We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to get away!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Baywood Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2013

we would recomend this to anyone wanting a great place to go and relax. very clean and nice people their cats oscar and luiji helped us not miss our own too much.i loved the driveway it hid the house from the rest of the world so you do feel like you are away from everything for a few days.

Room Tip: get the room facing the water it's great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesk9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stressed and overworked, we found ourselves needing an escape to relax and unwind. The Baywood Inn with its southern charm, and unmistakable view of the Chesapeake bay was just the beginning. After our first night of much needed rest we woke to the aroma of Baywood Inn's jumbo breakfast muffins. Innkeepers Mike and Sharon provided a hearty breakfast to sustain us through a day of sightseeing and beach combing. Our two night stay ended too soon, and we knew our time had come to return back to the real world. The memories of our short term stay in Cape Charles, Virginia at the Baywood Inn created long term memories that will have us returning soon!

Room Tip: Ask for the bayside room that comes with a balcony as well as a bayview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The views of the bay and the private beach are lovely. The Inn has some beautiful artwork and artifacts, and the Innkeeper is knowledgeable and personable. The beds are comfy and the breakfast was amazing. Breakfast was not only delicious (yummy muffins, sausage, awesome scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, juice and coffee), but served with beautiful touches like the fresh fruit served in very Eastern Shore appropriate oyster shell shaped bowls. Two cats give the place a real homey feel, and we were made to feel very much at home by all. The price is right for a relaxing get away.

Room Tip: We had a woods side room and were happy with that since there are plenty of chairs provided to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fleur E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My husband and I were visiting the Eastern Shore for the first time, anxiously arriving early. Our room was ready for us, a comfortable, large room overlooking the bay, what more could you ask for? We had no complaints, enjoyed a pleasant and delicious breakfast ( after convenient coffee outside our room at 7:00 am). Will definitely rebook if we are in the area.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Marsha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Excellent. Very nice rooms and bed extremely comfortable. Great location, right on the water and the view is breathtaking! House is beautiful. Would highly recommend!!! Food was delicious. Owners very personable. View from the bay is gorgeous!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A23232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We and our friends arrived late afternoon to an empty house. The note on the door instructed us to go in and find our names on our rooms, the problem was the door was locked. Feeling very uncomfortable we went around the back to find an open door. We did enter the house and found our rooms. They were adequate. Soon the house filled with children, daughters of the owners and their very small children. The innkeepers were nowhere to be found. We were woken early by the children running up and down the stairs. Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, 2 rashers of bacon, some unripened fruit and a very good muffin. We had to request coffee and then again for a 2nd. cup. The last insult was as we were leaving I used the bathroom in our room to come out to find children boucing on my bed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwestmore72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I'm awake on my Babymoon at 7a. I've been up since 630a due to the noise in the house (yesterday I was up at 730 which wasn't too bad and no, it is not the other guests). I came on a getaway for sleep and relaxation not to deal with the same things I do at home (kids waking me up earlier than I need to be). I mostly write positive reviews so it saddens me to write about my disappointment here. The two main things I was looking forward to during our two night getaway was soaking in a tub relaxing and sleeping in. I got to do neither. The first night I attempted a bath I realized 3 minutes into it that the plug did not work properly and continued to drain even though it was pushed down. I attempted to stop the drainage by putting a wash cloth over the plug but it only helped so much and by that time the water was so low it wasn't enjoyable.
The second night we had let the person who cooked us breakfast know about the drain And I had high hopes that it would work. I put the wash cloth over the drain just in case though. I turned on the water and got in about five minutes later so I could start enjoying the tub in case the water drained again. To my disappointment the water out of the faucet was already cool. I didn't even have time to wash my hair! I quickly soaped up and washed my face in the water before it got any colder. I layed in the water (which was about 4 inches deep) and attempted to relax. It was not happening. I was so cold when I got out I told my husband I was turning off the fan and turning on the heater that looked like a fire. The heating portion of it did not work only the flames did. I got dressed as quickly as I could because I was so cold and hopped in to bed extremely disappointed. Anytime I stay somewhere that the purpose is to relax I make sure there is a tub to soak in because it is my favorite thing to do to relax. I am also 7 months pregnant and just wanted to ease my back pain while in a warm bubble bath.

What was good: the room is great in its Decor and the balcony is awesome. We loved the driveway with its twists and wiggly trees. Having the beach at your finger tips is great and we enjoyed our walk on the beach our first night here. The bed is comfy and the sheets and covers are great! The breakfast was pretty good and the people we met here were very nice. The price is great too compared to some of the other inns in the area.

What was bad: the water heat was awful. They should invest in a larger one or separate one for guests. What's the point of a "jacuzzi size tub" if the water won't stay warm to fill even half of it? The "heater" blower did not work at all. The noise. It was not constant but once I am awakened by loud noises for minutes at a time I can not fall back asleep!

Overall we liked the look and feel of the Baywood and if they fixed these issues it would've been an excellent stay, but I do not think we'd even take the chance of seeing if it got better the next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiteKisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
103 reviews
4.8 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#3 of 7 in Cape Charles
173 reviews
22.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
18.2 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,952 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baywood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baywood Bed and Breakfast

Address: 31400 Latimer Bluff Rd, Cape Charles, VA 23310-1208
Region: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range: £91 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baywood Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baywood is one mile north of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel on the Chesapeake Bay side with three bedrooms all with private baths, full breakfast, and a secluded beach. We face west so are sunsets are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Baywood Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing