We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Multiplier Effect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fig Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fig Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Multiplier Effect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

A one night stay at the FSI provides the relaxation and stress-relief levels of a much longer stay elsewhere. After our second visit in a year, I can attest that the optimal balance of hospitality and privacy isn't a one-time-thing. Gracious hosts, warm surroundings, incredibly comfortable beds and an amazing breakfast all at a reasonable price = great value. We'll definitely return and will encourage friends to make the trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Since this was your second visit at our inn, we really appreciate you sharing your thoughts about a stay with us. Thank you for choosing us again - that says it all right there. We hope to see you again for your next oyster roast event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
165
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I took my girlfriend to spend a night in Cape Charles for our anniversary. I picked the Fig Street Inn based on reviews and it did not disappoint. This was our first stay in a B&B and we had a great time. Check-in/check-out was easy and Donna made us feel at home. The breakfast in the morning was great too! I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

It was so wonderful staying there. Greg and Donna were great! Very hospitable! We stayed in the room downstairs off the kitchen (which I totally recommend if you have never stayed in a B&B before) and it was so quiet we never new we were in someone's home with two small children! Private entrance of our own, on suite luxury bath with jetted tub and the most comfortable bed I personally have ever slept in...we are considering buying for our own! Food was great and cooked to order(which I am NOT easy to please)! Overall, we loved it and my husband HATES B&B's normally. We plan to come back in the Spring when the weather is nicer just to stay there! :) Julie & V from Yorktown, VA

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the room we did, it is worth a little more with the private entrance and on suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Just got a call today from someone you recommended our inn to - that means so much! We know your husband had concerns about staying at a "b&b", and we are firmly committed to not being a stereotypical bed and breakfast. We are all about creating a modern, personal experience for our guests. Glad both of you enjoyed your visit and we could show you our version of a b&b.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stopped at the visitors center after crossing the bay bridge tunnel, and they knew the owners of the Fig Street Inn. We went into SE Expeditions in Cape Charles to finalize our kayaking winery trip. They knew the owners of FSI. The owners were primary planners of the local arts festival. Great inn! (Note: they have a cat if you have allergies). We stayed in the suite! Fantastic bed and a bathroom that I wanted to pack up and take home. Good restaurant recommendations as well, even which to hit on which nights and the best times for quick service. The breakfasts were good but not up to gourmet standards. You will be very, very happy with a stay at the Fig Street Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ima_Real_Person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at Fig Street as part of a last shot getaway before our second child arrives. We had never been to Cape Charles, and we knew we were going during the off season - and that was by design. We needed some quiet before life wasn't quiet again for awhile. Of all the B&B's we have stayed at, we found the owners to be the most down to earth and personable we've met. They clearly want their guests to enjoy their time. They also pick up on small details, such as lint rollers and Tide pens in the bathroom - they have done their homework as to what unexpected and uncommon needs may arise during a stay. The town was as quaint as you can get, where literally everyone seemed to know everyone. We stuck out as visitors, but were welcomed by all the merchants and locals we encountered. If you're looking for stuffy and fancy, this isn't the place for you. If you're looking for warm, friendly and to be taken care of well, put this one on your list.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obxwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Your review makes us smile! Everything you said is how we see ourselves, our inn and our town, so we are pleased that comes across. We have fun doing what we do and love that our inn becomes part of momentous occasions like babymoons. We hope all has gone well with baby's arrival and congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We spent just one night for a wedding, and wished we could have stayed longer !! Our bedroom was fabulous and the amenities were above and beyond ! Love the nice touch such as the Tide stain stick, thick robes and towels. The sheets were oh so dreamy!! Modern yet hints to tradition !! Not boring or stuffy....
We enjoyed the innkeepers telling us the history of the inn, what they have done so far with the renovations (-amazing at that - before & after pics omg) and what they intend to do in the future,
Cook to order breakfast and to die for muffins !! Everything was perfect!! We can't wait to return to our new "little get away" place on he shore.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank veritas0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Your getaway is here and we hope you will come back to see some of those projects we talked about. We are starting some of them this week (literally), and we are like kids in a candy store, filled with so much anticipation and excitement. Can't wait to share them out. We'll have those dreamy sheets and a few more surprises waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Fig Street Inn offered wonderful accommodations and gracious, friendly hosts. The house is charming with clean, well-appointed rooms and well-stocked baths. The breakfasts were delicious! We highly recommend the Fig Street Inn and plan to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us. We're glad you had such a positive experience at our inn. We do hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
4.4 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Cape Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
20.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
24.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fig Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Street Inn

Property: Fig Street Inn
Address: 711 Tazewell Avenue, Cape Charles, VA 23310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fig Street Inn is a boutique−style inn located on Virginia’s Eastern Shore in the historic town of Cape Charles. Enjoy elegant and gracious accommodations with a mix of antique furnishings, contemporary design and modern amenities. All rooms include a private, ensuite, tiled bath, flat screen satellite TV with Bluray, WiFi, MP3, and central air/heat. Jetted tubs or gas fireplace available in select rooms. Full homemade breakfast included. Fig Street Inn is located within walking distance to town shops, restaurants, spa, and galleries and 1/2 mile to the Chesapeake Bay and sandy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fig Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing