise, I would try and request a room facing away from the freeway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wlfmn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your review wlfmn77! I am happy to hear that you and your friend were comfortable during your stay with us and look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Hospitably,

C. Davis
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Every year we stay at least once and quite often twice because it is our favorite hotel. The location is great and every person working is always so helpful and friendly. We thank you for you professionalism and always making our stays so enjoyable.

Room Tip: no bad rooms. The only advice we would give is join the Marriott Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Courtyard Bristol donna b! We are happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us, as we are always excited to see our return guests. We look forward to seeing you next time!

Hospitably,

C. Davis
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
7.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bristol
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bristol
Hampton Inn Bristol
#2 of 6 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bristol

Property: Courtyard Bristol
Address: 3169 Linden Dr, Bristol, VA 24202-5809
Region: United States > Virginia > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for Bristol, VA hotels, then you'll love our Courtyard Bristol hotel - located in the heart of the "birthplace of country music." Our Bristol, Virginia hotel is just off I-81, near Bristol Motor Speedway and Bristol Dragway - home to several NASCAR and NHRA races. Music buffs will love the Rhythm and Roots Festival, the Crooked Road Music Heritage Trail, The Creeper Trail, and the Birthplace of Country Music Cultural Heritage Center. Our newly renovated lobby features modern decor, complimentary Wi-Fi, and the GoBoard, an interactive touchscreen that allows guests to get information about dining, entertainment, and sightseeing options in the local area. Drop by The Bistro for a healthy breakfast. Relax in our indoor pool, work out in the fitness room, or unwind at our bar. Planning an event? Let us know - our versatile space hosts up to 40. Few Bristol, VA hotels can match our customer service, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bristol Hotel Bristol
Bristol Marriott
Bristol Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing