We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss - Perfect for Boaters”
Review of King's Creek Inn - CLOSED

King's Creek Inn
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't Miss - Perfect for Boaters”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I regularly sail to Cape Charles for the weekend and came across King's Creek Inn from reviews online. We called one afternoon when we arrived in town, and Jim picked us up downtown by the harbor. The house and grounds are beautiful. Since that first visit, we developed a habit of always watching the sunset with a glass of wine from the pier. Eating here is like visiting good friends who have a beautiful house, delicious food, and a great wine cellar. The salad is excellent, Dawn's lamb is to die for, and there's always seafood available. The restaurant is in the basement, a cozy brick room with a fireplace and lots of nooks and crannies. As a sailor, I appreciate that Jim and Dawn have the transportation to the marinas figured out. This is a place I look forward to going back to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank GinnieMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Just plain beautiful.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The grounds at the inn are breathtaking. Particularly at sunset. Open to the public Fri, Sat and Sun. for dinner it's a great place to treat yourself before the long ride home. We met some of the nicest people in Cape Charles. I've said this in all the reveiws of the area but it amazed me. Everywhere we went the people were wonderful. This place was certaintly no exception. we sat in a beautiful quiet table in the wine cellar. We were served an absolutely delicious by a young lady that was helpful , very pleasant and did everything she could to make our dining experience memorable. You should definitely make this a stop on a visit to Cape Charles. You won't regret it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“recommended”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We had dinner in the pub while staying at the Inn. The food was very good and reasonably priced. I had the crab cakes, and they were excellent, very meaty. The salad greens were very crisp and fresh.

If you are staying at Kings Creek Inn, wander down the stairs for dinner!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank oetbyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The salad and crab cakes were excellent. The wine selection was very good and reasonably priced. The owners made us feel at home.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sallie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Lived up to the billing as #1 in Cape Charles, although I wasn't crazy about dining in the basement”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Great food, well prepared, we especially recommend the crab cake and the little neck clams. We also had the special with crab and sole, but although well prepared, paled next to the crab cake and the red velvet cake is to die for--a must splurge! The dining area is cozy by the fireplace, but it was claustrophobic to me...there were large, beautiful rooms upstairs with great views, but for some reason, guests get stuck in the basement. Still, we enjoyed it and probably would return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ltw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King's Creek Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing