We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous destination!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Ridge Manor Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Ridge Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Cana B&B and Inns
Jefferson, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous destination!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Darlene and Dave open their beautiful home to lucky travellers to the area. Our visit was a real treat. We stayed in the Isabella room, which offers gorgeous views of the mountains. The room was meticulously clean, the bed extremely comfortable, lots of dresser drawers to make yourself at home, and the bathroom is adorable with lots of really hot water for showers. Breakfasts are delicious! Darlene and Dave treat their guests like adored family. Be aware, this home is extremely dog friendly, with four dogs to greet you! One of the dogs actually lives next door but loves the Julianas so much, he spends all of his waking hours at their place instead of his own! All four are very affectionate, calm and loving, even to our two pups who came with us! The views are beautiful, and it is the perfect place to take a relaxing hike through the trail. The dogs will accompany you to make sure you get back to the house. Darlene and Dave were very helpful in sorting out sights to see and places to eat. We definitely want to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    5
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is definitely it. It was off the beaten path for sure but i found it okay even in the dark. (although i would suggest putting reflector tape on the signs by the road). The house itself was very clean and the dogs are very nice and loved to be petted. The breakfast was great and had a good amount of food and a wide selection of teas available. The house is stocked with dvds and each tv has Dish Network so there's some entertainment. It is set in a beautiful area that has a gorgeous view of the mountains.

My only real complaint would have been our first night where one of the dogs began to bark at one of the neighbors dog. After a while i just had to get up and let him outside but not a huge deal.

Overall, if you are looking for a quiet place just to get away, you could do far worse.

Room Tip: Willow room is at the top of the stairs by itself. Would definitely stay again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrdfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
310 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked this Bed & Breakfast through a Living Social deal. The location was so close to home yet so near the Blue Ridge Parkway. We visit the mountains each fall to enjoy the foliage and was nice to not have to drive as far as we usually do. Enjoyed the pet friendly accommodations since we do enjoy traveling with our fur babies. The hosts were very thorough and showed us about the place, made an enjoyable breakfast and planned maps for our day trips which was much appreciated. The property had great views, an orchard and a pond so enjoyed our walks with our pets.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
499 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

First of all, the home is nice and the rooms were clean. David & Darlene were nice enough, as were all the dogs (3 of them). We enjoyed our weekend there, and in the area. And David & Darlene were quick to give us brochures, directions and things to do. But be aware that the website description of the rooms is a little misleading. None of the 3 rooms has an attached private bathroom. Two of the bedrooms share a very large bathroom, but you have to remember the "lock both door rules" when you use it. One other thing to be aware of. The bed in the Forrest room is a standard double. It was fairly comfortable, but I'm 6'5" so it was a tough couple of nights. Not sure about the beds in the other 2 bedrooms, but you might want to ask.

If you're looking for some seclusion and don't need your own private bath, go for it. With a Living Social or Groupon its a great price, and is close enough to wineries, the Blue Ridge parkway, and Mayberry (Mt Airy, NC) to have an enjoyable trip.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlenejuliana, Owner at Blue Ridge Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our Bed and Breakfast. We appreciate your feedback. We try our best to match customers with the desired bedding, however that is not always possible if the rooms are sold out with the queens. As for bathrooms there are two upstairs, and one at the on the first floor for our guest to use when all the rooms are full. The room that you stayed in is joined with a bathroom in an enclosed hallway entry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

The online Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines Shangri-La as:
1 : a remote beautiful imaginary place where life approaches perfection : utopia
2 : a remote usually idyllic hideaway

The Blue Ridge Manor B&B fits this definition quite well.

Our first morning - we woke up to the sound of mountain country quiet. Birds lightly chirping, a delicious smell in the air of bacon and eggs cooking on the stove. The Blue Ridge Manor B&B was a wonderful 2-day stop on our "2012 Blue Ridge Parkway Fall Foliage Vacation."

The B&B is a very homey and welcoming place to stay; for a one-night stop or a longer visit. The address is in Cana Virginia, and is situated at the top of a mountain overlooking a beautiful valley view right from the front porch.

The greeting committee, made up of pooches Zeus and Athena, greeted us with polite and friendly attention. The weather was cool, albeit drizzly and cloudy the first day of our stay, and as we sat on the front porch looking out over the valley; we were at peace with the world so far away. LOVED IT !!

The B&B owners, Darlene and David were out if town due to a death in the family, but Darlene made very sure that our needs were met and exceeded, thru timely communications via cell phone calls and texting. Their Assistant Innkeeper Debra and her daughter made us so comfortable and welcome, and made us feel right at home like part of her family - WHAT A JOY !!

We took advantage of several local "things to do" our first day and coming back to the B&B that night to relax, was like coming home. We hated to leave after our second night if great sleep, but we WILL BE BACK AGAIN - thank you for a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

My wife and I chose this rural B&B for its convenient location just off the Blue Ridge Parkway on the Virginia/North Carolina border. From the name and the price charged, we expected a little more than the modest family house that it is. That said, our room was spacious and clean and the property is incredibly quiet. Our hosts were accommodating and prepared a substantial breakfast.

One negative of the location is that it is a 20-minute drive from the nearest restaurant that serves alcohol, accessible only along winding roads. We recommend the 13 Bones restaurant in Mount Airy.

Just don't expect a memorable cosseting B&B experience, but there are few other choices in the vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blueridgemanor, Owner at Blue Ridge Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you from AZ. We appreciate your feed back. We pride ourself on offering a quiet, restful place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. And with that said, our secenic mountain hideaway is 12 miles from the nearest city that serves mixed drinks, but we believe that is a small price to pay for something that you won't find in the city...... Solitude,a place where you can escape and relax from that every day grind in the city. In the evening you see fireflies and hear crickets instead of sirens and city lights. If rest and relaxation, is what you are looking for, we are amied to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Darlene was so kind and patient with us even in helping us CANCEL our reservations on our drive down to Mytle Beach last weekend (long story, but made in error with no thanks to Hotels.com). We understand the difficult economic times we are in, so it was clear that they were more concerned about providing customer care versus cash in their pockets. We can't thank you enough for the time spent on the phone as well as your patience. We absolutely look forward to visiting and staying at your B&B very soon!
Evelyn and Chuck
Columbus, Ohio

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cana
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
12.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
4.4 mi away
Country View Inn
Country View Inn
#1 of 2 in Fancy Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
5.8 mi away
Wolf Creek Farm B & B
Wolf Creek Farm B & B
#1 of 1 in Ararat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ridge Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ridge Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Ridge Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 90 McAyers Rd, Cana, VA 24317-4529
Region: United States > Virginia > Cana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Ridge Manor Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the serene Blue Ridge Manor Bed & Breakfast nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. We offer three guest rooms with unique views. Each room is decorated for the discerning traveler, encompassing everything you would want for a comfortable stay and a touch of warm hospitality so you know you are staying somewhere special. Ensconced among the trees, Blue Ridge Manor B&B is the ideal location for your special events. Whether it is a unique wedding location, the site for a memorable family reunion, or the setting for that special anniversary you seek, we invite you to our B&B to make your special day perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Ridge Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing