We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene location with easy access to Virginia Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Baywood Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serene location with easy access to Virginia Beach”
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed here a couple nights during our honeymoon. We were greated when we arrived just in time for a gorgeous sunset over the water. We were upgraded to a Bay View room with a patio instead of the woods view room which was a pleasant surprise. The 2 dozen white roses in our room made us feel extra special during our stay. Food was nice the atmosphere was serene. We traveled over the 17 mile bridge to Virginia Beach during the day to spend time on the beach and do some activities offered there. If you want a unique experience this is the place, but if you are looking for convenient food choices in the late evening you won't find them around this side of the bridge too easily.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
79
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Charles, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2010

We were so happy with every aspect of this B&B. Not only were the rooms lovely and oh-so clean, the beds comfy, and the breakfast yummy, we felt supremely cared for by our hosts. The morning coffee service on the second floor was a great start to a busy day. Every aspect of this B&B has been carefully thought through and is generously offered.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindybing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bend, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

What a view! What a gorgeous B&B in a new home, and right on Chesapeake Bay! I'm almost afraid to let everyone on TA know about this terrific place, because they might get too popular and raise their prices!

The guest rooms are huge with bathtub and separate shower ensuite, and look out on the Bay. Our room had french doors that opened onto a balcony facing west so it received the afternoon sun. The guest rooms are on the 2nd floor. There are no TVs in the rooms but guests are welcome to use the family room downstairs, and there is wireless internet throughout.

The B&B is owned by a very friendly professional family. Their prices are very reasonable. Our host served a big hot breakfast while classical music played quietly in the background. They are dog and cat friendly, and he even said a guest was coming with a bird! The two resident cats, Mash and Oscar, entertained us by running, playing, and rolling around with each other all over the family room.

The B&B was a little hard to find, but we used out GPS which brought us quite close to their long drive from the access road. Once in our room we did not hear any highway noise, just the birds singing and the sound of the waves.

The only downside is that due to the high ceilings there were a lot of stairs to climb to get to the guest rooms upstairs. My husband tried to be quiet as he took our little dog out before bed and again before breakfast, going down the long wooden staircase. But we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2010

My wife and I enjoyed a great couple of days at the Baywood Bed and Breakfast and we couldn't have been more happy with our stay. We still talk about the experience and look forward to making it back down the road! It was exactly what we were needing after a couple of days spent in Gettysburg, Pa and Rehoboth Beach - relaxed, isolated, peaceful - We felt at home from the time we arrived! The room was very comfortable. Our hosts gave us space but we're also very friendly and willing to share their lives with us. The highlight of the stay was kicking back on the porch looking out at the chespeake sunset and sharing a couple bottles of wine, getting to know the other couple who were enjoying their stay as well...golfers from Charlottesville with great stories!

When I'm at work in the dead of an Illinois winter the Baywood has a place on my list of places I would rather be!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2009

My boyfriend and I decided to take a little get away late in the summer and searched high and low for a place that was both within our price range and suitable accommodations. We had no idea that we could find such a beautiful place at such a fair price. We arrived at sunset and, as we had been told by our hostess prior to our arrival, it was one of the most beautiful we had ever seen. From the moment we stepped foot into The Baywood, we felt welcomed. The house was wonderfully maintained, clean, beautiful, and inviting. Our room was more than amply spacious as were the downstairs areas, yard, and our rather large private bathroom. We stayed in the Cape Charles room and adored having a balcony to drink our morning coffee on. Our hostess was very helpful in finding us (poor college kids =P) inexpensive yet highly enjoyable things to do and places to eat and providing us with some of the tastiest homemade breakfasts either of us have had in a long while. We enjoyed ourselves so very much that we thoroughly intend to return next year and are discussing the possibility of renting the location for our possible wedding.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rain0rshine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The bed and breakfast is beautiful and peaceful. Sharon and Mike are very friendly and make you feel at home. The place is set back in the woods and right on the bay. When the sun is setting you could not ask for a better view. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beary08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Mid-April 2009, I came to Cape Charles with a photographers group and stayed at The Baywood. I had the Cape Charles room! The room was large, clean, and well-appointed with a sitting area, a very large private bath, and a balcony overlooking the Chesapeake Bay. The backyard leads down to a private beach on the bay. We got up every morning way before sunrise and there were muffins and coffee waiting for us. The family is very warm and welcoming and I felt like I was at home. Need I say more? Yes; The Baywood is a special place owned and managed by a special family. See you again in October!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniLew_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
4.8 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#3 of 7 in Cape Charles
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
81 reviews
20.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
8.8 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 9 in Cape Charles
273 reviews
8.7 mi away
Fig Street Inn
Fig Street Inn
#3 of 9 in Cape Charles
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baywood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baywood Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Baywood Bed and Breakfast
Address: 31400 Latimer Bluff Rd, Cape Charles, VA 23310-1208
Region: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baywood Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baywood is one mile north of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel on the Chesapeake Bay side with three bedrooms all with private baths, full breakfast, and a secluded beach. We face west so are sunsets are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Baywood Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing