We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food”
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #8 of 91 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

the food was cold when they brought it to us the biscuits was not fresh and we didn't get any refills we was pushed aside we had a party of 12 and no one had even checked on us for 20 minutes or so

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bkg491962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    32
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good food at a good price”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Cracker Barrel just has good home style cooking and the price is very reasonable. I like the hamburger steak and all the sides were good too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luke711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love Sunday morning at Cracker Barrel!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Our family frequents Cracker Barrel. Both breakfast and lunch have never disappointed us. There is something for everyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KC58SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Restaurant is up on hill over looking the valley. Great gift shop, friendly staff. Clean restrooms, tasty food. Worth the trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ghostwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, VA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Never a Bad Meal Here--Except Eat-In Thanksgiving!!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I live fairly close to this Cracker Barrel. All of the Cracker Barrel restaurants that we have eaten at -- in my case probably a dozen or more in Texas, Tennessee, and Virginia that I can think of offhand, offer amazingly consistent quality. This particular one is no exception. Breakfast here is a dream, real country grits (I like mine with Equal, butter, and cream), homemade hash-brown casserole, crispy bacon or sausage, homemade biscuits and cream gravy. All of the Cracker Barrels I know of are just off of major interstates (in this case I-81, Exit 7; going north toward Abingdon VA, take the Exit 7 offramp, get in the R lane, turn right and get in the middle lane; the Cracker Barrel is on top of the hill overlooking Bristol; going south towards Bristol VA, take Exit 7 offramp, get in the left lane, go under the underpass, take your SECOND right (the first takes you back up on the Interstate) just before Highlands Union Bank) so they get both local and interstate traffic. There are daily specials, and on Friday we like the fish offerings (crunchy fried cod or fried catfish, both are great). There is usually not too long a wait and we have NEVER had a bad meal here. Except on Thanksgiving, when many, many other people decide not to cook like we do. They serve so much food that day that it is kinda slopped on the plate and not seasoned very well. Not bad, just not as good as usual, but the pecan chocolate pie almost makes up for it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giorgio11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing