We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful View”
Review of Wattstull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buchanan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wattstull Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Buchanan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2010

It is good place to enjoy the wonderful mountain view. You could see how beautiful it is though those pictures. Well, price is not cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sj6148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Wattstull Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2010

wonderful private owned very clean basic rooms, but the view was beautiful. Had one of the king beds and slept like a baby. Owners are very nice and friendly. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Our last day was VERY windy and the wind rushed up the hillside to the motel. Was visited by 3 very well behaved dogs and looked forward to their morning visits.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon45742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

While the facility was okay, the mattress was hard as a rock. The live-in manager/owner was extremely rude and abrupt. She acted as if renting a room to me was a huge burden on her part. I stayed one night, and happily left early the following morning and took my money a little further north to Lexington to the Wyndham. The Wyndham room was only $10.00 more and alot more modern and comfortable. They seemed to appreciate my money as well.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
3  Thank Dan070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

My husband and I were travelling with our small dog. Up on top of a hill, this motel is family owned and has been in the same family for many years. They are very dog friendly. When we arrived the owner's 3 dogs were frolicking on the lawns. Marie, the owner's mother, cleans the rooms, and has her dogs along for company, too.
There is only a bit of highway noise coming from the highway below, but it isn't bad and we slept well. We were initially given room 7 which has no fridge, but we had dog food and medications that require refrigeration. We had a very helpful and amiable host. He said "pet rooms have no fridge" but moved us to room 6 anyway, which has a fridge. The rooms are your basic "two double" room, and quite large. The double beds are actually 1 3/4 size, but we managed by each taking one bed. The only negative is that the bathroom was rather small and old. The owner also very kindly phoned the motel where we had stayed the night before for us because we thought we left something there, and very kindly offered to take a message for us when we went out to dinner. The Mountain View Restaurant on the same property at the bottom of the hill was just fine - I had jumbo shrimp and requested "tender" ( lightly cooked) and they were! My husband had hamburger steak ( a huge piece) which he said was very fine. But the best was the caramel cheescake dessert - unbelievable! We went back for breakfast the next morning, too.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Stayed here one night while driving the Blue Ridge Parkway. Was a convenient stopping point after visiting the Natural Bridge. Clean and fuctional room. Older but well maintained. Restaurant within walking distance with good reasonably priced food.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

A family-operated motel nestled in the western Virginia mountains. Excellent afternoon views of the distant hills from the rocking chairs located outside most rooms. Clean, comfortable, and well maintained. Mountain View Restaurant at the base of the hilltop motel. Convenient access from I-81.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
1  Thank EGNBLUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Great rest after a long drive--- room clean and beds very comfortable--- enjoyed the pool and the fabulous scenery. Checkin was prompt and helpfull. Visit to Buchanan takes you back to the good old days.

would definitely come again!


from Canada

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchjan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buchanan
8.3 mi away
Natural Bridge Historic Hotel & Conference Center
7.9 mi away
Peaks of Otter Lodge
Peaks of Otter Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bedford
978 reviews
17.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
21.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
17.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Troutville
Comfort Inn Troutville
#4 of 5 in Troutville
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wattstull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wattstull Inn

Address: 130 Arcadia Road, Buchanan, VA 24066
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Buchanan
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Buchanan
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned and Operated Inn offering King,Two Double, Single, and Adjoining Suites. Limited Smoking and Pet friendly Rooms. All rooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen tv's streaming DirecTv, and refrigerators. The Inn also features it's own private pool for guests only as well as Free Coffee in the Office lounge and the Mountain View Restaurant is just below offering dining options as well as other local venues. Coming soon new for 2015 is our Kayak rental and guide service offering multiple options and package rates as well as other added amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wattstull Hotel Buchanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing