We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Mother-Daughter weekend getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Charles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My daughter and her husband have visited The Cape Charles House in the past, and just raved about the hospitality, the food, the accommodations, the town, and the entire experience! I was so excited when she told me that a visit with her to this special place would be my birthday gift this fall. We arrived on Friday evening, to be greeted by Carol with a warm hug in the foyer before leading us to our lovely room. After dropping our bags, we met Carol in the kitchen to pick up our "welcome tray" of wine and homemade herb cheese with crackers, which we casually enjoyed in the living room before heading out for dinner at a local pub. After a fitful night's sleep, we made our way downstairs around 8:00 for a cup of fabulous coffee and the aroma of Carol's gourmet breakfast preparations, with divine dishes featuring ingredients fresh from their own garden. The meal did not disappoint - in fact, it was the highlight of the visit! Right up there with the exceptionally warm and comfortable atmosphere and relaxing spirit that Carol and Bruce offer so genuinely - and the totally enjoyable conversation we had with our fellow houseguests. I can't wait to return to Cape Charles - and, especially, to The Cape Charles House!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capecharleshousebb, Owner at Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

It truly was our pleasure to welcome your return, but the highlight was to share Cape Charles House with your delightful Mum (who looks like she could be your twin). Wishing you a lovely holiday and do hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here on Thursday Oct. 11th 2012 with my sister and her husband. Our hosts, Carol and Bruce are very nice people. They made us feel very welcome and treated us like royalty! Needless to say, we were all very impressed with this B&B and all the delights presented to us by this very gracious couple. We not only learned about the house's history, but were given a gourmet breakfast and wine and cheese the night before. The rooms were all lovely and quite spacious with ensuites that had a large jacuzzi tub! We come down to Virginia once a year, so hopefully, we will be able to repeat this venture in 2013!

Room Tip: All the rooms were delightful. It's a quiet town, so sleeping was not a problem. The entire B&am...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed at wonderful, welcoming Cape Charles House in November of 2011, so this review is long overdue. In Bruce and Carol you get not just graciousness and hospitality, but a wealth of knowledge about the area and stupifyingly fantasticness (is that a word?) at making their B&B everything that a B&B should B! From the moment of our arrival, we genuinely felt welcomed and that feeling never stopped - imagine being completely catered to without being intruded upon, staying in your good friends' totally cool home in a charming vintage beach town, visiting with them in the kitchen while they prepare you a gourmet meal and then running off by yourselves without helping clean up - that's what it felt like!
We're actually writing this review now because we just checked out the Cape Charles House website because we wanted to see Bruce and Carol!
We had a wonderful time and met so many warm and friendly people we can't believe we were only in Cape Charles for two nights. Cape Charles Coffee Company was terrific and Adria at Aqua had us convulsed with laughter.

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming; we stayed in the Thomas Dixon room which was spacious and had a jacuzzi...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris and Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We recently paid our first visit to Cape Charles House staying in the B. F. Kellogg room which is quite spacious with windows looking out in three directions. Unlike many other places we have stayed there was ample lighting at night, including a nightlight in the bathroom. Although breakfast is normally served at nine we were cheerfully (and abundantly!) served at eight. Our warm and friendly hosts, Carol and Bruce, served wine and cheese in the evening, made a dinner reservation for us and recommended other things to do and see in Cape Charles.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Just returned from a long weekend on the Eastern Shore of Virginia. We stayed at the Cape Charles House Bed & Breakfast on Tazwell Avenue. What a beautiful house! Rooms were large (stayed in the William Scott Room), each having its own private bath. Breakfast was fantastic and unique each morning. The Innsitter for the weekend was Susan Marr who was a beautiful person with tons of personality. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again!

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet and spacious. However, we would probably try a different room next time just...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Cape Charles House is the perfect place to get away from it all. Bruce and Carol are consummate hosts. They'll ply you with wine and cheese at 5 pm, the best breakfast you'll ever enjoy at an inn (trust us: we've stayed at many!), and beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for your day in the sun at Cape Charles' picturesque beach. We had a chance to view all of the rooms as we were the last of our wave of guests to leave: all are thoughtfully appointed and unique. Our room (Julia Wilkins) was incredibly spacious and had a private balcony.

Cape Charles, the town, appears to be up and coming, with a couple of new (and good) restaurants since we visited a couple of years ago (The Shanty and Kelly's Gingernut Pub -- both with live music). (An aside: the Southern Living I brought to the beach featured CC as one of the South's most charming beach towns!)

Do stop in at the local wine and gourmet foods shop, owned by Honey and John. They offer free tastings on the weekend. They've got great noses for wine, cheeses, chocolate and other necessities for the perfect getaway. We didn't walk away empty handed!

In short, if you're looking for rest and relaxation in a town with wonderful Victorian architecture, friendly folks who make you feel like locals and an overall great vibe, head to Cape Charles and the Cape Charles House. You won't want to leave!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank soonerfaninva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Cape Charles House and loved every minute. The attention to detail, lovely accommodations and fabulous food was surpassed only by Carol and Bruce's gracious pampering. A glass of wine on the porch, muffins ready to go for a very early departure, and a never-ending stream of friendliness. This is a wonderful choice for relaxation and the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaandKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
4.4 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#3 of 7 in Cape Charles
169 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
99 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
156 reviews
20.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
24.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 645 Tazewell Ave, Cape Charles, VA 23310-3313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range: £104 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recepients of the Governor's Award and as seen on HGTV. Escape to romance and comfortable elegance in a small Victorian town on the Chesapeake Bay where you can enjoy beach fun by day and stunning sunsets in the evening.Guest rooms with sitting areas, individual climate control, private bathrooms, some with Jacuzzi. Afternoon wine-down with handcrafted Boursin cheese, sumptious gourmet breakfasts. Rent a golf cart to discover quaint shops, town harbor, galleries and restaurants. Visit near-by boutique wineries and taste their award winning wines. For the more adventurous, consider a wine tour by kayak. Discover the tucked away gardens of Eyre Hall, beleived to be the oldest coutinuously maintained garden in Virginia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing