We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIghly recommend!”
Review of Courtyard Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Bristol
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2006

I'm a native Bristolian so I know the area well. In trying to decide on a hotel, there are only a few in which I would consider staying. I had narrowed it down to two and the deciding factor was the indoor pool. Large, nice movie theater right across the street. Several chain restaurants in walking distance - across the street and next door. Hotel surrounded by small speciality shops (large bookstore, clothing stores, home decor, etc.). However, if you don't like the sound of traffic then this may not be a great location for you. The front side of the hotel faces the interstate and the back faces the theater. We stayed on the backside and only heard parking lot noise once for about 10 minutes. I did hear everytime shut their door though. They are heavy and close very loudly. Hotel staff was very courteous and the rooms felt very private. I've stayed places other where the housekeeping was pushy, even with the sign on the door. We had a room with a king size bed. It also had a loveseat and coffee table. The lobby is very nice and open. There is a restaurant and a bar with TV's and a fireplace. There also is a back corner with a computer. Rooms were very clean and the beds are comfortable. My favorite thing about the hotel is that they do not use standard decorative comforters. They put a lightweight comforter between two sheets and accent the foot of the bed with a decorative piece. It made the room so much more cleaner and comfy knowing there wasn't a stuffy old heavy comforter that everybody had been on. This is a new hotel so the carpet is in excellent condition. Also, the window shades keep the room very dark. The only complaint is they closed the pool for maintenance for a whole day with no notice. The pool was nice and warm but the hot tub was not hot. It was only a few degrees warmer than the pool. It felt like bath water. There is a fitness room. This is where we plan to stay on our next visit. Loved that checkout time wasn't til noon. If they added complimentary breakfast, it would be the perfect choice!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2005

We stayed at the Courtyard Bristol recently and were pleased overall. The design throughout the hotel is sleek and sophisticated. Our room was spotlessly clean and the lighting was especially well-done. The jacuzzi worked well but was on the small side and rather challenging to get in and out of. Interestingly, the jacuzzi is not in the bathroom (which has a shower), but in the corner of the bedroom next to the bed. If you're interested in privacy, you're out of luck. There was no minibar but there was a nifty small coffee pot that made coffee by the cup. Our room was on the interstate side but we had no problem with noise. There was also a heavy and very effective curtain to block out the morning light. When we woke up we were stunned to see that it was bright and sunny outside because the curtain made the room completely dark. Very nice. On the downside, the bathroom amenities were extremely limited. No body lotion, no shower gel, no sewing kit, shoe shine...Only shampoo and soap. This seemed incredible for a room that cost $130 per night. The only seriously down note during our stay was the inexplicably rude desk clerk. We arrived shortly after midnight and found the front doors to the hotel locked. There was no one to be seen in the lobby or at the desk, so we rang the buzzer. No one appeared. We rang again. Finally, a man appeared at the desk and buzzed us in. He did not greet us at all. He stood there waiting for us to speak. Incredible! I finally said our name and that we had a reservation. He said nothing, looked at the screen, then reached out his hand for a credit card. I gave it to him; he still had not spoken a word. Finally, he handed me the key and said, "You're in room ..." That was it. No welcome, no smile, no information about breakfast, facilities, nothing. I've been traveling 35 years and this was the rudest reception I've ever received at a hotel, a real black eye on what was otherwise a nice stay.

5  Thank bosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2004

Brand New, Modern, Zen decor. Best courtyard that I have ever stayed in. Restaurant, bar, lobby with fireplace, pool, jacuzzi and small workout area. Many chain restaurants within walking distance. On note of caution--if you stay on side of interstate it can be a bit noisy from the traffic. Otherwise you can't go wrong!!

2  Thank ResortSpaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ballard, WV
13
Reviewed 1 July 2004

We have stayed at the Courtyard by Mariott on several occasions and not only is it a beautiful hotel it is great place to dine as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stays there and we will definately stay there again.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2004

It's my pleasure to be the first to post a review of this hotel. I spent two nights there ending 25 April 2004 and the hotel is excellent. It's only 9 weeks old, so that certainly helps. Considering Bristol, VA isn't a cosmopolitan area, the hotel was quite stylish, both in the lobby area and the rooms. Great shower, very comfortable bed, excellent lighting! The breakfast buffet is quite sufficient and we even ate dinner there (the hotel is surrounded by restaurants - but all seemed to have constant waits) and the food was above average. The staff is quite friendly and efficient. I can't imagine I'll be back in Bristol again, but if so, I will definately stay at the Courtyard.

5  Thank moodyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Danochile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCourtyard, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Shoji O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Conference Center
7.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bristol
Hampton Inn Bristol
#2 of 6 in Bristol
529 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Bristol
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bristol

Address: 3169 Linden Dr, Bristol, VA 24202-5809
Region: United States > Virginia > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range: £85 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for Bristol, VA hotels, then you'll love our Courtyard Bristol hotel - located in the heart of the "birthplace of country music." Our Bristol, Virginia hotel is just off I-81, near Bristol Motor Speedway and Bristol Dragway - home to several NASCAR and NHRA races. Music buffs will love the Rhythm and Roots Festival, the Crooked Road Music Heritage Trail, The Creeper Trail, and the Birthplace of Country Music Cultural Heritage Center. Our newly renovated lobby features modern decor, complimentary Wi-Fi, and the GoBoard, an interactive touchscreen that allows guests to get information about dining, entertainment, and sightseeing options in the local area. Drop by The Bistro for a healthy breakfast. Relax in our indoor pool, work out in the fitness room, or unwind at our bar. Planning an event? Let us know - our versatile space hosts up to 40. Few Bristol, VA hotels can match our customer service, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bristol Hotel Bristol
Bristol Marriott
Bristol Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing