We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Opulent and Inviting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Charles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

What a magnificent establishment, which is a credit to the owners Bruce and Carol. Everything speaks of the history of this place which is nigh on 100 years old. The rooms are brilliant, the breakfasts substantial and the decor absolutely echoing the style of living of yesteryear. Carol and Bruce are so accommodating, so friendly and a mine of information to help the traveller. As we are on a driving holiday from Australia, nothing was too much trouble and I am so pleased to have picked this wonderful B and B as a rest stop. Simply brilliant!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capecharleshousebb, Owner at Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

It was so lovely to welcome you...................we loved sharing Australian stories and hearing that your "entree" is not the same as our entree! We wish you both many, many years of happiness and safe travels. Keep the travelogue updated! It is great to hear where your wonderlust takes you! Wishing you the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband surprised my with a weekend get-away, and what a pleasant surprise it was!!! The hospilality of Carol and Bruce, was over the top. Their home is beautiful, my favorite room was the room we stayed in, The Thomas Dixon room. The breakfast was out of this world and so were all the meals that we had out and about the town. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: My favorite room was the Thomas Dixon. Very comfortable bed and had a nice jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My husband and I were attending a wedding nearby and stayed at Cape Charles House with our 8 year old son. The owners Carol and Bruce were friendly and welcoming and our room was clean and pleasant. We had to leave early Sunday morning and were very happy when Carol offered (and we accepted!) to send us off with breakfast to go! She packed each of us an english muffin with bacon, egg & cheese, homemade muffins, apples and coffee. We were impressed that she would offer to do this! The breakfast on Saturday was outstanding... fresh fruit, breakfast quesadillas, sausage and fresh juice. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Cape Charles House during a family getaway to the Eastern Shore. If you were to imagine the perfect host/hostess for a B&B, Bruce and Carol would come to mind. From the first time we walked through the door, they were professional, accomodating, hospitable and entertaining. My wife mentioned that she wanted to get up early one day to look for sea glass. Carol made sure that coffee was waiting for her at 6 in the morning - that is hospitality! So if you are staying in Cape Charles, you have to stay at the Cape Charles House and say "hi" to Mr. KItty.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

It's a beautiful home...well cared for and appointed for the enjoyment and comfort of guests...and from the moment you arrive, Carol and Bruce let you know that you are welcome to make it your home away from home. A lovely touch is the 'happy hour' that begins at 5 p.m., but is available to guests through the evening. Along a counter in the kitchen is a silver tray...one for each guest/couple with two wine glasses and cheese and crackers. The wine is on the counter...you pour. You are welcome to enjoy this in your room, in the sitting room with other guests, on wicker chairs on the porch or while you play cards at the table in the living room. It was such a fun event to look forward to at the end of a day on the beach, or bike riding. We planned to stay two nights, but were having such a great time, we decided to stay a third night...the room we were in was booked, but they graciously accommodated us in another room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallymcwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed for a few nights in July on vacation. The house was lovely, the room was large and clean. (the only constructive criticism I would have is that without a headboard, more attention should be paid to the wall behind the bed for cleanliness) breakfasts were spectacular and some great conversation was had.
For the person who thought the muffins were store bought...seriously? If you were up early enough you got to see the muffins being freshly baked. As for an early breakfast, we knew we wanted to be out early on our departure day so we let Bruce know and there were fresh muffins, fruit and coffee to go right on time. As mentioned in the reply to the previous review, Internet is available (look at the information in the room or ask...not that hard to figure out) and if you can't go a night without tv well...
We loved it and if we ever find ourselves back there will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NBgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We traveled to Virginia's Eastern Shore for an anniversary celebration and had the great fortune to stay at the Cape Charles House. This B&B occupies a beautiful and comfortable 100 year old Victorian mansion with a sweeping front porch. The innkeepers, Carol and Bruce, warmly greeted upon arrival us as though we were old friends. After showing us into our room (the Dixon Room -- very pleasant!), they offered us wine and cheese on the porch, which we enjoyed while chatting with some other guests. We admired Bruce's magnificent gardens, complete with fig and pomegranate trees, and enjoyed hearing his tales about taming the yard and turning the house into an inn. Carol's breakfasts were delicious, beautifully presented and served on fine antique china. We really enjoyed the freshly prepared walnut and blueberry muffins, and the local in-season peaches and blackberries that preceded the main breakfast courses. Carol and Bruce also offered many great suggestions for places to visit, restaurants to try, and things to do in the town and surrounding area. Both nights we were there, we walked to the restaurants where we were dining, so everything is close by. We also checked out the beautiful white sand beach that is maintained by the town of Cape Charles.

If you are looking to be charmed by a cozy B&B, with gracious and friendly hosts, in a gem of a small town on the water, then this is an inn you must try. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank easytraveler1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Charles hotels
4.4 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#4 of 7 in Cape Charles
176 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#3 of 7 in Cape Charles
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 9 in Cape Charles
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fig Street Inn
Fig Street Inn
#3 of 9 in Cape Charles
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alyssa House Bed and Breakfast
Alyssa House Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 9 in Cape Charles
19 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Baywood Bed and Breakfast
The Baywood Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 9 in Cape Charles
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 645 Tazewell Ave, Cape Charles, VA 23310-3313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range: £101 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recepients of the Governor's Award and as seen on HGTV. Escape to romance and comfortable elegance in a small Victorian town on the Chesapeake Bay where you can enjoy beach fun by day and stunning sunsets in the evening.Guest rooms with sitting areas, individual climate control, private bathrooms, some with Jacuzzi. Afternoon wine-down with handcrafted Boursin cheese, sumptious gourmet breakfasts. Rent a golf cart to discover quaint shops, town harbor, galleries and restaurants. Visit near-by boutique wineries and taste their award winning wines. For the more adventurous, consider a wine tour by kayak. Discover the tucked away gardens of Eyre Hall, beleived to be the oldest coutinuously maintained garden in Virginia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing