We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not fun anymore-felt harassed!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Charles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cherrystone Family Camping Resort
Piscataway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not fun anymore-felt harassed!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have been going 4 yrs now and our friends 8 years now. We are a group of 21 people and our last visit felt like we are being watched and reprimanded all the time. Staff visited us multiple times to ask why there is an extra tent on our site and eventually they understood that it is for the kids to hang out separate from the adults . This has never been an issue in the previous years so why now? They also reprimanded us for bringing a portable sink when our site has a water hookup. No staff questioned us for rinsing our cups on site in the previous years so why now ? Each time we go to the piers to catch crabs, fellow guests threatens to report us for keeping female crabs that are bigger than 4inches when the legit min size is 3.5. And go keeping sponge crabs when staff told us ok to keep those one guest even questioned why we want to kill crabs. When I asked if they eat crabs the daughter said yes but only if they come from the store-what hypocrites! Yet they are catching crabs and even playing with the crabs that we caught. I know that staff is not at fault but our fellow guests have made remarks as to what we should not be doing -why can't they mind their own business? On our last day we managed to pack all equipment before 11am but had to hang at the site to finish taking group pictures staff arrived at 12pm threatening to charge us half day if we do not leave immediately. In the past years we did the same thing even staying until 2pm with packed cars waiting for the kids to finish that last paddle boat or general store visit- never a problem before but why now? It was a very disappointing camping trip every step you are looking behind if the camping staff is watching your evry love. .Another group of friends reports similar unfriendly guests questioning why they are .fishing/crabbing to keep/eat the catch? Again, mind your own business!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sadcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    43
    20
    13
    19
See reviews for
101
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I am just returning from a 3 night camping trip at Cherrystone with my family. We camped over the fourth of July weekend and it was very crowded, but every camper we encountered was wonderful so we didn't mind the crowd (they actually made the trip better!!). Upon check in we found out that the golf carts that we reserved were in fact not available. Actually they initially tried to tell me that I hadn't reserved at all. I was not thrilled about not having a golf cart but the kids were excited and we had just traveled six hours for this trip, we were going to move on and do things differently for our next trip. Our first night the weather was a nightmare (obviously no fault of Cherrystone) and most of our equipment was destroyed. We replaced our tent at a local Wal-Mart and tried to make the best of it. My husband stopped in to registration several times asking for a golf cart. He was told by a few staff members that one was going to become available on Saturday but that we could not pay in advance or reserve the cart and their policy was that they couldn't give it to anyone until after 12:00 that day. My husband went up early (about 11:30) and stood there so that he would be first in line at 12 when they were ready to rent it out. He stood there and watched the manager offer the golf cart to a new camper.....at 11:30 before it was even available. The manager then proceeded to have a series of excuses and said that it was "first come, first served" except in this case it was not and the manager made ZERO apologies for it. I went up to complain and over heard this same manager lying to another camper about the golf cart situation (he was telling her that the cart had never become available and the original renter decided to extend the rental period), apparently they had been telling her to come up on Saturday after 12 to get a cart as well. I confronted the manager in front of the other guest and she wasn't thrilled with him either. On top of the golf cart issue the kiddie pool was hazy and filled with debris, several stalls in the women's bathroom were disgusting and clogged the entire time we were there, handicap shower in men's room was not working and the food in the café was not good at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jodie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Charles hotels

Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My goodness, where do I start? Place needs better leadership. I've been going to this place for 30 years now. It is the worse it has ever been. The cafe needs new leadership. The waitresses were very sweet to us but the food was really crappy. My son and I were disappointed by several dishes but the one that stands out the most was the breakfast hot cakes. How do you mess up hot cakes? The were slightly undercooked and tasteless no matter how much butter and syrup you put on them. We both took about 3 bites and trashed it The cook has got to go, or be re-trained. Get John Taffer in there to fix things. Go back to their old soft ice cream recipe. That is one thing that made me really dig cherrystone for was taste of their soft serve ice cream. They need more entertainment gaming machines, a lot of open wall space should have games in front of them. Fix the damn mens bathroom door, it doesn't shut and you know it. Fire the guy who is in charged of fixing it. Tell the manger that it is ok that people just visit the cafe while they are washing their clothes, and to not make them feel as though they need to order something in order to sit there, especially when there is only 4 people in the cafe at 900 am. The cafe should be treated as a courtesy to patrons rather than an independent business. Additionally, on the topic of wild animals, if there are Raccoons raiding coolers at night (I eye witnessed this) and one of your patrons (me) complains, and the office says they will take care of it, take care of it! After having my trash scattered for 4 nights in a row, 3 packs of bologna stolen, 2 packs of cheese stolen, 2 lbs of thick cut bacon stolen, and knowing the raccoon was rummaging through my cooler, i decided to find out where the so called "RANGERS" were with the progress of relocating the rodent. That is when I was told the Rangers cannot trap the Raccoon so therefore they could not do anything about it. Because of the raccoon, my food basically ruined, and with the cafe not being a viable option, me and my son decided we'd rather be at home rather than stay at Cherrystone for another day, so we left 2 days early. Oh and another thing, I'm 52 and my son is 14. We decided to star gaze by laying down, after dark when nobody was playing there, in the middle of the basketball court to hopefully avoid mosquitos. The "RANGER" (Don) became alarmed and thought it necessary to shine a halogen spot light from his golf cart at us and order us off the court. He said we weren't allowed on the court after dark, although there is no sign posted at the court supporting this, or anything I signed anywhere supporting that this was a legitimate rule. When I told him my boy and I were star gazing, he told me we couldn't do it there and we should do it in our camp site. I told him the obvious, "We can't see the stars past the trees". He said you need to get off the court. I think the title of “RANGER” has had a bad effect on Don. At that moment, I felt as though I was staying at a compound of some sort and lost the feel of being on vacation. Afterwards, I went to the “Ranger” station to talk with Don’s supervisor, I was told his name was HOP and he wasn’t there. The guy said it was Hop’s rule and that if my son and I wanted to star gaze we could go lay in the grass with the mosquitos. That is just a load of bull crap. So why would I even want to come to Cherrystone when I get hassled for doing the simplest pleasures a person should have the ability and the right to do while on vacation? The answer is, I wouldn’t, I am probably done with Cherrystone.

Room Tip: ask for a place with no raccoons
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutherland, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Reserved online for camping on Thursday and Friday . Later I get a call from the campground telling me I have to stay Saturday to or my reservation is no good . I let them know I already had reservations somewhere else for Saturday but they did NOT care , Was just told it is their policy , I asked why was able to book it online and received NO good reason other then it is a third party site . Good Luck

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank 568xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our stay was for a week with another family and had an amazing time. We stayed in a cabin that was very clean and surprisingly had comfortable mattresses. My girls ages 6 and 9 can't wait to go back. There are plenty of activities for all to enjoy. Everything was clean and well maintained including the fishing piers, pools and bath houses. The clam hatchery was an added bonus that you shouldn't miss if you like shellfish. Unlike other campgrounds, they don't nickel and dime you with extra fees for mini golf and paddle boats. I can't say enough about their staff. Everybody was so friendly and accommodative. One of the girls in our group accidently split her lip open on a slide and a staff member came to our cabin to check on her. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

after going on a camping trip with friends here last year, i promised myself i will surely go back in this beautiful paradise. i went with my mom(t'was her first time camping), i wasn't sure if she would like to stay on a tent, or if she would stay longer, so i rented a cabin for two nights only. she enjoyed every minute of her stay, and begged me if we can still go back, so after two weeks, we came back again, in a cabin, and brought my husband for the first time.... we, three enjoyed our stay, the place is very clean, the cabins, the bathrooms, the piers, the stores, etc. everything is nice!
We will be back again this fall season, and invite some more relatives! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kuletgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have been camping here twice a year for years with LARGE groups - NEVER AGAIN!

Our stay was from Thursday - Sunday with 5 other familes, site reservation and golf cart. After looking a the the bill - I noticed we were scheduled to leave on Monday not Sunday. Bottom line, I should have looked closer but after calling and asking for credit on the site reservation only, not the golf cart. I was told no because it was classified as a early dismissal.

Low point of our 3 day Fathers Day vacation - the $94.00 they kept for the fourth night must be worth more to them than an opportunity to keep a loyal advocate.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Ernie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
10.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#7 of 7 in Cape Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
5.4 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
20.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 9 in Cape Charles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherrystone Family Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrystone Family Camping Resort

Property: Cherrystone Family Camping Resort
Address: 1511 Townfield Dr, Cape Charles, VA
Region: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 300 acres of natural waterfront on the Chesapeake Bay with 700 campsites and we have cabins, campers and cottages for rent as well. Memorial to Labor Day weekend we have: 5 pools, splash pad, beach entry pool, funcycles, bicycles, pedal boats, planned activities, arts and crafts, themed weekends, fishing piers, boat ramp, charter boat, arcade, coin laundry, cafe, general store, bait and tackle, beautiful sunsets year round, great wildlife picture opportunities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing