We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Baywood Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“AMAZING B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just got back from an overnight trip to The Baywood. It was perfect in every way! Mike greeted us and made us feel very welcome.
What a wonderful, relaxing place to spend our 25th anniversary! We heard nothing but the bay-- no cars, no loud music, no screaming kids. Just seagulls and the waves. Paradise!
We stayed in the Cape Charles room, which in my opinion was the nicest. It has an umbrella table on the balcony.
We took a long walk on the beach and didn't see another person. The property is right next to a wildlife refuge. Loved it!
Breakfast was served promptly at 8:30. We brought a bottle of champagne and had mimosas with ours. The egg casserole was scrumptious, muffins were divine and the fruit salad topped it off nicely. We talked with the other guests for quite a while and have some really good laughs.
If you want to venture out, I would recommend a trip to Onancock, as there isn't much to see in Cape Charles.
We had lunch at Rayfield Pharmacy in Cape Charles. An old fashioned soda fountain and grill with great sandwiches, salads and soups. Dinner at Aqua restaurant is fabulous.
We can't wait to return to the BAYWOOD!!

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get one of the rooms with bay view. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MargaretR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
75
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Altamont, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Staying here was our overnight stop on our way to Raleigh, and what a surprise! The house is beautiful, the view of the bay outstanding, the room large and comfortable, and the breakfast was amazing! What more can I say! It is a gem, on the long road on route 13. The cost was reasonable too. We will stay longer the next time we are in that area!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This exceeded our expectations!! The beach was peaceful, soft sand, nice beach chairs and huge thick towels provided, breakfast was at a reasonable hour and homemade muffins were delicious, freshly cleaned airy scent permeated the room, bed was comfy and sheet were silky soft, owners were interesting and considerate... Wouldn't change a thing :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hidntreshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

My sister and I stayed here for one night in March for her birthday. We stayed in the Cape Charles Room. The room was spacious and clean. The windows and balcony offered a beautiful view of the water. The beach was beautiful and we had the whole thing to ourselves.
The B&B was quiet and the owners were nice and made you feel at home instantly. My sister and I really liked the breakfast. We had fruit salad, sausage, an egg casserole which tasted wonderful (I typically do not like these, but this was great), and a muffin (the muffin was really good also, appreciated that it was not overly sweet!). We will be going back, just a nice homey place on a beautiful and peaceful strip of beach.

Room Tip: The beach view rooms have wonderful balconies! If you need more than one bed, the Cape Charles and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night over the weekend. We found the grounds even more beautiful than pictured, the service excellent and the rooms clean. Unless you want to be in Cape Charles, I actually found this location ideal, located conveniently near to the Eastern Shore National Wildlife Area and Kiptopeke State Park and with a private beach access.

We rented kayaks with Southeast Expeditions, located directly across from the refugee (about 1 mile from B&B) for a high-tide 2hr kayak. My only comment, as I understand with a lot of B&Bs in the area, is the presence of cats and dogs. Not everyone is an animal lover and some of us are highly allergic to cats. The cats and dogs were not allowed near the rooms and the hardwood floors downstairs certainly helped. It's still something that probably should have been posted on their website, maybe I missed it. Anyway, thanks so much for a great weekend, we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EcoAgTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The B&B has a long stretch of beach facing the bay. When the weather cooperates, the sunset should be beautiful - we didn't get a chance to watch a nice sunset though. We stayed in the cheaper room, facing the woods and field. The room is spacious, which has a comfy bed and a couch, as well as a private bathroom. The room is very clean. My only complaint is the lack of lighting in or near the closet. The dining and living rooms downstairs are facing the bay and has a great view. The backyard is large and has a good view of the bay. So it's not a big deal for us to stay in the cheaper room and not having the seaview. There are deers roaming around nearby, so be careful driving in the early evening.

We were greeted by Mike, the friendly owner, who showed us around. Of the 2 nights that we were there, we've only seen him a couple of times. When we left, it was the helper who ran our credit card and said good bye to us. There was a helper cooking breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was fine, not spectacular, consists of eggs (not your choice), sausage/bacon, muffin, a small portion of fruits and orange juice.

Cape Charles is about 15 min north, where most restaurants and shops are located. The closest restaurant (on the highway) is 5-10 min away. The B&B is next to the wildlife refuge area and the visitor centre is 2 min away, where there is some good exhibits and an easy short walk to the marsh. Be careful driving on the highway as we've seen cops catching speeders.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kutepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moseley
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was our second time at The Baywood B&B. For two nights we had a clean, spacious room overlooking the bay. No TV and no phone, but we enjoyed not having them. A TV is available in a common room downstairs. Breakfast was simple but very good. Mike, an owner, is a great host. Wife and I used their kayaks one beautiful, calm morning. I would for sure recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and take a bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoseleyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
0.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Cape Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
4.8 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
20.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
18.2 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
22.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baywood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baywood Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Baywood Bed and Breakfast
Address: 31400 Latimer Bluff Rd, Cape Charles, VA 23310-1208
Region: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baywood Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baywood is one mile north of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel on the Chesapeake Bay side with three bedrooms all with private baths, full breakfast, and a secluded beach. We face west so are sunsets are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Baywood Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing