We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a room for $75...awesome value”
Review of Wattstull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buchanan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wattstull Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Buchanan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a room for $75...awesome value”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was clean and comfortable for the price we paid. We called from the road and just wanted a place to crash. The room was clean, the towels were fine, and the bed was comfortable. Beats staying at one of the chains. Plus a great view and friendly service at the breakfast place at the bottom of the hill.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    39
    14
    1
    5
See reviews for
29
31
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here because it was a halfway point on our vacation. We brought our dogs and the motel allows them for a fee. It had clean sheets and towels. If you want fancy spend more and stay somewhere else. we only stayed 9 hours bit the stay was everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristenandRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Could not ask for a better view! The room was spacious and clean. No bugs, stains, smells or random hairs. The lady who owns the hotel isn't overly pleasant she's just there. I don't know, when I go to mom and pop places I would think the owners would at least make you feel welcome and smile at you but nope, not her.
CONS: No Coffee and the pool was nasty. I stuck my feet in it but that's about it...
PROS: Hotel and gas station within walking distance and we got to keep a towel to clean our bike.
But they place is so pretty I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Station
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

At first we weren't sure if this place was open. After a few minutes, a young guy came running over to open up the locked office. He was very friendly and apologized for the office being locked. The room was stuffy but quickly cooled off with the AC on. The room was large and the king sized bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The room was clean, and for those who complain about the lack of a bathroom fan and what that implies in a humid environment, this building is a 50's vintage. Location is great, the view is gorgeous, they accept dogs if they are well behaved, and I paid less than $100 for the night. Saw kids having fun in the pool. There is a restaurant nearby, but I would head for the Greenwood diner two exits south for a meal. The restaurant's in Buchanan all appear to be closed except for the grill in the drugstore that could have been a setting in Mayberry.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomWhitePelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Let's just say for the money, stay somewhere else. The good things - location, and friendly cleaning staff. The bad things - the unfriendliness of the lady that runs this place. From the reservation process, to check in, to anything else you may have to ask about. Advertised as to having a pool, well that is correct they do have a pool, but you can't swim in it! Apparently a bridge has been out for 10 months and this was the reason that the pool was not ready. Not sure what that has to do with anything but that is what we were told. Pet friendly - yes, but you can't leave your pet unattended in the room. Cleanliness - upon arrival, hedges being trimmed and laying all over the sidewalks and entry ways, rooms old and outdated, outside garbage can (1) ran over all weekend. Ice machine jammed. As previously mentioned no hairdryer, no coffee maker, no vent in bathroom. Some rooms had refrigerator and microwave, some did not. And yes, there are two steps to get up onto the walkway area. All in all the worst experience we have ever had and we travel a lot. I would not recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Streak_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed three days, but honestly wished we had moved on after the first.

The room was clean, but very lacking in modern appointments. No hairdryer, no coffee maker, no vent in the bathroom, etc. The TV was an old 19" tube television with a poor picture. The Wifi was hit or miss, and most of the time didn't connect.

The view of the mountain is decent, but would be much better if the Interstate wasn't right in front of the hotel. My plan was to read a bit while enjoying the view, but the noise from I-81 was just too much.

I will absolutely have to agree with some of the others about the customer service. The lady behind the desk was rude and impolite. She must be the owner because her picture was hanging up on the wall of the lobby, which was a little strange. We got a chuckle out of that, despite her peculiar bad attitude.

Also, we were her in the middle of June, and the pool still wasn't opened yet. Huh?? That was a big disappointment since they advertise having a pool and we were looking forward to it.

Don't get me wrong. It it was $40-$50 per night it would be about right. But $70 for this place? Never again...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandymusicgear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buchanan
8.3 mi away
Natural Bridge Park Historic Hotel
7.9 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
939 reviews
17.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Best Western Lexington Inn
Best Western Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
386 reviews
17.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville
21.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wattstull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wattstull Inn

Property: Wattstull Inn
Address: 130 Arcadia Road, Buchanan, VA 24066
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Buchanan
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Buchanan
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned and Operated Inn offering King,Two Double, Single, and Adjoining Suites. Limited Smoking and Pet friendly Rooms. All rooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen tv's streaming DirecTv, and refrigerators. The Inn also features it's own private pool for guests only as well as Free Coffee in the Office lounge and the Mountain View Restaurant is just below offering dining options as well as other local venues. Coming soon new for 2015 is our Kayak rental and guide service offering multiple options and package rates as well as other added amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wattstull Hotel Buchanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing