We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Charles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was our first experience at a B&B and it was an excellent experience! The hosts were a wealth of information and so friendly. The breakfast was delicious and the complementary wine and cheese every night was great. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

We spent 4 nights at Cape Charles House and enjoyed EVERY minute! The atmosphere is calm, quiet and nurturing. Carol and Bruce are gracious and accommodating and full of fun and uplifting stories about the town, their family and their B & B experiences OR you cannot talk at all and just come and go as you please.

I have a significant allergy to cow's milk products and Carol still produced tasty, elegant and amazing breakfasts each morning without any cow milk products! That was a treat. She also provided a goat cheese alternative to the wine and cheese offering each evening.

The bed was really comfortable. The bathroom elegant and clean. Our room had its own A/C and a ceiling fan so the temperature was always fine.

In addition (for us cat lovers), "Mr. Kitty" the real proprietor of Cape Charles House was willing to interact if one wanted, but also very discreet and unassuming for those people (like my husband) who do not like cats.

The town of Cape Charles is a gem - nice beach, cute shops, nice restaurant choices and LOTS of friendly people.
We hope to return again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. The small room at the front of the house is nice, but a little cramped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We chose to vacation in Cape Charles, VA only because friends were going to be down there. I am so glad we found Cape Charles house B&B. Apart from the fact that Carol & Bruce were absolutley charming and so genuinly nice & friendly, the service, cleanliness and location was great. Carol & Bruce did all they could to make our stay comfortable & pleasant with the wine & cheese at 5 and also their informal concierge service. Carol's breakfasts were delicious and so artistic too. We met some very nice folks who were staying there as well. Loved the location as it was just a 10-15 walk down to the beach. Love the warm waters and will definitley be visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosh70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Everything about Cape Charles House was top-notch. Bruce & Carol were excellent, welcoming hosts. Our room was comfortable and cozy and the whole house was beautiful.

We came in on my brother's boat, tied up at the nearby Bay Creek Marina, and rented a golf cart at the marina which we used to shuttle to & from the B&B while my brother stayed in the boat. I'd recommend this to other travellers arriving by boat. Cape Charles House would be about 15 walking, but just a couple of minutes on the cart.

The first thing we found at the House was the wine & cheese, which we enjoyed while we unpacked. Bruce & Carol were full of suggestions about what to do & where to go in St Charles (their dinner recommendation was excellent). Breakfast was superb. When we left we wished we had more time to spend in Cape Charles, so when we return, we'll be sure to stay at the House.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

From first contact to departure Carol & Bruce make you feel like part of the family. The B&B is well appointed with large rooms that are spacious and comfortable. They are the go to on where to go and when to go there for Cape Charles. My partner and I (yep we're gay) had a great time and look forward to staying there again in the future. I would recommend this place for any occasion ~ Great food, Great service, a must stay if you are headed that way.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room ... large, nice private bath with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travlinterry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

From the moment we walked into the cape charles house to the second we left our expierence was perfect! From the wonderful room, to the delightful host and hostess, outstanding breakfast and of course the wine and cheese!! It was without a doubt a great place to get away. I have already made the famous "bruce muffins" and they are a huge hit!! If you are looking for a weekend away the cape charles house will surpass your expecations!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at the Cape Charles Inn over the fourth of July and couldn't have choosen a more perfect place for respite. Everything (everything) was so relaxing about our stay...from the room w/private bath, gourmet breakfast each morning, wine and cheese every evening to all of the spot-on recommendations for Cape Charles on up the shore. Carol and Bruce are the most accommodating hosts I've ever experienced in all of my B&B stays.

Room Tip: each room has a bath as well as its own ac/heat unit...rooms on the front and east get a lot of morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
9.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
103 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#3 of 7 in Cape Charles
173 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
158 reviews
24.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
0.3 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 9 in Cape Charles
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 645 Tazewell Ave, Cape Charles, VA 23310-3313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range: £106 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recepients of the Governor's Award and as seen on HGTV. Escape to romance and comfortable elegance in a small Victorian town on the Chesapeake Bay where you can enjoy beach fun by day and stunning sunsets in the evening.Guest rooms with sitting areas, individual climate control, private bathrooms, some with Jacuzzi. Afternoon wine-down with handcrafted Boursin cheese, sumptious gourmet breakfasts. Rent a golf cart to discover quaint shops, town harbor, galleries and restaurants. Visit near-by boutique wineries and taste their award winning wines. For the more adventurous, consider a wine tour by kayak. Discover the tucked away gardens of Eyre Hall, beleived to be the oldest coutinuously maintained garden in Virginia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing