We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baywood Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Baywood Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Secluded B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The B&B has a long stretch of beach facing the bay. When the weather cooperates, the sunset should be beautiful - we didn't get a chance to watch a nice sunset though. We stayed in the cheaper room, facing the woods and field. The room is spacious, which has a comfy bed and a couch, as well as a private bathroom. The room is very clean. My only complaint is the lack of lighting in or near the closet. The dining and living rooms downstairs are facing the bay and has a great view. The backyard is large and has a good view of the bay. So it's not a big deal for us to stay in the cheaper room and not having the seaview. There are deers roaming around nearby, so be careful driving in the early evening.

We were greeted by Mike, the friendly owner, who showed us around. Of the 2 nights that we were there, we've only seen him a couple of times. When we left, it was the helper who ran our credit card and said good bye to us. There was a helper cooking breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was fine, not spectacular, consists of eggs (not your choice), sausage/bacon, muffin, a small portion of fruits and orange juice.

Cape Charles is about 15 min north, where most restaurants and shops are located. The closest restaurant (on the highway) is 5-10 min away. The B&B is next to the wildlife refuge area and the visitor centre is 2 min away, where there is some good exhibits and an easy short walk to the marsh. Be careful driving on the highway as we've seen cops catching speeders.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kutepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
75
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moseley
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was our second time at The Baywood B&B. For two nights we had a clean, spacious room overlooking the bay. No TV and no phone, but we enjoyed not having them. A TV is available in a common room downstairs. Breakfast was simple but very good. Mike, an owner, is a great host. Wife and I used their kayaks one beautiful, calm morning. I would for sure recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and take a bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoseleyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

If you're looking for somewhere to stay in the Cape Charles area ........ stay here!! Sharon and Mike are fabulous hosts who make you feel at home as soon as you walk through the door. The B&B is homely and beautifully decorated; the cooked breakfasts each morning were awesome and the private beach at sunset was simply amazing. Great location less than a 10 minute drive from the restaurants and stores of Cape Charles and only a couple of minutes from the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel across to Virginia Beach. All-in-all a 10/10 experience. You won't be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieMOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a VERY short stay at the Baywood on a trip to the Eastern Shore. Our room was very comfortable, clean and the view was spectacular. We were terrible guests and slept through breakfast in order to take full advantage of being on vacation. The owners went out of their way to accommodate special requests for specific flowers and beverages, which was wonderfully appreciated. Would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Be prepared that this is a small bed and breakfast, so privacy is not something that you get a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgifisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Totally relaxing experience. As previously reviewed the Baywood is along a secluded driveway, away from the main road and is therefore wonderfully quiet and relaxing. Views are delightful and the owner Mike was very friendly and made us feel very welcome, as did the cats! Wished we had booked more than one night!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

I read the reviews, but to experience it yourself its just great! The rooms are spacious, and clean. The view was beautiful. The breakfast was wonderful each morning and the coffee was perfect. My husband and I were pleased with the entire experience. Mike is very friendly and I loved the two cats. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashboo714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverly, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Easy to find yet hidden behind a wooded setting though an enclosed twisted driveway, you will find this beautiful and charming B&B. Great care was taken with landscaping and decorating this wonderful home that sets pristinely on a beachfront overlooking the bay. Sharon met us earlier than check in to show us to our room, she was delightful. The entire house, including our room, was very clean, quiet, and smelled fresh with a warm feeling within. Fireplace and TV amenities were available in the downstairs area, but are easy to ignore by the wonderful view of the bay looking out of the large windows. The private beach is a great place to walk and collect seashells while smelling the sea air. Mike was wonderful; he has a remarkable almost intimate knowledge of the surrounding area, and is pretty good at drawing maps too. Needing to wash our motorcycle, Mike was quick to not only offer everything we needed but had it ready for us by the time we cleaned up from a wonderfully delicious breakfast. And yes the Baywood muffins are awesome! We could go on forever about how wonderful our stay was here at Baywood but the gist is that you need to do yourself a favor and book a stay here. If you just want a place to sleep by all means grab a hotel, but if you want to stay at a home with warmth and loads of charm and hospitality, then this is the place for you. Thank you Mike and Sharon for offering us you’re home as if we were family and for the great memories.

Room Tip: Free WiFi, Loved our Woods Room but will book Bay view rooms next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
0.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Cape Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
4.7 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
21.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baywood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baywood Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Baywood Bed and Breakfast
Address: 31400 Latimer Bluff Rd, Cape Charles, VA 23310-1208
Region: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baywood Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baywood is one mile north of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel on the Chesapeake Bay side with three bedrooms all with private baths, full breakfast, and a secluded beach. We face west so are sunsets are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Baywood Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing