We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh”
Review of The Shanty

The Shanty
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Cape Charles
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Shanty is the Eastern Shores premier destination for waterfront dining. Offering the freshest local seafood and produce on a daily basis, Spring, Summer and Fall. Take in a beautiful sunset over the Chesapeake Bay while enjoying delicious homemade crab cakes, Caribbean style tacos, or the daily fresh catch special with an ice cold draft. Full bar, live entertainment, harbor front outdoor seating, available dock space and creative daily specials made for and by people who are truly passionate about food and excellent service!
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner the other night and had a great experience. Anna, our server, was so bubbly and her timing was perfect for every aspect of the meal. The food was fresh and simple. You could tell a lot of care is put into this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank e_young1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    200
    64
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wrightwood, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We were in a large group and arrived early on a Sunday evening. There was virtually no wait time and our waitress was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hokiecoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bar for small crowds”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Shanty is an attractive location in the lovely town of Cape Charles. The decor is updated and attractive although the structure makes it very noisy. I have to echo other reviewers with their inability to manage large crowds such as peak service times. I was part of a party of 4 and we had to wait 40 minutes (we were told 30) for a table despite open tables on the deck as well as inside. To be fair this was at noon on a Saturday on a holiday weekend. When we finally got seated the waitress was helpful and attentive and the food came out pretty quickly - so I didn't have problems with service like some of the other reviewers. The food itself was good - I had the carribian (sp) style tacos and they were tasty, although the guacamole left something to be desired (salt? lime?) the other members of my party enjoyed their dishes as well. Good option but be mindful of wait times!

Helpful?
Thank WhineandMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A Little More Sophisticated than a Red Shack”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Don't let the red shack appearance fool you when drive up. You will be surprised when you walk in to find the tables, chairs, and bar decorated in a fitting and very neat corrugated tin and wood design. And the design is not the only surprise - the food is good. Fish and chips that uses flounder not cod, ceviche, Old Bay on their French fries, and many other treats. The food was fresh and tasty. The service was friendly and the price in keeping with market. I'll be back. And, by the way, I failed to mention the view of the bay and the boats.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACW2243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A nice deck for drinks, appetizers and watching the boats!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stopped in for a late afternoon drink on the deck. What a lovely spot to watch the boats in the marina! The wait staff was attentive, the appetizers delicious, and it turned out to be our favorite restaurant in town. Went back later that night for the best ice cream sundae ever-- a salted caramel variety made locally!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonO503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shanty also viewed

 

Been to The Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing